timber http://ijpr.org en Ending Old-Growth Logging http://ijpr.org/post/ending-old-growth-logging <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>The most contentious portion of the debate over forest management concerns old-growth timber.&nbsp;</p><p>Can the timber industry be healthy without cutting down ancient trees?&nbsp;</p><p>Scientists, including Dominick DellaSala at Ashland's <a href="http://www.geosinstitute.org/" target="_blank"><strong>Geos Institute,</strong></a> say yes.&nbsp;</p><p>Geos and other organizations just teamed up on a study showing that old-growth logging could be phased out in Alaska's Tongass National Forest in just six years.&nbsp; Mon, 07 Jul 2014 17:10:10 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 15410 at http://ijpr.org Ending Old-Growth Logging Agreement Leads To New Timber Mill Activity http://ijpr.org/post/agreement-leads-new-timber-mill-activity <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>It's a rare thing when a timber mill adds another shift.&nbsp;</p><p>It's far rarer that an environmental group applauds the addition.&nbsp;</p><p>But Malheur Lumber is adding a shift at its mill in the eastern Oregon town of John Day, and an agreement with environmental groups played a part in the move. Tue, 10 Jun 2014 17:10:30 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 13796 at http://ijpr.org Agreement Leads To New Timber Mill Activity College Degrees In The Timber Industry http://ijpr.org/post/college-degrees-timber-industry <p></p><p>In the boom years in the wood products business, kids could graduate high school and head for the woods or the mill for a family-wage job.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>It's a lot more complicated now.&nbsp; Forest products companies want better-schooled employees, but have a hard time finding them.&nbsp; Tue, 22 Apr 2014 17:10:20 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 11100 at http://ijpr.org College Degrees In The Timber Industry Rough And Ready Lumber Coming Back http://ijpr.org/post/rough-and-ready-lumber-coming-back <p></p><p>What was once lost is returning.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p><a href="http://www.rrlumber.com/index.html" target="_blank"><strong>Rough and Ready Lumber</strong></a> closed its doors near Cave Junction several months ago, shutting the last operating sawmill in Josephine County.&nbsp; Thu, 03 Apr 2014 17:10:30 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 10144 at http://ijpr.org Rough And Ready Lumber Coming Back Backlash To Wyden Timber Plan http://ijpr.org/post/backlash-wyden-timber-plan <p></p><p>It has been said many times that journalists and legislators know they've probably done their jobs well when many people are angry with them.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>Oregon Senator Ron Wyden can probably relate.&nbsp; Tue, 11 Feb 2014 18:10:20 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 7505 at http://ijpr.org Backlash To Wyden Timber Plan Arguing Timber And Terminology http://ijpr.org/post/arguing-timber-and-terminology <p></p><p>The Bureau of Land Management calls the plan for the White Castle timber sale "variable retention harvest."</p><p></p><p>Environmental groups prefer "clearcut."&nbsp; Welcome back to the frequent battles over logging in Western Oregon.&nbsp; Mon, 03 Feb 2014 18:30:00 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 7055 at http://ijpr.org Arguing Timber And Terminology Oregon Timber Bill To Be Introduced http://ijpr.org/post/oregon-timber-bill-be-introduced <p>Oregon Senator Ron Wyden is introducing his long-awaited bill to promote logging on national forests in Eastern Oregon</p><p></p><p>The Oregon Democrat's Senate Natural Resources Committee is to take up the bill today. Thu, 19 Dec 2013 14:40:39 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 4969 at http://ijpr.org Oregon Timber Bill To Be Introduced VENTSday: O & C Timber Bill + Phones On Planes http://ijpr.org/post/ventsday-o-c-timber-bill-phones-planes <p></p><p>There's already a wealth of opinion being offered on Oregon Sen. Ron Wyden's timber bill, and you can add to it on this week's VENTSday segment on The Exchange.</p><p></p><p>Every Wednesday at 8:30, we throw a pair of topics on the table--in theory, unrelated--and open up the phone lines and the email box to gather your take on either or both of the issues.&nbsp; It's VENTSday on The Jefferson Exchange, and you participate by calling 1-800-838-3760 or 541-552-6782 or emailing JX@jeffnet.org. Wed, 04 Dec 2013 18:41:00 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 4074 at http://ijpr.org VENTSday: O & C Timber Bill + Phones On Planes Conservationists Want To Protect Crater Lake http://ijpr.org/post/conservationists-want-protect-crater-lake <p>Conservation groups are challenging U. S. Forest Service plans to log and thin outside Crater Lake National Park in an area that the groups want to see protected as wilderness.</p><p></p><p>The lawsuit was filed Tuesday in U. S. District Court in Eugene by the groups Cascadia Wild and Oregon Wild. Wed, 04 Dec 2013 14:32:15 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 4124 at http://ijpr.org Conservationists Want To Protect Crater Lake Timber Legislation From O & C Counties Perspective http://ijpr.org/post/timber-legislation-o-c-counties-perspective <p></p><p>The other shoe just dropped in the plan to reorganize some of Western Oregon's federal forests.&nbsp;</p><p>The so-called O &amp; C lands were already the focus of a bill passed in the U.S. House earlier this year.&nbsp;</p><p>Now Sen. Ron Wyden has released his plan--different from the House version--for giving greater protection to a portion of the lands, while managing the remainder more intensively for timber production.&nbsp; Tue, 03 Dec 2013 19:29:00 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 4013 at http://ijpr.org Timber Legislation From O & C Counties Perspective