climate change http://ijpr.org en Earth Day Observed By "Walk For The Planet" http://ijpr.org/post/earth-day-observed-walk-planet <p></p><p>44 years after the first Earth Day, a few things are different.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>We no longer fear blowing up the planet with nuclear weapons.&nbsp;</p><p>Slow cooking it, though... there's plenty of concern about that.&nbsp; Fri, 18 Apr 2014 17:10:20 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 10978 at http://ijpr.org Earth Day Observed By "Walk For The Planet" Climate Change and the Coming Flight for Survival http://ijpr.org/post/climate-change-and-coming-flight-survival <p></p><p>Just how hot will it get as climate change continues?&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>Even if we don't notice the heat, what will rising sea levels do to coastal communities?&nbsp; These are the questions Giles Slade considers in his book&nbsp; <em><strong><a href="http://www.newsociety.com/Books/A/American-Exodus" target="_blank">American Exodus: Climate Change and the Coming Flight for Survival.</a></strong>&nbsp;</em> Fri, 13 Dec 2013 18:35:00 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 4586 at http://ijpr.org Climate Change and the Coming Flight for Survival Understanding The Latest Western Climate Pact http://ijpr.org/post/understanding-latest-western-climate-pact <p></p><p>The inability of Congress to agree on much of anything slows down legislation in many fronts.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>Climate change is one of these, and political leaders in the West are not waiting around.&nbsp; Thu, 07 Nov 2013 18:38:00 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 2647 at http://ijpr.org Understanding The Latest Western Climate Pact The Climate Plan That Time Forgot http://ijpr.org/post/climate-plan-time-forgot <p>Last week, the leaders of California, Oregon, Washington and British Columbia gathered in San Francisco.&nbsp;</p><p>They pledged to take bold, coordinated action to combat climate change. But as Jefferson Public Radio’s Liam Moriarty explains , the unveiling of the Pacific Coast Action Plan on Climate and Energy has an undercurrent of déjà vu.</p><p> Tue, 05 Nov 2013 19:35:32 +0000 Liam Moriarty 2564 at http://ijpr.org The Climate Plan That Time Forgot Governors Unite To Promote Clean Energy http://ijpr.org/post/governors-unite-promote-clean-energy <p>The governors of Oregon, Washington, and California are joining a Canadian province Monday to announce a partnership to collectively combat climate change and promote clean energy.</p><p></p><p>The regional leaders will announce the partnership today at a San Francisco event. Mon, 28 Oct 2013 12:58:19 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 2079 at http://ijpr.org Governors Unite To Promote Clean Energy VENTSday-Local Action On Global Warming + Money In Politics http://ijpr.org/post/ventsday-local-action-global-warming-money-politics <p>We do not schedule guests for Wednesday at 8:30, because that&#39;s the time for VENTSday, your chance to vent (politely, please) on a pair of topics in the news.&nbsp;</p><p>We bring the topics, you bring the opinions.&nbsp; Wed, 09 Oct 2013 18:01:00 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 1087 at http://ijpr.org VENTSday-Local Action On Global Warming + Money In Politics Early Snowfall At Crater Lake Park http://ijpr.org/post/early-snowfall-crater-lake-park <p>Autumn has barely arrived in Oregon, and already snow has fallen at Crater Lake.</p><p>Park official Marsha McCabe says there was an unusually early snowfall Tuesday and Wednesday, with eight inches on the ground.</p><p>McCabe says September snowfall at the National Park is rare-usually a dusting of an inch or two.</p><p>But when things get going in the winter, the snowfall at Crater Lake averages more than 500 inches a year.</p><p>McCabe says the North Entrance to the part and West Rim Drive are temporarily closed, but should be reopened by the weekend as the forecast calls for nice weather. Thu, 26 Sep 2013 13:34:03 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 535 at http://ijpr.org Early Snowfall At Crater Lake Park California Greenhouse Emissions Reduction Efforts Upheld http://ijpr.org/post/california-greenhouse-emissions-reduction-efforts-upheld <p>California's first-in-the-nation mandate requiring fuel producers to reduce greenhouse gas emissions has been upheld by a federal court.</p><p>A three-judge panel of the 9th U. S. Circuit Court of Appeals yesterday rejected arguments from fuel makers that California's low carbon fuel standard discriminates against out-of-state producers.</p><p>The ruling reverses a U.S. District Court ruling in favor of the fuel makers, and removes an injunction halting implementation of the law.</p> Thu, 19 Sep 2013 13:45:29 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 299 at http://ijpr.org Forest Fires Make Snowpack Melt Faster http://ijpr.org/post/forest-fires-make-snowpack-melt-faster <p>Charred forests left behind by wildfires make the mountain snowpack melt faster, according to a new study.Western rivers depend on the snowpack.</p><p>Study author, OSU doctoral student Kelly Gleason, says they found more snow fell in burned forests than in green ones. But the snow melted off twice as fast in burned forests, and was gone 23 days earlier. The reason was the black bits sloughing off the charred trees onto the snow intensified the heat from the sun.</p><p>Eighty percent of forest fires are in the snow zone.</p> Wed, 18 Sep 2013 13:43:19 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 288 at http://ijpr.org