Dennis M. Powers http://ijpr.org en Grants Pass Boatnik Festival Raises Money for Community Programs http://ijpr.org/post/grants-pass-boatnik-festival-raises-money-community-programs <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Since 1959, the Grants Pass Active Club has held its annual, five-day Boatnik festival along the Rogue River on Memorial Day weekend.&nbsp;</div><div> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 18:45:27 +0000 Dennis M. Powers 14700 at http://ijpr.org Eden Valley Orachards Offers Wine and Jazz http://ijpr.org/post/eden-valley-orachards-offers-wine-and-jazz <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Early orchardist Joseph H. Stewart paid pioneer photographer-horticulturalist Peter Britt $5,400 in 1885 for a house and acreage in southwest Medford, Ore. It was a tidy sum at the time.</div><div> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 17:41:20 +0000 Dennis M. Powers 14684 at http://ijpr.org Forensic Scientists Leads Authorities to the D'Autremont Brothers http://ijpr.org/post/forensic-scientists-leads-authorities-dautremont-brothers <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>The botched train robbery at Tunnel 13 in the Siskiyou Mountains on Oct. 11, 1923, left four people dead and mangled car remains. &nbsp;To authorities, it was maddening that the crime couldn’t be solved.</div><div> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 18:17:57 +0000 Dennis M. Powers 13167 at http://ijpr.org Star Athlete Supports Southern Oregon Nonprofits http://ijpr.org/post/star-athlete-supports-southern-oregon-nonprofits <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>&nbsp;A star football player at Ashland High School, where he graduated in 1991, Chad Cota went on to play 43 consecutive games at the University of Oregon. &nbsp;He provided defense in the backfield for four years as the U of O’s strong safety, and received the Bill Hayward Award as the state’s top amateur male athlete.</div><div> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 17:51:12 +0000 Dennis M. Powers 13165 at http://ijpr.org Doug and Becky Neuman Restore Southern Oregon Hotels http://ijpr.org/post/doug-and-becky-neuman-restore-southern-oregon-hotels <p></p><p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Built in 1925, the once elegant, nine-story Ashland Springs Hotel had fallen into disrepair and bankruptcy when Doug and Becky Neuman purchased it in 1998. &nbsp;They spent millions of dollars in restoration and reopened it with a new restaurant and spa. &nbsp;</div><p> Fri, 06 Jun 2014 15:49:00 +0000 Dennis M. Powers 13147 at http://ijpr.org Lithia Motors Sells 14 Cars the Year It Opens in 1946 http://ijpr.org/post/lithia-motors-sells-14-cars-year-it-opens-1946 <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>The first year after Walt DeBoer started Lithia Motors in Ashland, Ore., in 1946, he sold 14 cars. Today’s sales are measured in billions of dollars.</div><div> Thu, 22 May 2014 17:24:00 +0000 Dennis M. Powers 11239 at http://ijpr.org Author Con Sellers Raise Horses, Teaches in Grants Pass http://ijpr.org/post/author-con-sellers-raise-horses-teaches-grants-pass <p></p><p align="center">&nbsp;</p><p>Born in 1922 in rural Mississippi, Con Sellers enlisted after high school in the Army, where for 16 years he edited Army newspapers and also served as a combat correspondent during the Korean War.</p><p> Thu, 08 May 2014 16:14:00 +0000 Dennis M. Powers 11223 at http://ijpr.org Medford Bowler Becomes One of the 50 Greatest of All Time http://ijpr.org/post/medford-bowler-becomes-one-50-greatest-all-time <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Marshall Holman’s first bowling score was a 71. He was only 12 and he considered it “mediocre.” &nbsp;Attending high school in Medford, he began studying the top local players and adopting their best styles. Seeking stronger competition at age 17, he began driving on weekends in the early 1970s to Portland or Seattle. &nbsp;Despite his father’s protests that Holman was wasting time, he persevered and started winning.</span></p><p> Tue, 06 May 2014 15:39:00 +0000 Dennis M. Powers 11219 at http://ijpr.org Trail Leads to Mysterious Stone Woman of Crater Lake http://ijpr.org/post/trail-leads-mysterious-stone-woman-crater-lake <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Reports of a sculptured stone woman began filtering into Crater Lake National Park headquarters during the winter and spring of 1917. Workers located the figure on the lake’s rim, about a mile and a half from the lodge. &nbsp;The nearly full relief of a nude figure was chiseled out of a lava boulder, its legs bent and one arm over its head as if shielding against danger. The news media reported the discovery with headlines such as “Mummy Woman found in woods” and “Ancient figure of woman discovered.” &nbsp;&nbsp;</div><p> Thu, 24 Apr 2014 17:23:00 +0000 Dennis M. Powers 9751 at http://ijpr.org Dam Removal Creates New Gold Rush http://ijpr.org/post/dam-removal-creates-new-gold-rush <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Researchers predicted benefits from removing the 106-year-old Gold Ray Dam in 2010. &nbsp;Among them were more salmon and steelhead swimming upriver to spawn and more rafters enjoying the scenery along 57 miles of newly opened water. But who anticipated gold fever!</span></p><p> Fri, 18 Apr 2014 16:29:00 +0000 Dennis M. Powers 9742 at http://ijpr.org