marijuana http://ijpr.org en Ashland To Consider Dispensary Ban http://ijpr.org/post/ashland-consider-dispensary-ban <p>The Ashland City Council is following the lead of other Oregon cities, and considering a moratorium on medical marijuana dispensaries. &nbsp;The town faces six dispensary applications and mounting neighborhood opposition.</p><p>The Mail Tribune reports the council will discuss a temporary moratorium tomorrow night, in a meeting open to the public.</p><p>People hoping to launch dispensaries in Oregon began submitting applications to the state on March 3 as part of a new medical marijuana regulatory system. Two applicants have received business licenses in Ashland so far.</p> Mon, 24 Mar 2014 13:00:25 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 9590 at http://ijpr.org Jackson County Considers Dispensary Ban http://ijpr.org/post/jackson-county-considers-dispensary-ban <p>Jackson County Commissioners are considering joining the anti-pot party, banning medical marijuana dispensaries in areas under county jurisdiction.</p><p>Commissioners will consider a temporary moratorium on the dispensaries at their Wednesday morning (3/19) meeting.</p><p>Under new Oregon law, the moratorium would last until May 1, 2015.&nbsp; It would apply to unincorporated areas outside city limits. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 12:45:26 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 9286 at http://ijpr.org Jackson County Considers Dispensary Ban The Business Of Medical Marijuana http://ijpr.org/post/business-medical-marijuana <p>Marijuana is a business in Oregon, like it or not.&nbsp;</p><p>And even though the regulatory environment is constantly shifting, there are people trying to make an honest dollar at it.&nbsp; Fri, 24 Jan 2014 18:35:00 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 6605 at http://ijpr.org The Business Of Medical Marijuana VENTSday: Legal Marijuana + Drought Strategies http://ijpr.org/post/ventsday-legal-marijuana-drought-strategies <p></p><p>Is it time to talk seriously about legalizing marijuana in your state?</p><p></p><p>And what changes are you prepared to make if the regional drought should continue?&nbsp; Let's get your thoughts... Tue, 21 Jan 2014 20:20:34 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 6489 at http://ijpr.org VENTSday: Legal Marijuana + Drought Strategies Pot Versus Fish In California Waters http://ijpr.org/post/pot-versus-fish-california-waters <p></p><p>Marijuana versus the environment: who ever would have seen that coming?&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>But the first hurts the second, at least when illegal growing operations trash the landscape and nearby waterways. Tue, 21 Jan 2014 18:19:00 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 6441 at http://ijpr.org Pot Versus Fish In California Waters Decision Soon On Marijuana Use At Dispensaries http://ijpr.org/post/decision-soon-marijuana-use-dispensaries <p>Officials at the Oregon Health Authority will have to decide soon whether medical marijuana cardholders should be allowed to use the drug at dispensaries that will become legal next year under a new state law.</p><p></p><p>An advisory committee discussed that topic and others at its final meeting yesterday. The state expects to finalize dispensary regulations by next month. They'll take effect in March. Thu, 12 Dec 2013 14:56:41 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 4568 at http://ijpr.org Decision Soon On Marijuana Use At Dispensaries Local Laws May Trump State Pot Laws http://ijpr.org/post/local-laws-may-trump-state-pot-laws <p>The committee drafting Oregon's rules for medical marijuana dispensaries warned potential operators to check with their local government before investing too much time and money.</p><p></p><p>Medford and Tualatin have already banned dispensaries, and members of the committee said it will likely be up to the courts to decide whether those cities have that right. Tue, 19 Nov 2013 14:36:34 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 3346 at http://ijpr.org Local Laws May Trump State Pot Laws Localities Can't Turn Down Marijuana Dispensaries http://ijpr.org/post/localities-cant-turn-down-marijuana-dispensaries <p>The Oregon Legislature's legal advisors say local governments cannot 'just say no' to medical marijuana dispensaries.</p><p></p><p>The Oregonian reports that the opinion was sought after the city of Medford adopted a local ordinance saying business licenses will not be given to anyone who violates local, state, and federal laws. Thu, 07 Nov 2013 14:30:36 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 2685 at http://ijpr.org Localities Can't Turn Down Marijuana Dispensaries VENTSday-Closing Income Gap + Setting Up Marijuana Laws http://ijpr.org/post/ventsday-closing-income-gap-setting-marijuana-laws <p>Yet another study shows a widening income gap, this time within Oregon.&nbsp; What would you do to close that gap?</p><p>And both our states may be headed to the ballot once again with measures to legalize marijuana for personal use.&nbsp; How should any such laws be set up to safeguard users and society?&nbsp; These are the topics in this week's VENTSday segment.&nbsp; Wed, 30 Oct 2013 17:39:00 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 2173 at http://ijpr.org VENTSday-Closing Income Gap + Setting Up Marijuana Laws Inspecting Marijuana Grows For Environmental Compliance http://ijpr.org/post/inspecting-marijuana-grows-environmental-compliance <p>Marijuana is illegal under federal law, but allowed for medicinal use under California and Oregon state law.&nbsp;</p><p>In California, marijuana (legal and illegal) amounts to the state's biggest cash crop. Mon, 21 Oct 2013 17:34:00 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 1553 at http://ijpr.org Inspecting Marijuana Grows For Environmental Compliance