JPR Classics http://ijpr.org en Labor Conflict May Lock Out Met Opera Workers http://ijpr.org/post/labor-conflict-may-lock-out-met-opera-workers The clock is ticking for the Metropolitan Opera in New York. The world's largest opera company may be headed for a shutdown. Most of the union contracts for the Met expire in a week. Yesterday, Met General Manager Peter Gelb sent a letter to the unions, warning them to prepare for a lockout if they don't come to terms.<p>For months now, the company and its unions have been at an impasse. Management has proposed cutting 16 percent of union members' compensation. Thu, 24 Jul 2014 20:25:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 16463 at http://ijpr.org Labor Conflict May Lock Out Met Opera Workers Carnegie Hall Live: The National Youth Orchestra July 25th at 8pm http://ijpr.org/post/carnegie-hall-live-national-youth-orchestra-july-25th-8pm <p>On Friday night, July 25th at 8pm, JPR's <em>Classics &amp; News Service</em> will broadcast the final concert in the series <em>Carnegie Hall Live</em>, featuring The National Youth Orchestra of the United States of America.</p><p></p><p> Thu, 17 Jul 2014 17:36:56 +0000 Eric Teel 16063 at http://ijpr.org Carnegie Hall Live: The National Youth Orchestra July 25th at 8pm Conductor Lorin Maazel, Who Brought America To The Podium, Dies http://ijpr.org/post/conductor-lorin-maazel-who-brought-america-podium-dies <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=esL_i0nFBaA</p> Sun, 13 Jul 2014 17:41:00 +0000 editor 15824 at http://ijpr.org Conductor Lorin Maazel, Who Brought America To The Podium, Dies New C&N Series - Center Stage From Wolf Trap http://ijpr.org/post/new-cn-series-center-stage-wolf-trap <p>Beginning Sunday evening, July 6th at 7pm, JPR's&nbsp;<em>Classics &amp; News Service</em> will broadcast <em><strong>Center Stage from Wolf Trap</strong></em>, a 26-week series of live performances from <em>The Discovery Series</em> of some of today's finest chamber musicians.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 18 Jun 2014 00:05:24 +0000 Eric Teel 14274 at http://ijpr.org New C&N Series - Center Stage From Wolf Trap University of Oregon Honors Rogue Valley Musician Lynn Sjolund http://ijpr.org/post/university-oregon-honors-rogue-valley-musician-lynn-sjolund <p>The University of Oregon Alumni Association has selected renowned music educator Mr. Lynn Sjolund as its 2014 Distinguished Alumnus, the highest honor the UO bestows upon alumni. &nbsp;Sjolund will be recognized at the university’s Commencement exercises on June 16, and at a dinner for Commencement guests on June 15.<br /> Thu, 05 Jun 2014 23:09:31 +0000 Don Matthews 13657 at http://ijpr.org University of Oregon Honors Rogue Valley Musician Lynn Sjolund How Do You Get Latino Kids Into Classical Music? Bring The Parents http://ijpr.org/post/how-do-you-get-latino-kids-classical-music-bring-parents Outside the concert hall at Occidental College, in Los Angeles' Eagle Rock neighborhood, children are invited to test out the instruments the Santa Cecilia Orchestra will play later. Alexa Media Rodriguez, 8, says she and her family have never before been to an orchestra concert. Tue, 27 May 2014 21:35:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 13111 at http://ijpr.org How Do You Get Latino Kids Into Classical Music? Bring The Parents Carnegie Hall Live: The Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra May 23rd at 8pm http://ijpr.org/post/carnegie-hall-live-bavarian-radio-symphony-orchestra-may-23rd-8pm <p>On Friday night, May 23rd at 8pm, JPR's <em>Classics &amp; News Service</em> will broadcast the next concert in the series Carnegie Hall Live, featuring The Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra.</p><p></p> Thu, 08 May 2014 21:43:19 +0000 Eric Teel 12086 at http://ijpr.org Carnegie Hall Live: The Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra May 23rd at 8pm Played In Oregon To Feature Britt Orchestra May 17th http://ijpr.org/post/played-oregon-feature-britt-orchestra-may-17th <p>On Saturday, May 17th at Played in Oregon will feature a performance of the Symphony No.5 of&nbsp;Dmitri Shostakovich recorded last August at the Britt Festivals in Jacksonville under the direction of then Music Director candidate (and now Music Director) Teddy Abrams.</p><p>Played in Oregon, with host Brandi Parisi, celebrates the music and music makers of the live classical music scene in Oregon. The one-hour weekly program airs every Saturday afternoon at 2pm, following the conclusion of our weekly opera broadcast.</p> Wed, 07 May 2014 18:14:56 +0000 Eric Teel 11997 at http://ijpr.org Played In Oregon To Feature Britt Orchestra May 17th Lyric Opera Of Chicago Returns Sat. May 17th http://ijpr.org/post/lyric-opera-chicago-returns-sat-may-17th <p>Beginning Saturday, May 17th at 10am, JPR&nbsp;welcomes the return of the Lyric Opera of Chicago.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 07 May 2014 17:59:29 +0000 Eric Teel 12004 at http://ijpr.org Lyric Opera Of Chicago Returns Sat. May 17th Bela Fleck Live Session http://ijpr.org/post/bela-fleck-live-session <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Just in case you aren’t familiar with </span>Béla<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Fleck, there are many who say he’s the premiere banjo player in the world. Others claim that </span>Béla<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> has virtually reinvented the image and the sound of the banjo through a remarkable performing and recording career that has taken him all over the musical map and on a range of solo projects and collaborations.</span></p><p> Tue, 29 Apr 2014 22:03:43 +0000 Eric Teel 11593 at http://ijpr.org Bela Fleck Live Session