environment http://ijpr.org en Ashland Bans The Bags: Single-Use Bags On Way Out http://ijpr.org/post/ashland-bans-bags-single-use-bags-way-out <p>In the absence of state regulations, many cities around the country are banning plastic single-use bags from store checkout counters.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>The <a href="http://www.ashland.or.us/sectionindex.asp?sectionid=7" target="_blank"><strong>City of Ashland</strong></a> just followed suit, though the ban will not take effect for six months.&nbsp; Fri, 18 Apr 2014 21:29:14 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 10998 at http://ijpr.org Ashland Bans The Bags: Single-Use Bags On Way Out Environmental Films On The Big(ger) Screen: Siskiyou Film Fest http://ijpr.org/post/environmental-films-bigger-screen-siskiyou-film-fest <p></p><p>Our region is home to a vigorous environmental movement.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>It is also home to a large number of film buffs.&nbsp; Both crowds will gather for the 2014 edition of the <a href="http://siskiyoufilmfest.org/" target="_blank"><strong>Siskiyou Filmfest</strong></a> in Grants Pass next weekend.&nbsp; Tue, 18 Mar 2014 17:10:10 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 9234 at http://ijpr.org Environmental Films On The Big(ger) Screen: Siskiyou Film Fest Driest California Year On Record Imminent http://ijpr.org/post/driest-california-year-record-imminent <p>December has been one of the driest months ever recorded in California, which is spurring some cities and counties in the Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta region to issue water conservation orders earlier than usual.</p><p>The Sacramento Bee reports that the city of Folsom has already imposed a mandatory 20-percent water conservation order, while Sacramento County has asked residents in unincorporated areas to reduce water use by 20 percent.</p> Mon, 30 Dec 2013 14:44:16 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 5428 at http://ijpr.org Oregon Timber Bill To Be Introduced http://ijpr.org/post/oregon-timber-bill-be-introduced <p>Oregon Senator Ron Wyden is introducing his long-awaited bill to promote logging on national forests in Eastern Oregon</p><p></p><p>The Oregon Democrat's Senate Natural Resources Committee is to take up the bill today. Thu, 19 Dec 2013 14:40:39 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 4969 at http://ijpr.org Oregon Timber Bill To Be Introduced Megaloads Protested Throughout Journey http://ijpr.org/post/megaloads-protested-throughout-journey <p>More than a dozen megaload protesters are in Oregon's Grant County jail. A woman who works at the jail says the people were arrested overnight for disorderly conduct.</p><p></p><p>The group Rising Tide says 16 people were arrested for blocking the huge shipment of oil refinery equipment on Highway 26 outside John Day. Tue, 17 Dec 2013 15:26:30 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 4813 at http://ijpr.org Megaloads Protested Throughout Journey Mosquito Talks Begin On The Oregon Coast http://ijpr.org/post/mosquito-talks-begin-oregon-coast <p>Most of the buzzing has stopped now, but talks have begun for next year's mosquito season along the Southern Oregon coast.</p><p></p><p>U. S. Fish and Wildlife Service officials have asked for a budget by December 12th to cover mosquito monitoring and abatement next year at the Bandon Marsh National Wildlife Refuge. Thu, 05 Dec 2013 14:57:00 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 4192 at http://ijpr.org Mosquito Talks Begin On The Oregon Coast Conservationists Want To Protect Crater Lake http://ijpr.org/post/conservationists-want-protect-crater-lake <p>Conservation groups are challenging U. S. Forest Service plans to log and thin outside Crater Lake National Park in an area that the groups want to see protected as wilderness.</p><p></p><p>The lawsuit was filed Tuesday in U. S. District Court in Eugene by the groups Cascadia Wild and Oregon Wild. Wed, 04 Dec 2013 14:32:15 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 4124 at http://ijpr.org Conservationists Want To Protect Crater Lake Fracking Moratorium Requested http://ijpr.org/post/fracking-moratorium-requested <p>California U.S. Representative Lois Capps has asked for a moratorium on offshore fracking until there's more study. In a letter to the Interior Department and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency this week, Capps says she wants the federal government to conduct a study of fracking's impacts to the marine environment.</p><p>A recent report by the Associated Press documented at least a dozen instances of hydraulic fracturing in the Santa Barbara Channel, site of a disastrous 1969 oil platform blowout that spurred the modern environmental movement.</p> Fri, 22 Nov 2013 14:35:24 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 3553 at http://ijpr.org Toxic Liquids Create Threat For Humboldt Bay http://ijpr.org/post/toxic-liquids-create-threat-humboldt-bay <p>An emergency effort has begun to remove millions of gallons of toxic liquids from an abandoned pulp mill that poses a pollution threat to Humboldt Bay.</p><p></p><p>The Eureka Times-Standard reports that the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency plans to remove more than 4 million gallons of pulping liquors from the old mill site. Mon, 11 Nov 2013 15:30:13 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 2870 at http://ijpr.org Toxic Liquids Create Threat For Humboldt Bay Inspecting Marijuana Grows For Environmental Compliance http://ijpr.org/post/inspecting-marijuana-grows-environmental-compliance <p>Marijuana is illegal under federal law, but allowed for medicinal use under California and Oregon state law.&nbsp;</p><p>In California, marijuana (legal and illegal) amounts to the state's biggest cash crop. Mon, 21 Oct 2013 17:34:00 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 1553 at http://ijpr.org Inspecting Marijuana Grows For Environmental Compliance