JPR Classics http://ijpr.org en Syrian Clarinetist Finds A Home For His Music http://ijpr.org/post/syrian-clarinetist-finds-home-his-music Syrian clarinetist <strong>Kinan Azmeh</strong> currently lives in New York, but he grew up in Damascus. Until recently, Azmeh traveled regularly back and forth to his homeland, before it became too dangerous.<p>In 2011, after protesters were killed in the streets in Syria, Azmeh stopped composing and started to question the role of his music. Thu, 21 Aug 2014 22:56:35 +0000 editor 18005 at http://ijpr.org Syrian Clarinetist Finds A Home For His Music A Perfectly Cromulent Classical Guide To 'The Simpsons' Marathon http://ijpr.org/post/perfectly-cromulent-classical-guide-simpsons-marathon <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fG3VoX52nmk</p> Thu, 21 Aug 2014 14:18:38 +0000 Mark Mobley 17960 at http://ijpr.org A Perfectly Cromulent Classical Guide To 'The Simpsons' Marathon Masters And Disasters: The Met Opera Quiz http://ijpr.org/post/masters-and-disasters-met-opera-quiz Now that the embattled Metropolitan Opera has surmounted most of its labor squabbles, it's time to take a break from reading about the rancorous negotiations. See how many of these nerdworthy Met questions you can answer. Score high and bellow out your best Wagnerian <a href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tAo_fTiZ2hY" target="_blank">"Hojotoho!"</a> Score low and start learning the <a href="https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=kozlovsky+simpleton" target="_blank">"Simpleton's aria"</a> from <em>Boris Godunov</em>. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Wed, 20 Aug 2014 20:30:39 +0000 Tom Huizenga 17931 at http://ijpr.org Masters And Disasters: The Met Opera Quiz With Both Farce And Feeling, Currentzis' 'Figaro' Succeeds Magnificently http://ijpr.org/post/both-farce-and-feeling-currentzis-figaro-succeeds-magnificently There are many recordings of Mozart's <em>The Marriage of Figaro. </em>Do we need another? In the case of this new recording led by the young Greek conductor Teodor Currentzis, <em>Fresh Air</em> classical music critic Lloyd Schwartz says, "Absolutely." <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Tue, 19 Aug 2014 19:03:00 +0000 Lloyd Schwartz 17855 at http://ijpr.org Met Opera Tentatively Settles With 2 Major Unions http://ijpr.org/post/met-opera-tentatively-settles-2-major-unions A labor crisis threatening to shut down New York's Metropolitan Opera — the largest opera house in the world — appears to have been averted. Two of the major unions announced a tentative settlement this morning. While agreements with 10 additional unions need to be reached by Tuesday night, this represents a major turning point in a bitter dispute.<p>The Met's labor problems have played out, for the most part, in the press, with acrimonious statements from both management and unions substituting for actual bargaining sessions. Mon, 18 Aug 2014 21:14:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 17819 at http://ijpr.org Met Opera Tentatively Settles With 2 Major Unions Meet The Cast Of The Met Opera's Labor Drama http://ijpr.org/post/meet-cast-met-operas-labor-drama Think opera plots are tough to follow? Try wading through <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/deceptivecadence/2014/07/31/336586571/on-the-eve-of-a-possible-lockout-met-opera-talks-remain-contentious" target="_blank">the complicated drama</a> playing out offstage at the Metropolitan Opera. At its most basic, it's the story of management and labor unions fighting over a supposedly dwindling pot of money. Mon, 18 Aug 2014 20:48:36 +0000 Tom Huizenga 17812 at http://ijpr.org Meet The Cast Of The Met Opera's Labor Drama Centenarian Soprano Licia Albanese Dies http://ijpr.org/post/centenarian-soprano-licia-albanese-dies <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gZINNVrgXec</p> Mon, 18 Aug 2014 14:57:06 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 17779 at http://ijpr.org Centenarian Soprano Licia Albanese Dies New Deadline For Met Opera Negotiations: Sunday