JPR Classics http://ijpr.org en Alaskan Composer Wins Pulitzer For 'Become Ocean' http://ijpr.org/post/alaskan-composer-wins-pulitzer-become-ocean <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/120995813/john-luther-adams" target="_blank">John Luther Adams</a>, whose music is inspired by — and sometimes <a href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xAk527M-INA">performed in</a> — natural landscapes, has <a href="http://www.pulitzer.org/citation/2014-Music" target="_blank">won the Pulitzer Prize</a> for music for his symphonic work <em>Become Ocean<a href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yGIEvUOf-JU"></a></em>. Sun, 20 Apr 2014 06:06:40 +0000 Tom Huizenga 11041 at http://ijpr.org Alaskan Composer Wins Pulitzer For 'Become Ocean' In The First Violins — At Least For One Night http://ijpr.org/post/first-violins-least-one-night <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tm5BoFihAJw</p> Fri, 28 Mar 2014 06:26:48 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 9862 at http://ijpr.org In The First Violins — At Least For One Night Carnegie Hall Live: The Atlanta Symphony May 2nd at 8pm http://ijpr.org/post/carnegie-hall-live-atlanta-symphony-may-2nd-8pm <p>On Friday night, May 2nd at 8pm, JPR's <em>Classics &amp; News Service</em> will broadcast the next concert in the series <em>Carnegie Hall Live</em>, featuring The Atlanta Symphony.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 26 Mar 2014 17:26:26 +0000 Eric Teel 9744 at http://ijpr.org Carnegie Hall Live: The Atlanta Symphony May 2nd at 8pm New Music from Bowling Green: Sunday Evenings at 7pm http://ijpr.org/post/new-music-bowling-green-sunday-evenings-7pm <p><span style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Georgia, Times, serif; font-size: 15px; line-height: 22px;">JPR's&nbsp;</span><em style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: 0px; font-size: 15px; vertical-align: baseline; color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Georgia, Times, serif; line-height: 22px;">Classics &amp; News Service</em><span style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Georgia, Times, serif; font-size: 15px; line-height: 22px;">&nbsp;presents a special classical series from WFMT called <em>Living American Composers: New Music From Bowling Green</em>, Sunday evenings at 7pm through June.</span></p><p></p><p> Fri, 21 Mar 2014 17:38:49 +0000 Eric Teel 9479 at http://ijpr.org New Music from Bowling Green: Sunday Evenings at 7pm For Opera Powerhouse Dolora Zajick, 'Singing Is Connected To The Body' http://ijpr.org/post/opera-powerhouse-dolora-zajick-singing-connected-body <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4ZNN0VqaSlE</p> Wed, 19 Mar 2014 19:02:00 +0000 editor 9356 at http://ijpr.org For Opera Powerhouse Dolora Zajick, 'Singing Is Connected To The Body' The Soul Of The World's Most Expensive Violin http://ijpr.org/post/soul-worlds-most-expensive-violin <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qa4ZUTWJlKU</p> Sun, 16 Mar 2014 00:48:55 +0000 NPR Staff 9174 at http://ijpr.org The Soul Of The World's Most Expensive Violin Gerard Mortier, A Polarizing Impresario Who Transformed Opera http://ijpr.org/post/gerard-mortier-polarizing-impresario-who-transformed-opera <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bPakF1dNcs8</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AJYN4gSwaaw</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tGDELst-HTU</p> Sun, 16 Mar 2014 00:42:41 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 9173 at http://ijpr.org Gerard Mortier, A Polarizing Impresario Who Transformed Opera Carnegie Hall Live: The English Concert March 21st at 8pm http://ijpr.org/post/carnegie-hall-live-english-concert-march-21st-8pm <p>On Friday night, March 21st at 8pm, JPR's <em>Classics &amp; News Service</em> will broadcast the next concert in the series <em>Carnegie Hall Live</em>, featuring The English Concert.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p> Thu, 06 Mar 2014 23:57:35 +0000 Eric Teel 8717 at http://ijpr.org Carnegie Hall Live: The English Concert March 21st at 8pm Gil Shaham And When The World 'Got Much Smaller, Much Faster' http://ijpr.org/post/gil-shaham-and-when-world-got-much-smaller-much-faster <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vZciu9vFJwY</p> Tue, 25 Feb 2014 01:00:42 +0000 NPR Staff 8204 at http://ijpr.org Gil Shaham And When The World 'Got Much Smaller, Much Faster' Carnegie Hall Live: Philadelphia Orchestra Feb 28th at 8pm http://ijpr.org/post/carnegie-hall-live-philadelphia-orchestra-feb-28th-8pm <p>On Friday night, February 28th at&nbsp;8pm,&nbsp;JPR's&nbsp;<em>Classics &amp; News Service</em>&nbsp;will broadcast the next concert in the series&nbsp;<em>Carnegie Hall Live</em>, featuring The Philadelphia Orchestra under the direction of Yannick&nbsp;Nézet-Séguin.</p><p></p><p> Mon, 17 Feb 2014 07:34:04 +0000 Eric Teel 7827 at http://ijpr.org Carnegie Hall Live: Philadelphia Orchestra Feb 28th at 8pm