taxes http://ijpr.org en Help With The Tax Return http://ijpr.org/post/help-tax-return <p></p><p>We can't put off filing our income tax returns much longer.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>April 15th is less than two months away, and Uncle Sam takes a dim view of the “better late than never” attitude.&nbsp; Fri, 21 Feb 2014 18:10:10 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 8000 at http://ijpr.org Help With The Tax Return Jackson County Voters To Decide On Library District http://ijpr.org/post/jackson-county-voters-decide-library-district <p>The fate of the Jackson County library will go before voters in May.</p><p></p><p>If passed, the proposal for a special tax district would create a property tax up to 60 cents per $1,000 of assessed property value.</p><p>A board of directors separate from the County Commissioners would run the district. Thu, 13 Feb 2014 14:47:23 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 7660 at http://ijpr.org Jackson County Voters To Decide On Library District Wyden Would Double Timber Harvest http://ijpr.org/post/wyden-would-double-timber-harvest <p>Oregon U. S. Senator Ron Wyden wants to double the timber harvest on 2.1. million acres of O &amp; C timber lands in Western Oregon.&nbsp; In a proposal to be released Tuesday, environmental reviews would be streamlined.</p><p></p><p>The Proposed Oregon and California Land Grant Act of 2013 calls for increasing the harvest to a little over 300 million board feet annually. The yearly harvest in the past decade has averaged about 150 million board feet, according to officials. Tue, 26 Nov 2013 14:28:22 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 3730 at http://ijpr.org Wyden Would Double Timber Harvest Oregon Lamakers Head To Salem http://ijpr.org/post/oregon-lamakers-head-salem <p>Oregon lawmakers return to Salem today for a special session tackling pensions, taxes, and regulations over genetically modified crops.</p><p>Governor John Kitzhaber called the session earlier this month, nearly a year after he first proposed a budget that included cuts in pension benefits for retired government workers.</p><p>He has negotiated a deal with legislative leaders that would include pension cuts along with tax increases and tax cuts. He added a ban on local&nbsp; governments regulating genetically modified crops as part of the session requirements.</p> Mon, 30 Sep 2013 13:17:08 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 686 at http://ijpr.org Kitzhaber Will Sign All Or None http://ijpr.org/post/kitzhaber-will-sign-all-or-none <p>Oregon Governor John Kitzhaber repeated his vow Thursday to veto the bills passed in next week&#39;s special session unless all five of the measures reach his desk.</p><p></p><p>That&#39;s one element of a deal reached by the Democrat and four top legislative leaders in Salem.&nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 27 Sep 2013 14:30:32 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 599 at http://ijpr.org Kitzhaber Will Sign All Or None Timber Subsidy Passes U.S. House http://ijpr.org/post/timber-subsidy-passes-us-house <p>A one-year extension of federal subsidies for timber counties has passed the U.S. House.</p><p>Oregon counties would get about $100 million under the extension of the now expired Secure Rural Schools Program. Thu, 26 Sep 2013 12:53:23 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 532 at http://ijpr.org Timber Subsidy Passes U.S. House