http://ijpr.org/post/new-deadline-met-opera-negotiations-sunday <p class="story-body-text" itemprop="articleBody" style="margin-bottom: 1em; font-size: 16px; line-height: 1.4375rem; font-family: georgia, 'times new roman', times, serif; max-width: 540px; color: rgb(51, 51, 51);">With a little more than a month before the MET opera season opens, management has set Sunday night as a new deadline for reaching an agreement. The company has been threatening to lock out its workers if they do not agree to concessions. &nbsp;</p> Fri, 15 Aug 2014 18:07:20 +0000 Don Matthews 17668 at http://ijpr.org Soul-Searching Music From A Serene Desert Monastery http://ijpr.org/post/soul-searching-music-serene-desert-monastery Inspiration can come from unlikely places. For composer Robert Kyr, the silence of a desert monastery is key to the radiant music on his new disc of recent choral works performed by the vocal ensemble Conspirare and its director Craig Hella Johnson.<p>Kyr travels frequently to the Monastery of Christ in the Desert, in northern New Mexico, from his home in Eugene, Ore., where he teaches composition at the University of Oregon. Thu, 14 Aug 2014 18:46:28 +0000 Tom Huizenga 17602 at http://ijpr.org Soul-Searching Music From A Serene Desert Monastery Read These While They're Still Free http://ijpr.org/post/read-these-while-theyre-still-free Last month, <em>The New Yorker</em> <a href="http://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2014/07/28/note-readers" target="_blank">announced</a> that it was teasing a new "freemium" version of its website (which launches this fall) with an alluring proposition. All of its most recent pieces, plus the full archives back to 2007 and some even older selections, are free for the rest of the summer.<p>So we took this opportunity to dig up some delicious classical music-minded pieces from the magazine's archives. Tue, 12 Aug 2014 16:46:45 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 17455 at http://ijpr.org Read These While They're Still Free Beethoven's 'Eroica,' A Bizarre Revelation Of Personality http://ijpr.org/post/beethovens-eroica-bizarre-revelation-personality As <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15232481/ludwig-van-beethoven" target="_blank">Beethoven</a> set about composing his Third Symphony, his hearing was failing and he felt certain his life was about to get worse. That it was born in a moment of despair may help explain why the finished work, for all its grandeur, is extremely odd — employing devices that are by turns aggressive and mundane, somber and practically danceable.<p>The piece also called the<em> Eroica</em> is one of many covered in Jan Swafford's massive new biography, <em>Beethoven: Anguish and Triumph</em>. Tue, 05 Aug 2014 18:18:12 +0000 NPR Staff 17088 at http://ijpr.org Beethoven's 'Eroica,' A Bizarre Revelation Of Personality Met Opera's Union Lockout Postponed; Financial Analysis To Come http://ijpr.org/post/met-operas-union-lockout-postponed-financial-analysis-come Labor negotiations for New York's Metropolitan Opera took a surprising turn Saturday evening. Twelve of the opera's 16 unions faced the threat of a lockout at midnight Sunday, but negotiations were put on hold for a week while an outside analyst takes a look at the Met's finances.<p>For months now, unions representing Met employees have been negotiating with the company's leadership, and both sides have been extremely vocal in the press. This past Friday, musicians and singers rallied and performed outside the Met's Lincoln Center home. Sun, 03 Aug 2014 21:04:00 +0000 Sam Sanders 16999 at http://ijpr.org Met Opera's Union Lockout Postponed; Financial Analysis To Come On The Eve Of A Possible Lockout, Met Opera Talks Remain Contentious http://ijpr.org/post/eve-possible-lockout-met-opera-talks-remain-contentious At the Metropolitan Opera, drama is usually onstage. But for the past several months, it's been in the newspapers.<p>Contract deadlines for 15 of the 16 unions at the Met in New York are set to expire at midnight tonight, and negotiations will likely go down to the wire. A lockout shutting down the world's largest opera house seems imminent.