mental health http://ijpr.org en How To Stop Hating Yourself http://ijpr.org/post/how-stop-hating-yourself <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>It's one thing to be hard on yourself, and take setbacks and criticism to heart.&nbsp;</p><p>It's another thing entirely to actually hate yourself.&nbsp;</p><p>Author Anneli Rufus is one of many people who struggled with low self-esteem all her life.&nbsp;</p><p>And while she does NOT recommend going all the way to the other end of the spectrum, she does think it's high time to close what may be an epidemic of self-loathing.&nbsp; Thu, 24 Jul 2014 17:10:10 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 16372 at http://ijpr.org How To Stop Hating Yourself Inside Mental Health Care: "Sherry Goes Sane" http://ijpr.org/post/inside-mental-health-care-sherry-goes-sane <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>We debate the proper treatment of mental illness a fair amount in this country.&nbsp;</p><p>Sherry Joiner can shed some light on the debate from the patient point of view.&nbsp;</p><p>Joiner emerged from a turbulent childhood with some serious mental challenges.&nbsp;</p><p>After years of episodes, she finally got the treatment she needed.&nbsp; Fri, 16 May 2014 17:10:10 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 12444 at http://ijpr.org Inside Mental Health Care: "Sherry Goes Sane" Living With ADD: "I Always Want To Be Where I'm Not" http://ijpr.org/post/living-add-i-always-want-be-where-im-not <p></p><p></p><p>A recent discussion on ADHD on The Exchange focused on the big picture: the numbers of people diagnosed with the condition, and how fast that number is rising.&nbsp;</p><p>We take another look at attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder with psychologist <a href="http://www.dr-wes.com/" target="_blank"><strong>Wes Crenshaw.&nbsp;</strong></a> Fri, 09 May 2014 17:10:10 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 12049 at http://ijpr.org Living With ADD: "I Always Want To Be Where I'm Not" Changing The Perceptions Of Mental Illness http://ijpr.org/post/changing-perceptions-mental-illness <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>The things we learn about mental illness tend to come from movies or the news.&nbsp;</p><p>Sadly, mental illness hits the headlines when a person suffering from mental illness commits a notable crime.&nbsp;</p><p>There is still a stigma attached to mental illness, and still a problem with mentally ill people ending up in jail instead of treatment.&nbsp; Fri, 02 May 2014 17:10:20 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 11696 at http://ijpr.org Changing The Perceptions Of Mental Illness The ADHD Explosion http://ijpr.org/post/adhd-explosion <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Many parents have wondered why there seem to be so many cases of ADHD, attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder, being diagnosed in America today.&nbsp;</p><p>One in nine children are diagnosed with ADHD, and the majority of them receive prescriptions for it.&nbsp; Wed, 30 Apr 2014 17:10:10 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 11579 at http://ijpr.org The ADHD Explosion Mental Health Care Revamped: Compass House http://ijpr.org/post/mental-health-care-revamped-compass-house <p></p><p>We've come a long way since the days when mentally ill people were "warehoused" in huge state mental hospitals.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>But we're still looking for the solutions that work best for each community.&nbsp;</p><p>Later this year, Medford will become home to <a href="http://www.socompasshouse.org/about-us/" target="_blank"><strong>Compass House,</strong></a> a mental health facility that is operated jointly by staff and clients. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 17:10:30 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 9364 at http://ijpr.org Mental Health Care Revamped: Compass House Evolutionary Origins Of Depression http://ijpr.org/post/evolutionary-origins-depression <p></p><p>When you look at the life span of the human species, we're still pretty young.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>It wasn't so long ago that our ancestors faced threats from disease and predators. Mon, 24 Feb 2014 18:10:10 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 8073 at http://ijpr.org Evolutionary Origins Of Depression Getting Past The "Secrets and Lies" http://ijpr.org/post/getting-past-secrets-and-lies <p></p><p>Think about a time when someone shared a long-held secret.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>Were you blown away by the truth?&nbsp; Jane Isay listened as her husband explained his homosexuality, then helped him keep the secret as they stayed married for another ten years.&nbsp; Tue, 28 Jan 2014 19:00:00 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 6795 at http://ijpr.org Getting Past The "Secrets and Lies" The Narcissist In Your Life http://ijpr.org/post/narcissist-your-life <p></p><p>Use, abuse, dispose.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>Family therapist Linda Martinez-Lewi says that is the cycle of the true narcissist, a person with little or no empathy or ability to form a true connection with other people.&nbsp; Thu, 07 Nov 2013 18:34:00 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 2645 at http://ijpr.org The Narcissist In Your Life Method To The Madness: "Divine Lunacy" http://ijpr.org/post/method-madness-divine-lunacy <p>How best to broach the subject of mental illness?</p><p> Thu, 19 Sep 2013 19:08:08 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 336 at http://ijpr.org Method To The Madness: "Divine Lunacy"