timber http://ijpr.org en Rough And Ready Lumber Coming Back http://ijpr.org/post/rough-and-ready-lumber-coming-back <p></p><p>What was once lost is returning.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p><a href="http://www.rrlumber.com/index.html" target="_blank"><strong>Rough and Ready Lumber</strong></a> closed its doors near Cave Junction several months ago, shutting the last operating sawmill in Josephine County.&nbsp; Thu, 03 Apr 2014 17:10:30 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 10144 at http://ijpr.org Rough And Ready Lumber Coming Back Backlash To Wyden Timber Plan http://ijpr.org/post/backlash-wyden-timber-plan <p></p><p>It has been said many times that journalists and legislators know they've probably done their jobs well when many people are angry with them.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>Oregon Senator Ron Wyden can probably relate.&nbsp; Tue, 11 Feb 2014 18:10:20 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 7505 at http://ijpr.org Backlash To Wyden Timber Plan Arguing Timber And Terminology http://ijpr.org/post/arguing-timber-and-terminology <p></p><p>The Bureau of Land Management calls the plan for the White Castle timber sale "variable retention harvest."</p><p></p><p>Environmental groups prefer "clearcut."&nbsp; Welcome back to the frequent battles over logging in Western Oregon.&nbsp; Mon, 03 Feb 2014 18:30:00 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 7055 at http://ijpr.org Arguing Timber And Terminology Oregon Timber Bill To Be Introduced http://ijpr.org/post/oregon-timber-bill-be-introduced <p>Oregon Senator Ron Wyden is introducing his long-awaited bill to promote logging on national forests in Eastern Oregon</p><p></p><p>The Oregon Democrat's Senate Natural Resources Committee is to take up the bill today. Thu, 19 Dec 2013 14:40:39 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 4969 at http://ijpr.org Oregon Timber Bill To Be Introduced VENTSday: O & C Timber Bill + Phones On Planes http://ijpr.org/post/ventsday-o-c-timber-bill-phones-planes <p></p><p>There's already a wealth of opinion being offered on Oregon Sen. Ron Wyden's timber bill, and you can add to it on this week's VENTSday segment on The Exchange.</p><p></p><p>Every Wednesday at 8:30, we throw a pair of topics on the table--in theory, unrelated--and open up the phone lines and the email box to gather your take on either or both of the issues.&nbsp; It's VENTSday on The Jefferson Exchange, and you participate by calling 1-800-838-3760 or 541-552-6782 or emailing JX@jeffnet.org. Wed, 04 Dec 2013 18:41:00 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 4074 at http://ijpr.org VENTSday: O & C Timber Bill + Phones On Planes Conservationists Want To Protect Crater Lake http://ijpr.org/post/conservationists-want-protect-crater-lake <p>Conservation groups are challenging U. S. Forest Service plans to log and thin outside Crater Lake National Park in an area that the groups want to see protected as wilderness.</p><p></p><p>The lawsuit was filed Tuesday in U. S. District Court in Eugene by the groups Cascadia Wild and Oregon Wild. Wed, 04 Dec 2013 14:32:15 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 4124 at http://ijpr.org Conservationists Want To Protect Crater Lake Timber Legislation From O & C Counties Perspective http://ijpr.org/post/timber-legislation-o-c-counties-perspective <p></p><p>The other shoe just dropped in the plan to reorganize some of Western Oregon's federal forests.&nbsp;</p><p>The so-called O &amp; C lands were already the focus of a bill passed in the U.S. House earlier this year.&nbsp;</p><p>Now Sen. Ron Wyden has released his plan--different from the House version--for giving greater protection to a portion of the lands, while managing the remainder more intensively for timber production.&nbsp; Tue, 03 Dec 2013 19:29:00 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 4013 at http://ijpr.org Timber Legislation From O & C Counties Perspective Christmas Tree Season Is Here http://ijpr.org/post/christmas-tree-season-here <p>The peak of the shipping season for Christmas trees has arrived.</p><p></p><p>Christmas tree farmers in Oregon's Willamette Valley are optimistic about this year's harvest. An oversupply of Christmas trees, which began to take hold in 2005, made it rough going for tree growers for many years. Fri, 29 Nov 2013 13:54:47 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 3891 at http://ijpr.org Christmas Tree Season Is Here Wyden Would Double Timber Harvest http://ijpr.org/post/wyden-would-double-timber-harvest <p>Oregon U. S. Senator Ron Wyden wants to double the timber harvest on 2.1. million acres of O &amp; C timber lands in Western Oregon.&nbsp; In a proposal to be released Tuesday, environmental reviews would be streamlined.</p><p></p><p>The Proposed Oregon and California Land Grant Act of 2013 calls for increasing the harvest to a little over 300 million board feet annually. The yearly harvest in the past decade has averaged about 150 million board feet, according to officials. Tue, 26 Nov 2013 14:28:22 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 3730 at http://ijpr.org Wyden Would Double Timber Harvest Loggers Can Go Back To Work http://ijpr.org/post/loggers-can-go-back-work <p>Loggers may go back to work on national forests without waiting for federal agencies to lift logging bans prompted by the government shutdown.</p><p></p><p>Following a hearing in Medford yesterday, U.S. District Judge Owen Panner signed a temporary restraining order lifting the logging ban immediately. Fri, 18 Oct 2013 12:54:39 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 1535 at http://ijpr.org Loggers Can Go Back To Work