<p>Management wants concessions from the unions to offset dwindling ticket sales. Thu, 31 Jul 2014 14:05:18 +0000 Jeff Lunden 16827 at http://ijpr.org On The Eve Of A Possible Lockout, Met Opera Talks Remain Contentious Labor Conflict May Lock Out Met Opera Workers http://ijpr.org/post/labor-conflict-may-lock-out-met-opera-workers The clock is ticking for the Metropolitan Opera in New York. The world's largest opera company may be headed for a shutdown. Most of the union contracts for the Met expire in a week. Yesterday, Met General Manager Peter Gelb sent a letter to the unions, warning them to prepare for a lockout if they don't come to terms.<p>For months now, the company and its unions have been at an impasse. Management has proposed cutting 16 percent of union members' compensation. Thu, 24 Jul 2014 20:25:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 16463 at http://ijpr.org Labor Conflict May Lock Out Met Opera Workers Carnegie Hall Live: The National Youth Orchestra July 25th at 8pm http://ijpr.org/post/carnegie-hall-live-national-youth-orchestra-july-25th-8pm <p>On Friday night, July 25th at 8pm, JPR's <em>Classics &amp; News Service</em> will broadcast the final concert in the series <em>Carnegie Hall Live</em>, featuring The National Youth Orchestra of the United States of America.</p><p></p><p> Thu, 17 Jul 2014 17:36:56 +0000 Eric Teel 16063 at http://ijpr.org Carnegie Hall Live: The National Youth Orchestra July 25th at 8pm Conductor Lorin Maazel, Who Brought America To The Podium, Dies http://ijpr.org/post/conductor-lorin-maazel-who-brought-america-podium-dies <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=esL_i0nFBaA</p> Sun, 13 Jul 2014 17:41:00 +0000 editor 15824 at http://ijpr.org Conductor Lorin Maazel, Who Brought America To The Podium, Dies New C&N Series - Center Stage From Wolf Trap http://ijpr.org/post/new-cn-series-center-stage-wolf-trap <p>Beginning Sunday evening, July 6th at 7pm, JPR's&nbsp;<em>Classics &amp; News Service</em> will broadcast <em><strong>Center Stage from Wolf Trap</strong></em>, a 26-week series of live performances from <em>The Discovery Series</em> of some of today's finest chamber musicians.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 18 Jun 2014 00:05:24 +0000 Eric Teel 14274 at http://ijpr.org New C&N Series - Center Stage From Wolf Trap University of Oregon Honors Rogue Valley Musician Lynn Sjolund http://ijpr.org/post/university-oregon-honors-rogue-valley-musician-lynn-sjolund <p>The University of Oregon Alumni Association has selected renowned music educator Mr. Lynn Sjolund as its 2014 Distinguished Alumnus, the highest honor the UO bestows upon alumni. &nbsp;Sjolund will be recognized at the university’s Commencement exercises on June 16, and at a dinner for Commencement guests on June 15.<br /> Thu, 05 Jun 2014 23:09:31 +0000 Don Matthews 13657 at http://ijpr.org University of Oregon Honors Rogue Valley Musician Lynn Sjolund How Do You Get Latino Kids Into Classical Music? Bring The Parents http://ijpr.org/post/how-do-you-get-latino-kids-classical-music-bring-parents Outside the concert hall at Occidental College, in Los Angeles' Eagle Rock neighborhood, children are invited to test out the instruments the Santa Cecilia Orchestra will play later. Alexa Media Rodriguez, 8, says she and her family have never before been to an orchestra concert. Tue, 27 May 2014 21:35:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 13111 at http://ijpr.org How Do You Get Latino Kids Into Classical Music? Bring The Parents Carnegie Hall Live: The Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra May 23rd at 8pm http://ijpr.org/post/carnegie-hall-live-bavarian-radio-symphony-orchestra-may-23rd-8pm <p>On Friday night, May 23rd at 8pm, JPR's <em>Classics &amp; News Service</em> will broadcast the next concert in the series Carnegie Hall Live, featuring The Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra.</p><p></p> Thu, 08 May 2014 21:43:19 +0000 Eric Teel 12086 at http://ijpr.org Carnegie Hall Live: The Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra May 23rd at 8pm