VENTSday http://ijpr.org en VENTSday: Sick/Maternity Leave + Highway Funding http://ijpr.org/post/ventsday-sickmaternity-leave-highway-funding <p></p><p>Some of us may be afraid to take days off from work when we're sick, because we have no paid sick leave.&nbsp;</p><p>And the roads on the way to work may be poth0le-strewn, because of deficiencies in highway funding.&nbsp; These are the topics of this week's VENTSday segment.</p><p></p><p>We do not schedule guests for Wednesday at 8:30, because that's the time for VENTSday, your chance to vent (politely, please) on a pair of topics in the news.&nbsp;</p><p>We bring the topics, you bring the opinions.&nbsp; Wed, 25 Jun 2014 17:10:20 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 14627 at http://ijpr.org VENTSday: Sick/Maternity Leave + Highway Funding VENTSday: Local Pot Regulations + Russia/Ukraine http://ijpr.org/post/ventsday-local-pot-regulations-russiaukraine <p></p><p>Let's hear your thoughts on whether Oregon communities should be allowed to block marijuana dispensaries.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>Or maybe you'd prefer to weigh in on how the United States and its allies can defuse the Ukraine/Russia situation.&nbsp; Those are this week's VENTSday topics... Wed, 05 Mar 2014 18:10:20 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 8593 at http://ijpr.org VENTSday: Local Pot Regulations + Russia/Ukraine VENTSday: Internet Voting + Timing Campaign Contributions http://ijpr.org/post/ventsday-internet-voting-timing-campaign-contributions <p></p><p>Should making it easy to vote include voting via the Internet?&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>And while we're on the subject of voting, should there be new limits on WHEN political figures can take donations?&nbsp; Those are this week's VENTSday topics. Wed, 26 Feb 2014 18:10:20 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 8254 at http://ijpr.org VENTSday: Internet Voting + Timing Campaign Contributions VENTSday: Affordable College + E-Cigarettes http://ijpr.org/post/ventsday-affordable-college-e-cigarettes <p>What will it take to make college more affordable in our country?</p><p></p><p></p><p>And those nifty electronic or "E-cigarettes": should we regulate those like the old-fashioned cigarettes?&nbsp;</p><p>Those are the key questions in our weekly VENTSday segment. Wed, 12 Feb 2014 12:15:31 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 7559 at http://ijpr.org VENTSday: Affordable College + E-Cigarettes VENTSday: Punishment vs Rehab + Boosting The Graduation Rate http://ijpr.org/post/ventsday-punishment-vs-rehab-boosting-graduation-rate <p></p><p>We continue to debate whether people behind bars are there to be punished or to be given a chance to improve their lives.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>And we continue to struggle with getting our children to graduate from high school on time.&nbsp; These will be the topics of this week's VENTSday segment. Wed, 05 Feb 2014 18:10:20 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 7233 at http://ijpr.org VENTSday: Punishment vs Rehab + Boosting The Graduation Rate VENTSday: Plastic Bag Bans + Anti-Smoking Campaigns http://ijpr.org/post/ventsday-plastic-bag-bans-anti-smoking-campaigns <p></p><p>California considers a statewide ban on plastic grocery bags, and Oregon gets a lousy grade for its anti-smoking efforts.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>Those news items provide the basis for this week's VENTSday segment.&nbsp; Wed, 29 Jan 2014 18:51:00 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 6858 at http://ijpr.org VENTSday: Plastic Bag Bans + Anti-Smoking Campaigns VENTSday: Pit Bull Bans + Fossil Fuel Divestment http://ijpr.org/post/ventsday-pit-bull-bans-fossil-fuel-divestment <p></p><p>Do you think your city (or county or state) should ban pit bulls or any other breed of dog?</p><p></p><p>Would you like your city (etc.) to drop any investments in fossil fuel companies?<br />Let's hear what you think... Wed, 15 Jan 2014 18:34:00 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 6179 at http://ijpr.org VENTSday: Pit Bull Bans + Fossil Fuel Divestment VENTSday: Evolution Politics + Cutting Up California http://ijpr.org/post/ventsday-evolution-politics-cutting-california <p></p><p>If you believe in evolution, does that make you a Democrat?&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>That IS the general trend in America, and one of the topics in this week's VENTSday segment, the other being a new plan for dividing California. Wed, 08 Jan 2014 18:33:00 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 5828 at http://ijpr.org VENTSday: Evolution Politics + Cutting Up California VENTSday: Snow Stories + Cell Phones On Planes http://ijpr.org/post/ventsday-snow-stories-cell-phones-planes <p></p><p>How was your week in the snow and how do you feel about cell phone use on planes?</p><p></p><p>Our weekly ritual is renewed, as we throw a pair of topics on the table--in theory, unrelated--and open up the phone lines and the email box to gather your take on either or both of the issues.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 11 Dec 2013 19:00:00 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 4455 at http://ijpr.org VENTSday: Snow Stories + Cell Phones On Planes VENTSday: O & C Timber Bill + Phones On Planes http://ijpr.org/post/ventsday-o-c-timber-bill-phones-planes <p></p><p>There's already a wealth of opinion being offered on Oregon Sen. Ron Wyden's timber bill, and you can add to it on this week's VENTSday segment on The Exchange.</p><p></p><p>Every Wednesday at 8:30, we throw a pair of topics on the table--in theory, unrelated--and open up the phone lines and the email box to gather your take on either or both of the issues.&nbsp; It's VENTSday on The Jefferson Exchange, and you participate by calling 1-800-838-3760 or 541-552-6782 or emailing JX@jeffnet.org. Wed, 04 Dec 2013 18:41:00 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 4074 at http://ijpr.org VENTSday: O & C Timber Bill + Phones On Planes