Shirley Nelson http://ijpr.org en Investigation Identifies White Substance on Curry County Ranch as Borax http://ijpr.org/post/investigation-identifies-white-substance-curry-county-ranch-borax <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>In 1862 John and Emma Creswell started the Lone Ranch near Brookings, Ore., where they raised sheep and cattle and cut timber. Builders used a chalky white substance found on their land near the ocean as chalk, and housewives used it as silver polish.</div><div> Wed, 19 Mar 2014 16:57:00 +0000 Shirley Nelson 8299 at http://ijpr.org Stage Takes Three Days to Reach Oregon Coast from Grants Pass http://ijpr.org/post/stage-takes-three-days-reach-oregon-coast-grants-pass <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>In the early 1900s, Gladys Miller Payne of Jackson County, Ore., often traveled to the Northern California Coast. &nbsp;The trip took three days and seven fresh teams of horses from her Evans Creek home. &nbsp;First, she went to Grants Pass, where she boarded the Concord stage pulled by four horses following roughly the course of today’s U.S. Hwy 199. &nbsp;</div><p> Mon, 17 Mar 2014 16:46:00 +0000 Shirley Nelson 8297 at http://ijpr.org Greek -Style Temple Honors Teddy Roosevelt in North Bend http://ijpr.org/post/greek-style-temple-honors-teddy-roosevelt-north-bend <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>People driving or walking along Sherman Avenue in North Bend, Ore., can see a building resembling a Greek temple at the top of the hill. &nbsp;Pure white, the building is solid and square with fluted Ionic columns across the front that support a classical pediment.&nbsp;</div><p> Thu, 13 Feb 2014 22:22:55 +0000 Shirley Nelson 6534 at http://ijpr.org Bullhide Moore Manages Gold Beach Store for 32 Years http://ijpr.org/post/bullhide-moore-manages-gold-beach-store-32-years <p></p><p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>The Curry County Courthouse in Gold Beach, Ore., stands today on property once the location of a general store managed for many years by David Milton Moore.&nbsp;</div><p> Fri, 07 Feb 2014 22:29:44 +0000 Shirley Nelson 6530 at http://ijpr.org Oregon Pioneer Botanist Identifies 3,150 Western Species http://ijpr.org/post/oregon-pioneer-botanist-identifies-3150-western-species <p></p><div><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Perhaps Rugged Eight Dollar Mountain in southwestern Josephine County, Ore., was named by a miner who found a large gold nugget or by a man said to have worn out an eight-dollar pair of shoes climbing the mountain. &nbsp;For certain, a Rogue River Indian War battle was fought in the area on March 25, 1856.</span></div><p> Tue, 14 Jan 2014 18:06:00 +0000 Shirley Nelson 4904 at http://ijpr.org Empty Store Stands Alone in Abandoned Brockway, Ore. http://ijpr.org/post/empty-store-stands-alone-abandoned-brockway-ore <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">At a four-way crossroads on Hwy 42 west of Winston, Ore., stands the faded elegance of the two-story, false-fronted Brockway Store. Nothing else remains of Brockway.</span></p><p> Tue, 07 Jan 2014 01:18:52 +0000 Shirley Nelson 4894 at http://ijpr.org Dwight Safford's Luck Runs Out in Crescent City Saloon http://ijpr.org/post/dwight-saffords-luck-runs-out-crescent-city-saloon-0 <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Luck ran out in August 1898 for 25-year-old Dwight Safford of Klamath, Calif. &nbsp;After selling a load of fish in Crescent City, Safford headed to the Willow Saloon, where he was a frequent customer and gambler.</div><p> Wed, 11 Dec 2013 18:53:00 +0000 Shirley Nelson 3488 at http://ijpr.org Wedding Bells Invite Arduous Jouney for Two Girls in 1883 http://ijpr.org/post/wedding-bells-invite-arduous-jouney-two-girls-1883 <p></p><div>In 1883, Ottilie Parker and her sister at Parkersburg, Ore., on the lower Coquille River were invited to a wedding in Gold Beach, about 60 miles south. They accompanied Mary Windsor, who was older and the bride’s future aunt.</div><p> Wed, 06 Nov 2013 16:42:00 +0000 Shirley Nelson 1799 at http://ijpr.org Master Boat Builder Begins by Carving Cedar Canoes http://ijpr.org/post/master-boat-builder-begins-carving-cedar-canoes <div><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Master boat builder </span>Lex<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> </span>Fromm<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> of Curry County, Ore., learned his trade early and by age 10 was a skilled fisher, fishing guide and carver of cedar canoes.</span><br /><br /><span style="line-height: 1.5;">After graduation from Gold Beach High School, </span>Fromm<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> earned a teaching degree at Ashland’s Southern Oregon Normal School. &nbsp;He taught in a one-room school in Sixes, Ore., was a principal in Gold Beach for 10 years, and served as a Navy pilot and flight instructor during World War II.</span> Fri, 04 Oct 2013 16:23:00 +0000 Shirley Nelson 386 at http://ijpr.org Early Irish Immigrant Plants Cypress Tree in Bandon, Ore. http://ijpr.org/post/early-irish-immigrant-plants-cypress-tree-bandon-ore <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A more than 100-year-old Monterey cypress tree known as the Baldwin cypress graces Ocean Drive in </span>Bandon<span style="line-height: 1.5;">, Ore. The tree got its name from an Irish immigrant, Henry Hewitt Baldwin, who came to the United States from </span>Bandon<span style="line-height: 1.5;">, Ireland, in 1846. He joined the army in 1849 and after his military service settled in the Coquille Valley.</span> Tue, 01 Oct 2013 16:24:00 +0000 Shirley Nelson 383 at http://ijpr.org