california http://ijpr.org en Some Federal Court Hearings Going Online http://ijpr.org/post/some-federal-court-hearings-going-online <p>Members of the public can now listen to hearings from the 9th U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals online.</p><p></p><p>The court said Thursday it will offer online access to all of its proceedings beginning with its hearings next week in Pasadena. It's the first time a federal appeals court has provided the service. Fri, 03 Jan 2014 14:55:58 +0000 editor 5650 at http://ijpr.org Some Federal Court Hearings Going Online Driest California Year On Record Imminent http://ijpr.org/post/driest-california-year-record-imminent <p>December has been one of the driest months ever recorded in California, which is spurring some cities and counties in the Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta region to issue water conservation orders earlier than usual.</p><p>The Sacramento Bee reports that the city of Folsom has already imposed a mandatory 20-percent water conservation order, while Sacramento County has asked residents in unincorporated areas to reduce water use by 20 percent.</p> Mon, 30 Dec 2013 14:44:16 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 5428 at http://ijpr.org Alleged Arsonist Arrested In Fatal California Fire http://ijpr.org/post/alleged-arsonist-arrested-fatal-california-fire <p>A man has been arrested for arson for starting two small fires that joined and erupted into the fatal Clover Fire in Northern California in September.</p><p></p><p>Zane Wallace Peterson was arrested Tuesday on several charges, including suspicion of murder, arson on forest lands, and arson causing great bodily injury, according to Scott McLean, a fire captain with the California Department of Forestry and Fire Protection. Wed, 18 Dec 2013 14:18:09 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 4885 at http://ijpr.org Alleged Arsonist Arrested In Fatal California Fire Bringing The Eagle Back From The Edge Of Extinction http://ijpr.org/post/bringing-eagle-back-edge-extinction <p></p><p>The return of the Bald Eagle may be one of the greatest success stories in wildlife management.</p><p></p><p></p><p>And it took a lot of work by a lot of people to bring the eagle back from the edge of extinction.&nbsp; Mon, 16 Dec 2013 19:12:00 +0000 Geoffrey Riley & Charlotte Duren 4650 at http://ijpr.org Bringing The Eagle Back From The Edge Of Extinction California Gets More Time On Prison Overcrowding http://ijpr.org/post/california-gets-more-time-prison-overcrowding <p>California's deadline to cut its prison population has been extended until April 18th.</p><p></p><p>A panel of federal judges previously had moved the deadline to February while a court-appointed mediator works to find a long-term solution with Governor Jerry Brown's administration and attorneys representing inmates. Thu, 12 Dec 2013 14:44:03 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 4567 at http://ijpr.org California Gets More Time On Prison Overcrowding Violence Increasing In California County Jails http://ijpr.org/post/violence-increasing-california-county-jails <p>California County jails have seen a marked increase in violence since they began housing thousands of offenders who previously would have gone to state prisons.</p><p></p><p>Assault records requested by The Associated Press show that many of the 10 counties that account for 70 percent of California's total jail population have experienced a surge in the number of inmate fights and attacks on jail employees. Fri, 29 Nov 2013 13:46:00 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 3890 at http://ijpr.org Violence Increasing In California County Jails Fracking Moratorium Requested http://ijpr.org/post/fracking-moratorium-requested <p>California U.S. Representative Lois Capps has asked for a moratorium on offshore fracking until there's more study. In a letter to the Interior Department and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency this week, Capps says she wants the federal government to conduct a study of fracking's impacts to the marine environment.</p><p>A recent report by the Associated Press documented at least a dozen instances of hydraulic fracturing in the Santa Barbara Channel, site of a disastrous 1969 oil platform blowout that spurred the modern environmental movement.</p> Fri, 22 Nov 2013 14:35:24 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 3553 at http://ijpr.org California University System Approves Budget http://ijpr.org/post/california-university-system-approves-budget <p>The University of California's Board of Regents has approved a proposed budget for next school year that hinges on the state giving the system an additional $120 million for pension cuts, enrollment growth, and improvements to academic programs.</p><p></p><p>The Board of Regents passed the spending plan unanimously at a meeting Thursday. Fri, 15 Nov 2013 14:37:55 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 3153 at http://ijpr.org California University System Approves Budget Toxic Liquids Create Threat For Humboldt Bay http://ijpr.org/post/toxic-liquids-create-threat-humboldt-bay <p>An emergency effort has begun to remove millions of gallons of toxic liquids from an abandoned pulp mill that poses a pollution threat to Humboldt Bay.</p><p></p><p>The Eureka Times-Standard reports that the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency plans to remove more than 4 million gallons of pulping liquors from the old mill site. Mon, 11 Nov 2013 15:30:13 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 2870 at http://ijpr.org Toxic Liquids Create Threat For Humboldt Bay Prison Pepper Spray Use Under Debate http://ijpr.org/post/prison-pepper-spray-use-under-debate <p>Attorneys for California, and those representing prison inmates, are presenting a federal judge with starkly different views of prison guards' use of pepper spray against the mentally ill.</p><p></p><p>At issue in the trial that ended yesterday is whether guards' heavy use of pepper spray against some mentally ill inmates violates prisoners' civil rights. Fri, 08 Nov 2013 14:58:27 +0000 Barbara Dellenback 2760 at http://ijpr.org Prison Pepper Spray Use Under Debate