senior citizens http://ijpr.org en Designing Innovative Programs For Seniors & Disabled http://ijpr.org/post/designing-innovative-programs-seniors-disabled <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>The simple existence of the Baby Boom Generation means we will have more senior citizens over the next few decades.&nbsp;</p><p>And it will take some innovative programs to deliver services to all the seniors and people with disabilities who will need them.&nbsp;</p><p>The Oregon <a href="http://www.oregon.gov/DHS/spwpd/pages/index.aspx" target="_blank"><strong>Department of Human Services</strong></a> is trying to spur some of that innovation by funding pilot projects.&nbsp; Mon, 02 Jun 2014 17:10:30 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 13312 at http://ijpr.org Designing Innovative Programs For Seniors & Disabled Keeping Gray Matter Sharp In Golden Years http://ijpr.org/post/keeping-gray-matter-sharp-golden-years <p></p><p>"School is out completely!"&nbsp; Alice Cooper sang that more than four decades ago, and a few people took the words seriously.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>But whether we seek education or not, we're still learning things as we live, and the process helps keep aging brains supple.&nbsp; Thu, 06 Mar 2014 18:10:20 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 8637 at http://ijpr.org Keeping Gray Matter Sharp In Golden Years Getting Busy AFTER Retirement http://ijpr.org/post/getting-busy-after-retirement <p></p><p>Some people think of retirement as a set of sunny years playing lots of golf.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>Some other people might find that concept of retirement to be something straight out of hell.&nbsp; Mon, 17 Feb 2014 18:10:30 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 7743 at http://ijpr.org Getting Busy AFTER Retirement Helping Seniors Stay Secure http://ijpr.org/post/helping-seniors-stay-secure <p></p><p>It behooves us to think ahead to the days when we are not as sharp mentally as we once were.</p><p></p><p>When you think about it, how will we know we are not being taken advantage of?&nbsp; Wed, 05 Feb 2014 18:10:10 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 7219 at http://ijpr.org Helping Seniors Stay Secure ICE A Cell Phone For Winter http://ijpr.org/post/ice-cell-phone-winter <p></p><p>Mild as it's been so far, there's a lot of winter ahead of us.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>We can expect snow and rain and ice and ICE.&nbsp; Thu, 16 Jan 2014 18:57:00 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 6226 at http://ijpr.org ICE A Cell Phone For Winter Prep For The Later Years: Vital Aging http://ijpr.org/post/prep-later-years-vital-aging <p></p><p>Even people born close to the end of the Baby Boom are receiving offers of membership in AARP.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>The organization will likely swell in members in the coming years.&nbsp; Thu, 14 Nov 2013 18:57:00 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 3058 at http://ijpr.org Prep For The Later Years: Vital Aging Elder Abuse-The Financial Kind http://ijpr.org/post/elder-abuse-financial-kind <p></p><p>The term "elder abuse" is one of those that can raise hackles the moment you hear it.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>Yes, there are examples of physical and emotional abuse. Wed, 13 Nov 2013 18:43:00 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 2977 at http://ijpr.org Elder Abuse-The Financial Kind Meet The Authors: "How To Age In Place" http://ijpr.org/post/meet-authors-how-age-place <p>Call it a senior center or an "old folks' home," few people want to go there to live out the remaining days of their lives, no matter how comfortable.</p><p>Many seniors would prefer to stay in their own homes, a process called aging in place. Mon, 16 Sep 2013 20:55:59 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 276 at http://ijpr.org Meet The Authors: "How To Age In Place"