oregon http://ijpr.org en Jackson County Considers Dispensary Ban http://ijpr.org/post/jackson-county-considers-dispensary-ban <p>Jackson County Commissioners are considering joining the anti-pot party, banning medical marijuana dispensaries in areas under county jurisdiction.</p><p>Commissioners will consider a temporary moratorium on the dispensaries at their Wednesday morning (3/19) meeting.</p><p>Under new Oregon law, the moratorium would last until May 1, 2015.&nbsp; It would apply to unincorporated areas outside city limits. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 12:45:26 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 9286 at http://ijpr.org Jackson County Considers Dispensary Ban Medford Educators Meet http://ijpr.org/post/medford-educators-meet <p>After more than eight hours yesterday, the Medford School District and the union representing its teachers ended a state-mediated negotiating session with no new agreements and no scheduled date as to when the sides would meet again.</p><p>The Mail Tribune reports that while the sides did not meet face-to-face during the day, they did exchange new proposals. That’s according to Alex Pulaski of the Oregon School Boards Association.</p> Wed, 29 Jan 2014 13:56:27 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 6897 at http://ijpr.org Mediator To Meet Today With Medford Educators http://ijpr.org/post/mediator-meet-today-medford-educators <p>Oregon State mediators will meet separately with bargaining teams from the Medford School District and its teachers union this afternoon in the hopes of settling contract disputes before a Feb. 6 strike.</p><p>The Medford Education Association notified the district yesterday of its intent to strike in 10 days as required by law. The union's bargaining team walked away from negotiations Friday, saying the district was unwilling to budge on its latest contract offer.</p> Tue, 28 Jan 2014 14:10:47 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 6837 at http://ijpr.org Medford Teachers Hold Strike Vote http://ijpr.org/post/medford-teachers-hold-strike-vote <p>After nearly a year of contract negotiations, Medford teachers will vote tonight (January 23) on whether to strike.</p><p></p><p>The Mail Tribune reports that bargaining teams from the Medford School District and the Medford Education Association have met three times this month, totaling about 30 hours, to negotiate the remaining articles of a new contract.</p><p>The district implemented the contract in late December without support of the teachers' union. Thu, 23 Jan 2014 14:14:07 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 6594 at http://ijpr.org Medford Teachers Hold Strike Vote Some Federal Court Hearings Going Online http://ijpr.org/post/some-federal-court-hearings-going-online <p>Members of the public can now listen to hearings from the 9th U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals online.</p><p></p><p>The court said Thursday it will offer online access to all of its proceedings beginning with its hearings next week in Pasadena. It's the first time a federal appeals court has provided the service. Fri, 03 Jan 2014 14:55:58 +0000 editor 5650 at http://ijpr.org Some Federal Court Hearings Going Online Cover Oregon Leader Resigns http://ijpr.org/post/cover-oregon-leader-resigns <p>The man who led Oregon's problem-plagues health insurance exchange has submitted his resignation.</p><p></p><p>Rocky King has been on medical leave since December 2. His resignation is effective at the end of his leave, March 5. Fri, 03 Jan 2014 14:46:16 +0000 editor 5648 at http://ijpr.org Cover Oregon Leader Resigns Josephine County Fairgrounds Get Reprieve http://ijpr.org/post/josephine-county-fairgrounds-get-reprieve <p>The Josephine County Oregon Board of Commissioners has voted to keep the county fairgrounds open through the end of the fiscal year.</p><p></p><p>The commissioners also voted yesterday to go ahead with the 2014 fair in Grants Pass, which will be the county's 100th. Tue, 31 Dec 2013 15:17:04 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 5495 at http://ijpr.org Josephine County Fairgrounds Get Reprieve Drones To Fly Over Oregon http://ijpr.org/post/drones-fly-over-oregon <p>Unpiloted aircraft will soon be tested over Oregon by the Federal Aviation Administration.</p><p></p><p>The FAA announced it had selected a joint proposal from Oregon, Alaska, and Hawai'i to be among six newly designated drone testing sites across the U. S. Tue, 31 Dec 2013 14:54:30 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 5494 at http://ijpr.org Drones To Fly Over Oregon Charge Overturned On Concealed Weapon At Campsite http://ijpr.org/post/charge-overturned-concealed-weapon-campsite <p>Persuaded by a man's argument that his campsite was his home, the Oregon Court of Appeals has reversed his conviction for illegally carrying a concealed weapon.</p><p>The Oregonian reports that the appeals court held that 66-year-old David Wolf was entitled to tell jurors at his trial that Oregon law makes an exception to carrying a concealed weapon without a permit if a person is in his or her place of residence.</p> Tue, 31 Dec 2013 14:46:31 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 5493 at http://ijpr.org Lawsuit Filed In Fatal Oregon Interstate Crash http://ijpr.org/post/lawsuit-filed-fatal-oregon-interstate-crash <p>A British Columbia lawyer representing 12 victims from the 2012 charter bus crash on Interstate 84 near Pendleton, Oregon filed a lawsuit this week seeking $700 million.</p><p>The East Oregonian reports the group is seeking a jury trial on accusations that tour operators were negligent. The lawsuit also accuses Oregon and the state Transportation Department for failing to make an icy stretch of the interstate safe, and failing to erect barriers to keep the bus from going over a cliff.</p> Fri, 27 Dec 2013 14:16:56 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 5326 at http://ijpr.org