Kernan Turner http://ijpr.org en Theodore Stern Becomes Leading Scholar on Klamath Indians http://ijpr.org/post/theodore-stern-becomes-leading-scholar-klamath-indians <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Ten years ago the Umatilla Indian Tribe of Eastern Oregon declared July 29 “Dr. Theodore Stern Day” in honor of the leading scholar on the linguistics and anthropology of the Klamath and Nez Perce people. &nbsp;</div><div> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 18:47:46 +0000 Kernan Turner 14701 at http://ijpr.org Glenn Jackson Leaves Legacy of Service to Oregon http://ijpr.org/post/glenn-jackson-leaves-legacy-service-oregon <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Described as “arguably the most powerful nonelected citizen in Oregon history,” Glenn Jackson left his mark on Southern Oregon.</div><div> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 17:49:41 +0000 Kernan Turner 14686 at http://ijpr.org Visionary Pushes for Highway from Canada to Mexico http://ijpr.org/post/visionary-pushes-highway-canada-mexico <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Motorists headed from the Rogue Valley to Northern California and beyond owe a debt of gratitude to Sam Hill, who joined around 1910 with Canadian A.E. Todd to form the Pacific Highway Association. &nbsp;The association advocated for a 1,600-mile, hard-surfaced highway from British Columbia to the Mexican border.</div><div> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 17:13:50 +0000 Kernan Turner 14695 at http://ijpr.org Indians Trace Roots to Marriage between Grizz;y Bear and Daughter of Great Spirit http://ijpr.org/post/indians-trace-roots-marriage-between-grizzy-bear-and-daughter-great-spirit <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>&nbsp;In his 1873 book titled Life Among the Modocs, Joaquin Miller related that the Shasta Indian creation myth told of how grizzly bears once walked on two legs, talked, fought with clubs, and possessed all the land from Mount Shasta to the sea.</div><p> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 17:48:32 +0000 Kernan Turner 13162 at http://ijpr.org Old-timer Tells How Whiskey Creek Got Its Name http://ijpr.org/post/old-timer-tells-how-whiskey-creek-got-its-name <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>There are several versions of how Whiskey Creek along the Rogue River got its name, but 96-year-old Frances Pearson had no doubts when she was interviewed for an oral history collection in 1981. “I know the exact truth of that one,” the retired teacher said.</div><p> Thu, 29 May 2014 17:43:00 +0000 Kernan Turner 11248 at http://ijpr.org Narrow Bauge Railway Runs beetween Reno and Prineville, Ore. http://ijpr.org/post/narrow-bauge-railway-runs-beetween-reno-and-prineville-ore <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>What would become one of the longest narrow-gauge railroads in the United States was incorporated in 1888 as the Nevada-California-Oregon Railway, better known as the N-C-O. &nbsp;Some passengers insisted N-C-O stood for the “Northern California Outrage” or the “Narrow, Crooked, and Ornery.”</div><div> Mon, 26 May 2014 17:31:00 +0000 Kernan Turner 11241 at http://ijpr.org Modoc County Approves Yet Another Border Alignment http://ijpr.org/post/modoc-county-approves-yet-another-border-alignment <p></p><p style="margin-left:4.5pt;">&nbsp;</p><p style="margin-left:4.5pt;">The land doesn’t move, but the boundaries that enclose Modoc County, Calif., and its population of 9,686 have shifted many times, more than for any other California county.</p><p> Tue, 20 May 2014 17:12:00 +0000 Kernan Turner 11237 at http://ijpr.org Emigrants Headed to Oregon Run for Election http://ijpr.org/post/emigrants-headed-oregon-run-election <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;</span></p><p style="line-height:150%;tab-stops:4.5pt">Estimates vary widely on how many emigrants gathered in Jackson County, Missouri, in the spring of 1843 to organize a wagon train to Oregon.&nbsp; There were at least 500, and one pioneer said the party “numbered over one thousand souls, with one hundred and twenty wagons drawn by ox teams and over three thousand head of loose cattle and horses."<o:p></o:p></p><p> Fri, 09 May 2014 16:28:00 +0000 Kernan Turner 11227 at http://ijpr.org Chief John Fights to Stay on His Homeland http://ijpr.org/post/chief-john-fights-stay-his-homeland <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>A year after defeating the U.S. Army in the Battle of Hungry Hill in 1855, Tecumtum, the Indian leader known as Chief John, declared he wanted to live in peace with the white man, but would fight rather than be forced onto a reservation.</div><p> Mon, 05 May 2014 15:26:00 +0000 Kernan Turner 11218 at http://ijpr.org SOU Herbarium Rediscovers Donated Plant Collection http://ijpr.org/post/sou-herbarium-rediscovers-donated-plant-collection <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>The Southern Oregon University Herbarium was long neglected when botanist Frank Callahan offered in 2012 to clean and organize its collection of nearly 24,000 specimens.</div><p> Wed, 23 Apr 2014 16:46:00 +0000 Kernan Turner 9746 at http://ijpr.org