Maryann Mason http://ijpr.org en Jaston Hartman and Sons Build Jackson County Bridges http://ijpr.org/post/jaston-hartman-and-sons-build-jackson-county-bridges <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>&nbsp;</div><div>An oil derrick builder, Jaston Hartman, left Ohio and moved to Jacksonville in 1900, where he used his skills to build Oregon barns. &nbsp;He soon became Jackson County’s bridge superintendent.</div><div> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 17:55:25 +0000 Maryann Mason 14694 at http://ijpr.org River Guide Makes Zane Grey's Rogue Famous http://ijpr.org/post/river-guide-makes-zane-greys-rogue-famous <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Zane Grey made the Rogue River famous for its fishing in the 1920s and 30s, but he couldn’t have done it without the river guide and boat builder Glenn Wooldridge.</div><div> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 17:50:51 +0000 Maryann Mason 14687 at http://ijpr.org Metro Goldwyn Trackless Train Visits Rogue Valley in 1925 http://ijpr.org/post/metro-goldwyn-trackless-train-visits-rogue-valley-1925 <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Metro Goldwyn Trackless Train visited the Rogue Valley the first week of November l925, ten years after it had been invented by the H.O. McGee Manufacturing Co. of Indianapolis, Ind.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Thu, 23 Jan 2014 18:48:28 +0000 Maryann Mason 4916 at http://ijpr.org Pioneer Hunter, John B. Griffin, Works with Bear Hunting Dogs http://ijpr.org/post/pioneer-hunter-john-b-griffin-works-bear-hunting-dogs <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>One of the first babies born in Southern Oregon, John Griffin was brought into this world on Sept. 14, 1853, in Jacksonville. &nbsp;Over the next 86 years he became a woodsman and hunter known for his bear hunting dogs and his entertaining hunting stories published in regional newspapers in the 1920s and 30s.</div><p> Thu, 16 Jan 2014 18:41:00 +0000 Maryann Mason 4907 at http://ijpr.org Giant Oak Once Towered Over Bidwell Park in Chico, Calif. http://ijpr.org/post/giant-oak-once-towered-over-bidwell-park-chico-calif <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>On March 1, 2013, vandals burned portions of a large stump, about eight feet in diameter and held together by metal bars. The stump is all that remains of a famous valley-oak tree in Chico, Calif.</p><p> Tue, 07 Jan 2014 17:20:00 +0000 Maryann Mason 4895 at http://ijpr.org Once Bustling Mining Town Lies Under Shasta Dam Waters http://ijpr.org/post/once-bustling-mining-town-lies-under-shasta-dam-waters <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>&nbsp;</div><div>The land around Kennett, Calif., was once home to some 250 Wintu Indian villages, but by 1835 their numbers had been decimated by disease and war. &nbsp;After gold was discovered in Backbone Creek in 1852, the railroad town of Kennett grew into the most important mining center outside of Redding and Shasta.</div><p> Thu, 26 Dec 2013 19:46:00 +0000 Maryann Mason 3506 at http://ijpr.org Canby's Cross Commemorates Fallen General http://ijpr.org/post/canbys-cross-commemorates-fallen-general-0 <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Three miles south of the town of Tulelake, Calif., a large cross in the Lava Beds National Monument commemorates Edward R. S. Canby, the only general killed during the Indian Wars.&nbsp;</div><p> Tue, 10 Dec 2013 18:44:00 +0000 Maryann Mason 3486 at http://ijpr.org Merrick's Natatorium Leases City auto Camp in 1923 http://ijpr.org/post/merricks-natatorium-leases-city-auto-camp-1923 <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>In 1923, the City of Medford leased the management of its municipal auto camp to Merrick's Natatorium and Inn. &nbsp;The camp was located behind the inn where it connected by bridge with another camp on the other side of Bear Creek. The city thought combining the two camps under private management would be better for tourists and avoid municipal renovation costs.</div><p> Thu, 05 Dec 2013 18:12:00 +0000 Maryann Mason 3481 at http://ijpr.org Lakeview Museum Contains Beaded Purse Missing a Flower http://ijpr.org/post/lakeview-museum-contains-beaded-purse-missing-flower <p></p><div>In September of this year, Jefferson Public Radio’s As It Was series told the story of how Salita Jane Henderson, a little girl curious about a medicine bottle hanging on her family’s wagon on the Oregon Trail, drank the liquid inside and died of laudanum poisoning.</div><p> Wed, 27 Nov 2013 18:36:00 +0000 Maryann Mason 1829 at http://ijpr.org Ashland Police Raid Opium Joints in 1913 http://ijpr.org/post/ashland-police-raid-opium-joints-1913 <p></p><div>On the weekend of April 19, l913, six noisy people from nearby Medford were disturbing the peace in the neighborhood of the Imperial rooming house on Fourth Street in Ashland, Ore. &nbsp;A city councilman who lived nearby called the police who sent Night Officer Porter, Special Officer Bert Turner, and Councilman Sherman to arrest everyone, including C. Woodburn, the proprietor. &nbsp;The police found two complete opium smoking sets.</div><p> Fri, 15 Nov 2013 17:49:00 +0000 Maryann Mason 1820 at http://ijpr.org