Oregon Coast http://ijpr.org en Winter Whale Watching Begins http://ijpr.org/post/winter-whale-watching-begins <p>Winter whale watching week is almost here. The Oregon State Parks and Recreation has dubbed the week of December 26-31 Winter Whale Watching Week.</p><p></p><p>It is the annual migration of the gray whales as they make their way to warmer waters. Fri, 20 Dec 2013 14:36:04 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 5031 at http://ijpr.org Winter Whale Watching Begins Oregon Must Do More To Protect Coastal Waters http://ijpr.org/post/oregon-must-do-more-protect-coastal-waters <p>Federal regulators say Oregon is not doing enough to protect water and fish from pollution generated by logging on private lands, stormwater run-off from construction sites, and septic tanks.</p><p></p><p>The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration said yesterday they plan to reject portions of Oregon's program for limiting coastal pollution from non-point sources. Fri, 20 Dec 2013 14:32:41 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 5030 at http://ijpr.org Oregon Must Do More To Protect Coastal Waters Smoking Ban In Oregon Parks Considered http://ijpr.org/post/smoking-ban-oregon-parks-considered <p>A rule to ban smoking out in the open air on hiking trails, picnic areas, and common areas of campgrounds is under consideration by the Oregon Parks Department.</p><p></p><p>Department official Chris Havel said Wednesday the agency is following through on an executive order from the governor to reduce the public's exposure to secondhand smoke. Thu, 19 Dec 2013 14:56:08 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 4971 at http://ijpr.org Smoking Ban In Oregon Parks Considered Oregon's Key Beaches Are Eroding, Face Long-Term Changes http://ijpr.org/post/oregons-key-beaches-are-eroding-face-long-term-changes <p></p><p>Spend any time around a beach, and you'll notice changes.</p><p></p><p></p><p>No beach looks quite the same day after day, thanks to the winds, the tides, and all the other factors. Tue, 17 Dec 2013 20:04:00 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 4769 at http://ijpr.org Oregon's Key Beaches Are Eroding, Face Long-Term Changes Mosquito Talks Begin On The Oregon Coast http://ijpr.org/post/mosquito-talks-begin-oregon-coast <p>Most of the buzzing has stopped now, but talks have begun for next year's mosquito season along the Southern Oregon coast.</p><p></p><p>U. S. Fish and Wildlife Service officials have asked for a budget by December 12th to cover mosquito monitoring and abatement next year at the Bandon Marsh National Wildlife Refuge. Thu, 05 Dec 2013 14:57:00 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 4192 at http://ijpr.org Mosquito Talks Begin On The Oregon Coast Watch Out For Military Markers On The Coast http://ijpr.org/post/watch-out-military-markers-coast <p>Look out for military marine markers on the Oregon Coast. That is the warning from Oregon State Police. The markers are silver canisters about 18 inches long and 3 inches wide.</p><p>Last week, three of them were found along the Oregon coast.</p><p>State Hazardous Device Technicians say it is not unusual to respond to one a month, but three in a week is very unusual.</p><p>The devices are dropped by military aircraft to mark the location of something floating in the ocean. The trouble is, they contain white phosphorous, which burns in contact with air.</p> Tue, 08 Oct 2013 13:54:13 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 1067 at http://ijpr.org