Kernan Turner http://ijpr.org en Electrified Railways Link Medford and Jacksonville http://ijpr.org/post/electrified-railways-link-medford-and-jacksonville <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>There was a time when electrified railways ran through downtown Medford and connected Medford with Jacksonville.&nbsp; Those tracks are long gone today.</p><p> Wed, 09 Apr 2014 15:47:00 +0000 Kernan Turner 9729 at http://ijpr.org Frontiersmen Push Rogue Indians to Near Extinction http://ijpr.org/post/frontiersmen-push-rogue-indians-near-extinction <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>When the first frontiersmen arrived in 1851, there were some 9,500 Indians living in the Rogue Valley. &nbsp;At the end of the Rogue Indian Wars six years later, only 2,000 Indians were left. &nbsp;Stephan Dow Beckham’s classic book titled Requiem for a People says the Indians’ near extinction resulted from the Euro-Americans’ diseases, vices, technology and racial prejudice.</div><p> Wed, 29 Jan 2014 22:48:02 +0000 Kernan Turner 4923 at http://ijpr.org World War II Servicemen Frequent Southern Oregon Brothels http://ijpr.org/post/world-war-ii-servicemen-frequent-southern-oregon-brothels <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">As tens of thousands of servicemen filled Oregon military bases during World War II, prostitution boomed in nearby towns. &nbsp;Officials warned that it took only a few venereal-disease infected prostitutes to create a health hazard, often spread to the general population by so-called </span>“khaki-wackey<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> girls” cozy with infected soldiers.</span></p><p> Mon, 27 Jan 2014 22:48:37 +0000 Kernan Turner 4921 at http://ijpr.org Two Immigrant Photographers Record Modoc War of 1872-73 http://ijpr.org/post/two-immigrant-photographers-record-modoc-war-1872-73 <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Two early photographers, Eadweard [cq] A. Muybridge of San Francisco and Louis Herman Heller of Yreka, covered the Modoc War in 1872-73 in Northeast California between Captain Jack’s small band of Indians and the U.S. Army.</div><p> Tue, 21 Jan 2014 19:07:00 +0000 Kernan Turner 4914 at http://ijpr.org Globetrotting Writer Describes Miserable Night in an Indian Hut http://ijpr.org/post/globetrotting-writer-describes-miserable-night-indian-hut <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Try to imagine a 57-year-old Viennese woman, drenched from the rain, seeking shelter in 1853 in a remote Smith River Indian Village northeast of newly founded Crescent City, Calif.</div><p> Wed, 08 Jan 2014 17:26:00 +0000 Kernan Turner 4896 at http://ijpr.org Mysterious Wanderer Gives Yoncalla Indians Biblical Names http://ijpr.org/post/mysterious-wanderer-gives-yoncalla-indians-biblical-names <p></p><div>A son of Oregon trailblazer Lindsey Applegate named Jesse Applegate Applegate (yes, that’s right: his middle and last names were the same) was an author, teacher and amateur ethnographer. &nbsp;As a youth in the 1850s, he made close friends with the Indians near his family home in the Yoncalla Valley, which the Indians called Splashta Alla, the Valley of the Birds.</div><p> Fri, 22 Nov 2013 18:11:00 +0000 Kernan Turner 1826 at http://ijpr.org Woman Describes Six-Day Road Trip to California in 1922 http://ijpr.org/post/woman-describes-six-day-road-trip-california-1922 <p></p><h1>Sixty-nine years later, Marjorie H. Gardner described a road trip in 1922 from Eugene, Ore., to San Francisco, Calif.&nbsp; Her family drove a Willys-Overland automobile and a Hupmobile, open touring cars with imitation leather seats and flapping side curtains.&nbsp; Still under construction, Highway 99’s detours went through farm yards and badlands and over corduroy roads, wagon ruts and Indian trails. Thu, 14 Nov 2013 17:41:00 +0000 Kernan Turner 1812 at http://ijpr.org Largest Earthquake Since 1873 Strikes Klamath Falls http://ijpr.org/post/largest-earthquake-1873-strikes-klamath-falls <p></p><div>On Sept. 21, 1993, the largest earthquake in Oregon since 1873 struck Klamath Falls in the form of two pre-dawn, 6-magnitude shocks within an hour and 17 minutes of each other. &nbsp;They were felt as far north as Eugene and as far south as Chico, Calif. &nbsp;A rock-fall boulder crushed a car on Hwy 97, killing the driver, and another person died of a heart attack. The violent shaking caused some $10 million in damages to 1,000 homes and other buildings, among them the county courthouse.</div><p> Fri, 08 Nov 2013 17:08:00 +0000 Kernan Turner 1808 at http://ijpr.org Oregon Archaeologists Discover Earliest North American Culture http://ijpr.org/post/oregon-archaeologists-discover-earliest-north-american-culture <p></p><div>When in 1939 University of Oregon scientist Luther Cressman discovered the remains of bison, camels, horses and other ancient animals in the Paisley Caves next to Summer Lake, Ore., few anthropologists accepted the findings for lack of documentation.</div><p> Mon, 04 Nov 2013 16:23:00 +0000 Kernan Turner 1797 at http://ijpr.org Klamath Indians View Crater Lake as More than a Rain-filled Caldera http://ijpr.org/post/klamath-indians-view-crater-lake-more-rain-filled-caldera <div></div><div>Fendel Sutherlin took out a donation land claim in Camas Swale in Douglas County, Ore., in the early 1850s. &nbsp;By 1901, Fendel’s daughter Anne Waite inherited his several thousand acres of land, and determined to establish a town in her father’s honor.</div><div>&nbsp;</div><div> Fri, 13 Sep 2013 20:47:59 +0000 Kernan Turner 212 at http://ijpr.org