unemployment http://ijpr.org en Looking Hard For People To Hire http://ijpr.org/post/looking-hard-people-hire <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Both employers and potential employees are complaining about the current hiring climate in Oregon.&nbsp;</p><p>The employers want workers and the workers want jobs, but there are mismatches.&nbsp;</p><p>Many employers report difficulty filling jobs, because they require more skills than many of the available workers possess.&nbsp; Fri, 27 Jun 2014 17:10:20 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 14781 at http://ijpr.org Looking Hard For People To Hire What's Behind Oregon's Improving Employment http://ijpr.org/post/whats-behind-oregons-improving-employment <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Officially, the national recession ended several years ago.&nbsp;</span></p><p>You could not prove that by a lot of workers, especially in Oregon.&nbsp;</p><p>But employment in the state appears to be improving, if not surging... it's just not consistent across the state; Southwest Oregon lags behind. Fri, 23 May 2014 17:10:30 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 12848 at http://ijpr.org What's Behind Oregon's Improving Employment Congress Fails to Continue Extended Unemployment Benefits http://ijpr.org/post/congress-fails-continue-extended-unemployment-benefits <p></p><p>It is not a very Happy New Year for unemployed people, but it's even less happy for the long-term unemployed.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>Because Congress recessed for the holiday season without extending unemployment payments, as it had in previous years.&nbsp; Fri, 03 Jan 2014 18:25:00 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 5600 at http://ijpr.org Congress Fails to Continue Extended Unemployment Benefits Behind The Numbers As Oregon Unemployment Declines http://ijpr.org/post/behind-numbers-oregon-unemployment-declines <p></p><p>Oregon's unemployment rate is only now dropping to levels last seen before the Great Recession.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>But there's still plenty of room for improvement; thousands of people are either looking for employment or new jobs to replace the ones they have.&nbsp; Mon, 23 Dec 2013 18:22:00 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 5052 at http://ijpr.org Behind The Numbers As Oregon Unemployment Declines California Unemployment Computer Problems Known http://ijpr.org/post/california-unemployment-computer-problems-known <p>California officials knew a computer upgrade for the state&#39;s unemployment insurance program was vulnerable to problems before it was installed.</p><p>The Sacramento Bee reports that officials underestimated how many unemployment claims would be affected by a glitch in the $188 million system upgrade.</p><p>The data-conversion problem eventually delayed jobless benefits for nearly $150,000 Californians.</p> Tue, 15 Oct 2013 13:52:58 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 1354 at http://ijpr.org Some Unemployed Californians Need To Wait For Their Checks http://ijpr.org/post/some-unemployed-californians-need-wait-their-checks <p>About 50,000 unemployed Californians have had their benefit checks delayed as the state struggles to implement a computer system upgrade.<br>The Sacramento Bee reports that the Employment Development Department processed about 15,000 of the delayed claims by Tuesday morning and hoped to finish the rest by the end of the week. Wed, 18 Sep 2013 13:29:30 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 287 at http://ijpr.org