elections http://ijpr.org en VENTSday: Internet Voting + Timing Campaign Contributions http://ijpr.org/post/ventsday-internet-voting-timing-campaign-contributions <p></p><p>Should making it easy to vote include voting via the Internet?&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>And while we're on the subject of voting, should there be new limits on WHEN political figures can take donations?&nbsp; Those are this week's VENTSday topics. Wed, 26 Feb 2014 18:10:20 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 8254 at http://ijpr.org VENTSday: Internet Voting + Timing Campaign Contributions Battle Over Privatizing Liquor In Oregon Begins http://ijpr.org/post/battle-over-privatizing-liquor-oregon-begins <p>The campaign to privatize the liquor business in Oregon is getting started.</p><p>The Oregonian newspaper reports Oregonians for Competition, a political action committee tied to the Northwest Grocery Association, has already spent $30,000 on consultants.</p><p>It reported campaign expenditures last week of $15,000 each to Winner &amp; Mandabach Campaigns and to the Silver Bullet company. Silver Bullet collects signatures for ballot initiatives. Winner &amp; Mandabach worked on the campaign to defeat proposed labels for genetically modified food.</p> Thu, 26 Dec 2013 14:29:05 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 5278 at http://ijpr.org VENTSday-Election Results + Spying On Our Allies http://ijpr.org/post/ventsday-election-results-spying-our-allies <p>We do not schedule guests for Wednesday at 8:30, because that's the time for VENTSday, your chance to vent (politely, please) on a pair of topics in the news.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>We bring the topics, you bring the opinions.&nbsp; It's VENTSday on The Jefferson Exchange, and you participate by calling 1-800-838-3760 or 541-552-6782 or emailing <a href="mailto:JX@jeffnet.org?subject=VENTS%20Nov%206"><strong>JX@jeffnet.org</strong></a>.<br /> Wed, 06 Nov 2013 18:52:00 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 2583 at http://ijpr.org VENTSday-Election Results + Spying On Our Allies Oregon Governor Considering Run http://ijpr.org/post/oregon-governor-considering-run <p>Oregon Governor John Kitzhaber hasn't said whether or not he'll launch a re-election bid, but he's been busy collecting funds for one.</p><p></p><p>Kitzhaber's campaign has reported contributions of nearly $232,000 so far this year. More than half of it has come in during the last two months. He has matched the amount he raised in all of 2012. Thu, 31 Oct 2013 13:17:14 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 2272 at http://ijpr.org Oregon Governor Considering Run Bringing Open Primaries Up For A Vote In Oregon http://ijpr.org/post/bringing-open-primaries-vote-oregon <p>California used its top-two primary system for the first time in the 2012 elections.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>All the candidate run in the same primary, and the top two vote-getters--regardless of party--face each other in the general election.&nbsp; Fri, 18 Oct 2013 17:32:00 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 1491 at http://ijpr.org Bringing Open Primaries Up For A Vote In Oregon Walden Votes Against Ending Shutdown http://ijpr.org/post/walden-votes-against-ending-shutdown <p>Republican Greg Walden of Oregon voted against the bill to end the partial government shutdown.</p><p></p><p>He broke with Speaker John Boehner but aligned himself with most of the GOP caucus. Fri, 18 Oct 2013 13:18:06 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 1536 at http://ijpr.org Walden Votes Against Ending Shutdown