health http://ijpr.org en California Whooping Cough Cases Reach Epidemic http://ijpr.org/post/california-whooping-cough-cases-reach-epidemic <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>By early June, California already had more cases of pertussis (whooping cough) than in all of last year.</p><p>Translation: there's a whooping cough epidemic in California.&nbsp;</p><p>Pertussis is another disease for which there is a vaccination, but the disease has come back from the brink of disappearing.&nbsp; Mon, 23 Jun 2014 17:10:30 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 14439 at http://ijpr.org California Whooping Cough Cases Reach Epidemic Healing, And Winning Awards For It http://ijpr.org/post/healing-and-winning-awards-it <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>There are so many ways to damage a human body.&nbsp;</p><p>And a whole lot of ways to fix bodies, too.&nbsp;</p><p><a href="http://www.asante.org/about-us/hospitals/ashland/" target="_top"><strong>Asante Ashland Community Hospital</strong></a> just won an award for the success of its Center for Wound Healing &amp; Hyperbaric Medicine.&nbsp; Wed, 28 May 2014 17:10:30 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 13080 at http://ijpr.org Healing, And Winning Awards For It Diabetes Alert Day http://ijpr.org/post/diabetes-alert-day <p></p><p>March 25 is <a href="http://www.diabetes.org/" target="_blank"><strong>Diabetes Alert Day</strong></a> across the country.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>For more than a quarter of a century, Americans have used this day to get tested to see if they are at risk for developing Type 2 diabetes. Tue, 25 Mar 2014 17:10:20 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 9602 at http://ijpr.org Diabetes Alert Day Your Body Book http://ijpr.org/post/your-body-book <p></p><p>When the warning light goes on in your car, you reach for the owner's manual, don't you?</p><p></p><p>It sure would be great if we had that kind of manual for the human body.&nbsp; Mission accomplished...&nbsp; Tue, 25 Mar 2014 17:10:10 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 9599 at http://ijpr.org Your Body Book Getting Healthy Together: Community Health Improvement Plans http://ijpr.org/post/getting-healthy-together-community-health-improvement-plans <p></p><p>We are often urged as individuals to work to improve our health.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>But can we all get better together, as a community?&nbsp; The recent news that childhood obesity has dropped sharply confirms the long-held belief that community health campaigns work.&nbsp; Wed, 19 Mar 2014 17:10:30 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 9308 at http://ijpr.org Getting Healthy Together: Community Health Improvement Plans Smoking Ban In Oregon Parks Considered http://ijpr.org/post/smoking-ban-oregon-parks-considered <p>A rule to ban smoking out in the open air on hiking trails, picnic areas, and common areas of campgrounds is under consideration by the Oregon Parks Department.</p><p></p><p>Department official Chris Havel said Wednesday the agency is following through on an executive order from the governor to reduce the public's exposure to secondhand smoke. Thu, 19 Dec 2013 14:56:08 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 4971 at http://ijpr.org Smoking Ban In Oregon Parks Considered Rural Medicine Center Planned For Klamath Falls http://ijpr.org/post/rural-medicine-center-planned-klamath-falls <p>Oregon Health &amp; Science University is planning to create a satellite campus in Klamath Falls, Oregon to focus on rural medicine.</p><p></p><p>OHSU's provost and vice president announced Wednesday that the campus would become a hub. A dean is expected to be hired by July so that campus planning can begin. Fri, 15 Nov 2013 14:42:50 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 3154 at http://ijpr.org Rural Medicine Center Planned For Klamath Falls Restoring Intimacy And Sex After The Baby Arrives http://ijpr.org/post/restoring-intimacy-and-sex-after-baby-arrives <p></p><p>Maybe the birth rate is way off from what it was in the baby boom years, but there's still a lot of attention and industry focused on keeping mothers and babies healthy.</p><p></p><p></p><p>And an event coming to Ashland this weekend focused on the same subject.&nbsp; Fri, 01 Nov 2013 19:18:00 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 2295 at http://ijpr.org Restoring Intimacy And Sex After The Baby Arrives Settling Into New Reality At (Asante) Ashland Community Hospital http://ijpr.org/post/settling-new-reality-asante-ashland-community-hospital <p>It&#39;s been quite a year for what was called <a href="http://www.asante.org/about-us/leadership/" target="_blank"><strong>Ashland Community Hospital.&nbsp; </strong></a></p><p>The small hospital needed to find a merger partner, had one, then watched as the merger fell through.&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 08 Oct 2013 18:02:00 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 1033 at http://ijpr.org Settling Into New Reality At (Asante) Ashland Community Hospital Making Yourself "Disease Proof" http://ijpr.org/post/making-yourself-disease-proof <p>Don&#39;t smoke, eat well, stay active, and maintain a healthy weight.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>Four simple actions can greatly reduce your risk of chronic disease.&nbsp; Tue, 08 Oct 2013 18:00:00 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 1031 at http://ijpr.org Making Yourself "Disease Proof"