agriculture http://ijpr.org en Biosafety Alliance Weighs In On GMO Ordinance Vote http://ijpr.org/post/biosafety-alliance-weighs-gmo-ordinance-vote <p></p><p>Recent financial reports indicate that the people in opposition to Jackson County's anti-GMO crop measure have the money advantage, and much of the money comes from other states.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>But the anti-GMO (so PRO measure) forces have their own friends in other places.&nbsp;</p><p>Those include the people of the <a href="http://biosafetyalliance.org/" target="_blank"><strong>Biosafety Alliance, </strong></a>who work on GMO and other issues.&nbsp; Mon, 14 Apr 2014 17:10:20 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 10656 at http://ijpr.org Biosafety Alliance Weighs In On GMO Ordinance Vote The Pro Side On Jackson County's Extension Measure http://ijpr.org/post/pro-side-jackson-countys-extension-measure <p></p><p>The local ballot measures are the big news items in Oregon's May 20 primary election.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>That's especially true in Jackson County, where an anti-GMO crop measure is up for a vote.&nbsp; And there's a measure to fund libraries as well.&nbsp; And another: a measure to keep the Oregon State Extension service operating in the county.&nbsp; Thu, 03 Apr 2014 17:10:20 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 10141 at http://ijpr.org The Pro Side On Jackson County's Extension Measure The Caged Bird Sings Of Change http://ijpr.org/post/caged-bird-sings-change <p></p><p>It's not this year, but a previous one, that may be weighing on the minds of California farmers.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>2008's Proposition 2 requires more spacious quarters for egg-laying hens, but it gave farmers more than six years to comply.&nbsp;</p><p>Animal-rights activists at the <a href="http://www.humanesociety.org/" target="_blank"><strong>Humane Society </strong></a>and other groups say many farmers have yet to make any changes, and could miss the deadline.&nbsp; Mon, 03 Mar 2014 18:10:20 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 8433 at http://ijpr.org The Caged Bird Sings Of Change Counting California's Record Grape Harvest http://ijpr.org/post/counting-californias-record-grape-harvest <p></p><p>It takes a while to compile the numbers from California's massive wine grape harvest.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>But here goes: 2013 was a record year, even better than 2012.&nbsp; The crush records recently compiled show 4.23 Million tons of grapes, for a total crop value of more than $3 Billion.&nbsp; Tue, 25 Feb 2014 18:10:20 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 8169 at http://ijpr.org Counting California's Record Grape Harvest Reviving Crop Donation Tax Credits http://ijpr.org/post/reviving-crop-donation-tax-credits <p></p><p>Drop a bag of clothing off at Goodwill, and you'll get a receipt and a potential tax credit.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>But farmers who grow extra acres of food and donate the produce to food banks get no such tax credit in Oregon.&nbsp; And they used to.&nbsp; Mon, 17 Feb 2014 18:10:20 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 7742 at http://ijpr.org Reviving Crop Donation Tax Credits GMO Perspective Straight From The Farm http://ijpr.org/post/gmo-perspective-straight-farm <p>CORRECTED event info below...</p><p>Howard Vlieger lives on the Iowa farm where he was born and raised.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>But his worldview extends far beyond the fields.&nbsp; Fri, 24 Jan 2014 18:32:00 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 6604 at http://ijpr.org GMO Perspective Straight From The Farm Keeping Them Down On The Farm (Bill) http://ijpr.org/post/keeping-them-down-farm-bill <p></p><p>Maybe by the time you read this, Congress will have completed work on a farm bill.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>But it certainly dragged its feet getting up to speed.&nbsp; Fri, 20 Dec 2013 18:26:00 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 4986 at http://ijpr.org Keeping Them Down On The Farm (Bill) Wine Industry Grows Quickly In Southern Oregon http://ijpr.org/post/wine-industry-grows-quickly-southern-oregon <p></p><p>From former pear orchards, a bounty of wine.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>Many of the same Southern Oregon agricultural plots that were once home to pear orchards are now home to vineyards growing wine grapes.&nbsp; Thu, 05 Dec 2013 19:20:00 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 4143 at http://ijpr.org Wine Industry Grows Quickly In Southern Oregon Enjoying Local Farm Goods Outside Growing Season http://ijpr.org/post/enjoying-local-farm-goods-outside-growing-season <p></p><p>So the growing season is over.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>But that does not mean an end to products from area farms.&nbsp; Thu, 05 Dec 2013 19:17:00 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 4142 at http://ijpr.org Enjoying Local Farm Goods Outside Growing Season Christmas Tree Season Is Here http://ijpr.org/post/christmas-tree-season-here <p>The peak of the shipping season for Christmas trees has arrived.</p><p></p><p>Christmas tree farmers in Oregon's Willamette Valley are optimistic about this year's harvest. An oversupply of Christmas trees, which began to take hold in 2005, made it rough going for tree growers for many years. Fri, 29 Nov 2013 13:54:47 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 3891 at http://ijpr.org Christmas Tree Season Is Here