Dennis M. Powers http://ijpr.org en Ashland Golfer Surprises Fans at Northern Trust Open http://ijpr.org/post/ashland-golfer-surprises-fans-northern-trust-open <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">An Ashland High School graduate who was the 1996 Oregon High School golf champion, Jason Allred, went on to play on the Professional Golfers’ Association Tour. &nbsp;Before that, he competed in collegiate golf at Pepperdine University in Malibu, Calif., where he graduated in 2002.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 16:00:00 +0000 Dennis M. Powers 9732 at http://ijpr.org Ashland Author Writes and Illustrates Children's Books http://ijpr.org/post/ashland-author-writes-and-illustrates-childrens-books <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>The author P.K. Hallinan stayed awake one night questioning what he wanted to do with his life. &nbsp;Hallinan, who lives near the Siskiyou Pass in the mountains outside of Ashland, Ore., decided to be a novelist. &nbsp;He said he wrote two terrible novels that he threw away.</div><p> Wed, 02 Apr 2014 15:12:00 +0000 Dennis M. Powers 9721 at http://ijpr.org First-Time Coach Takes Girls to State Championship http://ijpr.org/post/first-time-coach-takes-girls-state-championship <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>When he started an after-school program for disadvantaged youths in 1998, Tom Cole of Kids Unlimited never envisioned that one day he would become a successful high school basketball coach. However, he did create boys and girls basketball programs at Kids Unlimited.</div><p> Fri, 28 Feb 2014 21:58:34 +0000 Dennis M. Powers 6554 at http://ijpr.org Californian Creates Wildlife Refuge for Injured Animals http://ijpr.org/post/californian-creates-wildlife-refuge-injured-animals <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Growing up in Los Angeles’s San Fernando Valley in the 1940s, David Siddon had easy access to the wilderness before the region’s housing sprawl began. &nbsp;He enjoyed his career as a writer, photographer, and filmmaker, traveling the world filming wild and domestic animals for TV productions.</span></p> Mon, 24 Feb 2014 21:53:18 +0000 Dennis M. Powers 6546 at http://ijpr.org Cross-Country Skier Wins Gold Medal at Age 74 http://ijpr.org/post/cross-country-skier-wins-gold-medal-age-74 <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>In the 1950s, Medford rancher and real estate developer John Stewart Day speed-climbed four Oregon peaks in a day and climbed six towering Washington mountains in nine days. An all-around outdoorsman, Day was a record-setting, big-game hunter and holder of several national age-group bicycle racing records.</div><div> Mon, 10 Feb 2014 22:32:16 +0000 Dennis M. Powers 6531 at http://ijpr.org Charles Ray's Light House Glows through the Night http://ijpr.org/post/charles-rays-light-house-glows-through-night <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>The co-founder of the power company that electrified much of Southern Oregon, Dr. Charles Ray, constructed a home at the corner of West Main and Quince streets in Medford, Ore., in 1918.&nbsp;</div><p> Wed, 22 Jan 2014 19:15:00 +0000 Dennis M. Powers 4915 at http://ijpr.org Kids Unlimited Offers Access to Quality After-School Programs http://ijpr.org/post/kids-unlimited-offers-access-quality-after-school-programs <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>After working with disadvantaged youth as part of his studies at Missouri State University, Tom Cole worked for Boys &amp; Girls Clubs in Missouri before moving to Medford, Ore. He opened the city’s first Boys &amp; Girls Club in a Quonset hut.</div><p> Mon, 20 Jan 2014 18:55:00 +0000 Dennis M. Powers 4911 at http://ijpr.org Gold Hill Celebrates Gold dust Days in June http://ijpr.org/post/gold-hill-celebrates-gold-dust-days-june <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Gold Dust Days celebration in Gold Hill, Ore., has changed considerably over the years. &nbsp;It dates back decades to the Salmon Festival, which later became the Community Carnival.</span></p><p> Thu, 09 Jan 2014 17:47:00 +0000 Dennis M. Powers 4901 at http://ijpr.org Waitress Takes Engineer's Order from Smoking Train http://ijpr.org/post/waitress-takes-engineers-order-smoking-train <p></p><div>For many years, people and products depended on trains to travel from town to town. &nbsp;Medford folks could journey to Ashland, or Grants Pass, conduct business, and return the same day. The train engineer was important and town folks knew him, especially during the 1910s.</div><p> Tue, 26 Nov 2013 18:30:00 +0000 Dennis M. Powers 1828 at http://ijpr.org Medford Families Win Powerball Jackpot http://ijpr.org/post/medford-families-win-powerball-jackpot <p></p><div>In October 2005, Bob Chaney was retired and living with his wife, Francis, in Jacksonville. The Chaney’s daughter, Carolyn, and their son-in-law, Medford landscaper Steve West, were living in a modest Medford home.</div><p> Thu, 21 Nov 2013 18:05:00 +0000 Dennis M. Powers 1825 at http://ijpr.org