Christopher Shockey http://ijpr.org en Radical Speaker Attracts Northern California Workers and Socialists http://ijpr.org/post/radical-speaker-attracts-northern-california-workers-and-socialists <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>One of his generation’s most radical union leaders, Utah-born William “Big Bill” Hayward filled the halls with Socialists and workers for a series of speeches in March 1909 in the towns of Eureka, Fortuna and Arcata, Calif. &nbsp;</div><div> Tue, 25 Mar 2014 17:17:00 +0000 Christopher Shockey 8303 at http://ijpr.org Pinehurst School History Dates Back to 1908 http://ijpr.org/post/pinehurst-school-history-dates-back-1908 <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>In 1908, neighbors eager to educate their children in the Green Springs area about 20 miles east of Ashland Ore., worked together to build a one-room schoolhouse along the Emigrant Trail. A path led to a “one-holer” out back. &nbsp;The school, named after nearby Beaver Creek, had two-seater desks, a wood stove, a water bucket and dipper, and a blackboard. &nbsp;Soon, it was remodeled to state standards, including an upgraded wood stove.</div><p> Thu, 27 Feb 2014 21:56:47 +0000 Christopher Shockey 6553 at http://ijpr.org Oregon Moonshiner Seeks Welcome in China http://ijpr.org/post/oregon-moonshiner-seeks-welcome-china <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>In his report in 1876, the U.S. Internal Revenue Commissioner described moonshiners as “unlettered men of desperate character, armed and ready to resist the officers of the law.” &nbsp;For the neighbors of Harry Scott of Derby, Ore., the description fit to a T. &nbsp;</div><p> Tue, 11 Feb 2014 22:39:31 +0000 Christopher Shockey 6532 at http://ijpr.org Derby Store Offers Everything from Groceries to Clothing http://ijpr.org/post/derby-store-offers-everything-groceries-clothing <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Traveling between the Oregon towns of Eagle Point and Butte Falls today is a scenic 30-minute drive along Butte Falls Highway. A century ago the route was a single-wagon trail, choked with dust in the summers and wheel-trapping mud in the winters. The only reprieve was the small town of Derby, which was centered about half way between Eagle Point and Butte Falls and about eight miles north of the junction at Hwy 62. &nbsp;</span></p><div> Tue, 04 Feb 2014 22:40:47 +0000 Christopher Shockey 6524 at http://ijpr.org Lumber Baron Starts Anew in Green Springs East of Ashland, Ore. http://ijpr.org/post/lumber-baron-starts-anew-green-springs-east-ashland-ore <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Starting out at age 17 as a horse trader, James Everett Henry spent a lifetime building a lumber empire, buying forests in his native New Hampshire, building lumber and paper mills and power stations to run them and railroads to ship their products. &nbsp;In his late 70s he retired around 1908 and handed his business empire to his three sons. They sold the business for millions in 1917, and one of them, John H. Henry, &nbsp;retired to Pasadena, Calif., with his wife, daughter and son, John B. Henry.</span></p><p> Fri, 24 Jan 2014 22:48:58 +0000 Christopher Shockey 4917 at http://ijpr.org Early Christmas Shopping Has Its Advocates http://ijpr.org/post/early-christmas-shopping-has-its-advocates <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Early Christmas advertising in Southern Oregon and Northern California is nothing new; it has been around since the late </span>1800s<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> when some ads popped up even before Halloween. It got a boost in 1903 when the socialist co-founder of the NAACP, Florence Kelley, wrote a widely published essay advocating early shopping in support of her crusade for child labor laws and an eight-hour workday.</span></p><p> Fri, 13 Dec 2013 19:09:00 +0000 Christopher Shockey 3493 at http://ijpr.org Car Thieves Caught in Ashland Bottleneck http://ijpr.org/post/car-thieves-caught-ashland-bottleneck <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>He was visiting relatives in Medford when G. H. Smith heard a familiar sound outside their home. &nbsp;It was his brand new 1919 Dodge Roadster starting up and driving away.</div><p> Tue, 03 Dec 2013 17:45:00 +0000 Christopher Shockey 3471 at http://ijpr.org Robbery in Hilt, Calif., Nets $150 and $1,500 Diamond Ring http://ijpr.org/post/robbery-hilt-calif-nets-150-and-1500-diamond-ring <p></p><div>Victor Eugene “Slim” Warrens knew how to run a profitable saloon and he was fond of diamonds. &nbsp;He didn’t take kindly to being robbed.</div><p> Thu, 28 Nov 2013 18:43:00 +0000 Christopher Shockey 1830 at http://ijpr.org War's End Brings Bad News for Ashland Family http://ijpr.org/post/wars-end-brings-bad-news-ashland-family <p></p><div>The front page of the Ashland Tidings on Tuesday, Nov. 12, 1918, caught up with the news that the small Oregon town had longed for. &nbsp;The headline read: “The War is Over – Germany Accepts Allies Peace Terms at 12 O’clock Sunday Night.”</div><p> Mon, 11 Nov 2013 17:12:00 +0000 Christopher Shockey 1809 at http://ijpr.org Tehama County Chinese Develop Truck Garden Companies http://ijpr.org/post/tehama-county-chinese-develop-truck-garden-companies <p></p><p>As It Was - Episode 2267</p><p></p> Wed, 30 Oct 2013 18:21:00 +0000 Christopher Shockey 422 at http://ijpr.org