Teacher strike http://ijpr.org en Back In Class: Medford Teachers Return From Strike http://ijpr.org/post/back-class-medford-teachers-return-strike <p>Striking Medford school teachers returned to their classrooms on Monday, the first day back after a two-week strike.</p><p>The teachers' union and the district reached a tentative contract agreement Friday night.&nbsp; Teachers struck on February 6th over a variety of issues involving pay, benefits, and working conditions. Tue, 25 Feb 2014 00:26:49 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 8203 at http://ijpr.org Back In Class: Medford Teachers Return From Strike VENTSday (on Thursday): Teacher Strikes + Universal Pre-K http://ijpr.org/post/ventsday-thursday-teacher-strikes-universal-pre-k <p></p><p>Teachers are on strike in Medford, but should they be allowed to strike, anywhere?&nbsp; And does universal pre-kindergarten confer all the benefits promised?&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>Those are this week's VENTSday topics. Thu, 20 Feb 2014 18:10:20 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 7892 at http://ijpr.org VENTSday (on Thursday): Teacher Strikes + Universal Pre-K Teacher Strike Talks Scheduled http://ijpr.org/post/teacher-strike-talks-scheduled <p>An unexpected bargaining session took place Tuesday between the Medford School District and its teachers' union. The talks ended with both sides reporting positive movement toward a solution.</p><p></p><p>Superintendent Phil Long reported progress, but neither side would elaborate on how far they have budged in terms of compensation, working conditions, or early retirement. Wed, 19 Feb 2014 14:28:21 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 7936 at http://ijpr.org Teacher Strike Talks Scheduled Attendance Drops In Medford Schools http://ijpr.org/post/attendance-drops-medford-schools <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Attendance in schools across the Medford School District dropped for the fourth consecutive day Friday. Some parents chose to keep children at home while some North Medford High School students joined the picket lines with their teachers on Thursday.</span></p><p>48 percent of the district's more than 12,000 students went to school Thursday, according to district reports. &nbsp;That number fell to 44 percent on Friday.</p> Sat, 15 Feb 2014 16:31:27 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 7712 at http://ijpr.org Attendance Drops In Medford Schools Strike Talks Break Down http://ijpr.org/post/strike-talks-break-down <p>Talks have broken down between striking Medford teachers and the district.</p><p></p><p>The Mail Tribune reports the talks started off well, but ended with no contract agreement and no scheduled time for new negotiations.</p><p> Fri, 14 Feb 2014 14:23:26 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 7711 at http://ijpr.org Strike Talks Break Down Substitute Teachers Cross The Lines http://ijpr.org/post/substitute-teachers-cross-lines <p>The strike continues in the Medford school district.</p><p>Tuesday students were met by substitute teachers who crossed picket lines to get to classrooms. District officials report about 68 percent of students showed up.&nbsp; According to the Medford Mail Tribune, one North Medford High School student reported class sizes of as many as 60 students. The large size prompted a walkout by the seniors.</p> Wed, 12 Feb 2014 14:27:18 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 7606 at http://ijpr.org Medford Schools To Re-open Without Striking Teachers http://ijpr.org/post/medford-schools-re-open-without-striking-teachers <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Medford public schools are re-opening this morning. But most of the district’s teachers will be out on the sidewalks picketing rather than in the classrooms.</span></p><p> Tue, 11 Feb 2014 02:52:09 +0000 Liam Moriarty 7531 at http://ijpr.org Medford Schools To Re-open Without Striking Teachers Inside The Medford Teacher Strike http://ijpr.org/post/inside-medford-teacher-strike <p></p><p>Long faces, tired eyes, and picket signs marked the start of the Medford teacher strike on Thursday (February 6th).</p><p></p><p>Teachers hit the picket lines after nearly 10 months of negotiating with the <a href="http://www.medford.k12.or.us/" target="_blank"><strong>Medford district</strong></a> failed to produce a teacher contract.&nbsp; Mon, 10 Feb 2014 18:10:30 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 7419 at http://ijpr.org Inside The Medford Teacher Strike Medford School Talks Set For Weekend http://ijpr.org/post/medford-school-talks-set-weekend <p>Teachers continue to walk picket lines in the Medford school district, as the first teacher strike in the district's history continues.</p><p></p><p>The district plans for schools to reopen on Tuesday with replacements, while both sides planned to meet with a state mediator over the weekend.</p><p> Sat, 08 Feb 2014 01:48:59 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 7420 at http://ijpr.org Medford School Talks Set For Weekend Strike ON: Medford Teachers Walk http://ijpr.org/post/strike-medford-teachers-walk <p>Medford teachers walked off the job today (Thursday, February 6), after a deadline for reaching a deal on a new teacher contract passed.</p><p></p><p>The teachers' union and Medford School District reps met for hours yesterday and overnight without agreeing on contract terms. Thu, 06 Feb 2014 15:52:28 +0000 Geoffrey Riley 7323 at http://ijpr.org Strike ON: Medford Teachers Walk