Jefferson Public Radio http://ijpr.org en Telltale Rainbow Sheens Show Thousands Of Spills Across The Gulf http://ijpr.org/post/telltale-rainbow-sheens-show-thousands-spills-across-gulf Jonathan Henderson of New Orleans-based Gulf Restoration Network is flying Louisiana's coast looking for oil. As usual, he's found some.<p>"I just noticed something out of the corner of my eye that looks like a sheen that had some form to it," he says. "We're going to go take a closer look and see if there's a rainbow sheen."<p>It's a target-rich environment for Henderson, because more than 54,000 wells were planted in and off this coast — part of the 300,000 wells in the state. They're connected by thousands of miles of pipelines, all vulnerable to leaks.<p>And leak they do. Sat, 19 Apr 2014 15:07:00 +0000 Bob Marshall 11027 at http://ijpr.org Telltale Rainbow Sheens Show Thousands Of Spills Across The Gulf So This Is How They Do It! Zebras Getting Stripes http://ijpr.org/post/so-how-they-do-it-zebras-getting-stripes How did it happen? How'd the zebra get its stripes?<p>In <a href="http://www.boop.org/jan/justso/leopard.htm" target="_blank">Rudyard </a><a href="http://www.boop.org/jan/justso/leopard.htm" target="_blank">Kipling's version</a>, a gray, horsey-looking beast went into "a great forest 'sclusively full of trees and bushes and stripy, speckly, patchy-batchy shadows," stayed there awhile, and after a "long time"... got stripy.<p>OK. Not bad.<p>Here's another notion, this one from <a href="http://www.ricardosolisart.com/">Ricardo Solis</a>, an artist working in Guadalajara, Mexico. Sat, 19 Apr 2014 15:03:00 +0000 Robert Krulwich 11028 at http://ijpr.org So This Is How They Do It! Zebras Getting Stripes Top Teams Sitting Out Of NBA Playoffs http://ijpr.org/post/top-teams-sitting-out-nba-playoffs Some of the NBA's hottest teams missed the cut for this year's playoffs. And to what lengths will Cuban athletes go for a chance to play in the MLB? ESPN.com's Howard Bryant tells NPR's Wade Goodwyn. Sat, 19 Apr 2014 14:09:00 +0000 editor 11026 at http://ijpr.org Ukraine Calls An Easter Truce In Clash With Militants http://ijpr.org/post/ukraine-calls-easter-truce-clash-militants Citing progress in diplomacy and this weekend's Easter holiday, Ukrainian officials say they've suspended an "anti-terrorist operation" that is aimed at pro-Russian forces who have occupied government buildings in eastern Ukraine.<p>The move comes after an international group including Ukrainian officials, Secretary of State John Kerry and Russia's top diplomat Sergei Lavrov reached an agreement late this week in Geneva that would compel the separatists to disarm and abandon the buildings they've taken in parts Donetsk and other cities with large Russian-speaking populations in eastern Ukraine Sat, 19 Apr 2014 13:41:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 11025 at http://ijpr.org Ukraine Calls An Easter Truce In Clash With Militants Captain Apologizes As Death Toll Rises In S. Korea Ferry Accident http://ijpr.org/post/captain-apologizes-death-toll-rises-s-korea-ferry-accident Divers searching a sunken South Korean ferry have found three more bodies, bringing the number of victims to 32. Sat, 19 Apr 2014 12:57:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 11024 at http://ijpr.org Captain Apologizes As Death Toll Rises In S. Korea Ferry Accident 'Say Anything,' Still Full Of Guileless Affection http://ijpr.org/post/say-anything-still-full-guileless-affection Monday marks the 25th anniversary of Cameron Crowe's Say Anything. A look back at the seminal teen flick reveals a surprisingly deep and romantic story. Sat, 19 Apr 2014 12:12:00 +0000 Linda Holmes 11023 at http://ijpr.org NCAA Beats 'Strategic Retreat' On Food Rules For Student Athletes http://ijpr.org/post/ncaa-beats-strategic-retreat-food-rules-student-athletes The NCAA is facing scrutiny for how it treats student athletes. NPR's Wade Goodwyn talks to New York Times columnist Joe Nocera about changes the organization made this week. Sat, 19 Apr 2014 12:12:00 +0000 editor 11022 at http://ijpr.org Bringing Poetry And High Culture To Sao Paulo's Periphery http://ijpr.org/post/bringing-poetry-and-high-culture-sao-paulos-periphery Poetry in an unlikely place: In a grim urban shanty town in the middle of Sao Paulo, budding poets from the poorest sections of Brazilian society get together weekly to compose and recite poetry. Sat, 19 Apr 2014 12:12:00 +0000 editor 11021 at http://ijpr.org In Silicon Valley, Immigrants Toast Their Way To The Top http://ijpr.org/post/silicon-valley-immigrants-toast-their-way-top Immigrant workers in the Silicon Valley attend Toastmasters meetings to improve their public speaking. Organizers say those skills often lead to increased confidence at work and even job promotions. Sat, 19 Apr 2014 12:12:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 11020 at http://ijpr.org Captain, 2 Crew Members Arrested In S. Korea Ferry Sinking http://ijpr.org/post/captain-2-crew-members-arrested-s-korea-ferry-sinking The search continues for hundreds of people, mostly students, who were on board a South Korean ferry when it sank this week. Correspondent Anthony Kuhn shares the latest with NPR's Wade Goodwyn. Sat, 19 Apr 2014 12:12:00 +0000 editor 11019 at http://ijpr.org