global warming http://ijpr.org en Changing Climate In The Courts http://ijpr.org/post/changing-climate-courts <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Addressing climate change through government is the domain of the executive and legislative branches.&nbsp;</p><p>But how much are they doing?&nbsp;</p><p>Not very much at all, in the eyes of some observers.&nbsp;</p><p>So <a href="http://ourchildrenstrust.org/state/oregon" target="_blank"><strong>they filed lawsuits</strong></a> to force government action on the climate.&nbsp;</p><p>At least one court would not even hear the case.&nbsp; Thu, 19 Jun 2014 17:10:20 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 14300 at http://ijpr.org Changing Climate In The Courts Eugene Council Considers Climate http://ijpr.org/post/eugene-council-considers-climate <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>"Think globally, act locally" may get its biggest test in the realm of climate change.&nbsp;</p><p>And local groups are indeed taking a number of approaches to the issue.&nbsp;</p><p>In Eugene, young people presented the city council with a Climate Recovery Ordinance.&nbsp; Tue, 03 Jun 2014 17:10:20 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 13431 at http://ijpr.org Eugene Council Considers Climate A Regional Look At The National Climate Report http://ijpr.org/post/regional-look-national-climate-report <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Denial does not equal defense.&nbsp;</p><p>Global warming may still be denied by some segments of the population, but the evidence of its existence is overwhelming.&nbsp;</p><p>And that evidence includes the recent release of the <a href="http://www.globalchange.gov/" target="_blank"><strong>National Climate Assessment.</strong></a></p><p>The report shows the effects of climate change reaching to every one of the 50 states.&nbsp; Thu, 15 May 2014 17:10:20 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 12394 at http://ijpr.org A Regional Look At The National Climate Report Earth Day Observed By "Walk For The Planet" http://ijpr.org/post/earth-day-observed-walk-planet <p></p><p>44 years after the first Earth Day, a few things are different.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>We no longer fear blowing up the planet with nuclear weapons.&nbsp;</p><p>Slow cooking it, though... there's plenty of concern about that.&nbsp; Fri, 18 Apr 2014 17:10:20 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 10978 at http://ijpr.org Earth Day Observed By "Walk For The Planet" Understanding The Latest Western Climate Pact http://ijpr.org/post/understanding-latest-western-climate-pact <p></p><p>The inability of Congress to agree on much of anything slows down legislation in many fronts.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>Climate change is one of these, and political leaders in the West are not waiting around.&nbsp; Thu, 07 Nov 2013 18:38:00 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 2647 at http://ijpr.org Understanding The Latest Western Climate Pact The Climate Plan That Time Forgot http://ijpr.org/post/climate-plan-time-forgot <p>Last week, the leaders of California, Oregon, Washington and British Columbia gathered in San Francisco.&nbsp;</p><p>They pledged to take bold, coordinated action to combat climate change. But as Jefferson Public Radio’s Liam Moriarty explains , the unveiling of the Pacific Coast Action Plan on Climate and Energy has an undercurrent of déjà vu.</p><p> Tue, 05 Nov 2013 19:35:32 +0000 Liam Moriarty 2564 at http://ijpr.org The Climate Plan That Time Forgot VENTSday-Local Action On Global Warming + Money In Politics http://ijpr.org/post/ventsday-local-action-global-warming-money-politics <p>We do not schedule guests for Wednesday at 8:30, because that&#39;s the time for VENTSday, your chance to vent (politely, please) on a pair of topics in the news.&nbsp;</p><p>We bring the topics, you bring the opinions.&nbsp; Wed, 09 Oct 2013 18:01:00 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 1087 at http://ijpr.org VENTSday-Local Action On Global Warming + Money In Politics