Dmitri Shockey http://ijpr.org en Railroad Baron Throws Axe at Medford Mayor http://ijpr.org/post/railroad-baron-throws-axe-medford-mayor <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>By 1908 W.S. Barnum, president of the Rogue River Valley Railroad, had made a fortune providing public transportation in the valley. &nbsp;</div><p> Tue, 22 Apr 2014 16:44:00 +0000 Dmitri Shockey 9745 at http://ijpr.org Popular Priest Shares Whiskey with Waldo, Ore., Miners http://ijpr.org/post/popular-priest-shares-whiskey-waldo-ore-miners <p></p><p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>French-Canadian Priest X.F. Blanchard, may have been about the only man of God that the hard-drinking miners of Waldo were happy to see.&nbsp;</div><p> Thu, 10 Apr 2014 15:50:00 +0000 Dmitri Shockey 9730 at http://ijpr.org Medford Turns All Out for Baseball between the "Fats" and the "Leans" http://ijpr.org/post/medford-turns-all-out-baseball-between-fats-and-leans <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>&nbsp;</div><div>In June of 1911, the city of Medford held a comically named and well advertised baseball game. For weeks the Medford Sun and Medford Mail Tribune promoted the game between the “Fats” and the “Leans.” &nbsp;One newspaper declared, “If you're fat you'll get lean and if you're lean you'll get your money's worth.”</div><div> Thu, 13 Mar 2014 16:31:00 +0000 Dmitri Shockey 8293 at http://ijpr.org Kenneth Ford Founds Roseburg Lumber Company in 1936 http://ijpr.org/post/kenneth-ford-founds-roseburg-lumber-company-1936 <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Founded in 1936 by Kenneth Ford, with old equipment and 25 men, the Roseburg Lumber Company was poised for rapid expansion when the demand for lumber exploded during the post-World War II housing boom. Since then it has grown into the largest family-held forest products company in the country.&nbsp;</div><div> Tue, 18 Feb 2014 22:12:15 +0000 Dmitri Shockey 6539 at http://ijpr.org Rogue Theater Brightens Grants Pass, Ore., During Great Depression http://ijpr.org/post/rogue-theater-brightens-grants-pass-ore-during-great-depression <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>At a time when Grants Pass and the country as a whole was gripped by the Great Depression, the Grants Pass Entertainment Co. cheered up Grants Pass by commissioning the Rogue Theatre.</div><p> Fri, 31 Jan 2014 22:45:23 +0000 Dmitri Shockey 4925 at http://ijpr.org Roseburg Politician Avoids Conviction in Oregon Land Frauds Scandal http://ijpr.org/post/roseburg-politician-avoids-conviction-oregon-land-frauds-scandal <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Roseburg, Ore., attorney Binger Hermann emigrated in 1850 from Baltimore to Oregon, where he became a state senator, tax collector, judge advocate in the Oregon militia, and by 1884, Oregon’s sole representative in the U.S. Congress.</div><p> Fri, 06 Dec 2013 18:21:00 +0000 Dmitri Shockey 3482 at http://ijpr.org Schooner Runs Aground Seeking Rogue River http://ijpr.org/post/schooner-runs-aground-seeking-rogue-river <p></p><div>Lester Hulin came West during the spring of 1847 dreaming of the riches to be found in Southern Oregon and California. The first record of his being in Oregon was a job in Corvallis, and he participated in the Cayuse Indian War that resulted from the massacre at the Whitman mission near present-day Walla Walla, Wash.</div><p> Fri, 29 Nov 2013 18:49:00 +0000 Dmitri Shockey 1831 at http://ijpr.org Captain Jumps When Steamboat Hits Rocks http://ijpr.org/post/captain-jumps-when-steamboat-hits-rocks <div></div><div>The S.S. South Portland &nbsp;had a varied career as a west Indian trader and smuggling ship before running into the rocks and sinking off the coast of Cape Blanco, Ore.</div><div>&nbsp;</div><div> Thu, 19 Sep 2013 21:00:39 +0000 Dmitri Shockey 216 at http://ijpr.org Aging Steam-Schooner Disappears Off Cape Blanco http://ijpr.org/post/aging-steam-schooner-disappears-cape-blanco <div><div><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>In September 1930, a ship bound from Crescent City, Calif., to Coos Bay, Ore., vanished before reaching its destination.</div><div>&nbsp;</div><div> Tue, 17 Sep 2013 20:55:50 +0000 Dmitri Shockey 214 at http://ijpr.org