Jim Long http://ijpr.org en Tiller Gardens Showcase Camellias in April http://ijpr.org/post/tiller-gardens-showcase-camellias-april <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">On five acres along Elk Creek near Tiller, Ore., a sharp eye can spot more than 50 varieties of camellias, a plant native to Japan, Korea, and China that became popular in the U.S. South in the late 1700s. &nbsp;French botanist Andre Michaux presented the first imported camellia to South Carolina Gov. Henry Middleton in 1786. That parent plant is still used to propagate others. As the new plant made its way across the United States, Alabama chose the camellia as its state flower.&nbsp;</span></p><div> Mon, 07 Apr 2014 15:37:00 +0000 Jim Long 9724 at http://ijpr.org Douglas County Honors Lumberman http://ijpr.org/post/douglas-county-honors-lumberman <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Was a young man, Milt Herbert saw an opportunity during the post-World War II housing boom to go into the lumber business by starting a sawmill in 1945 in Eugene, Ore. &nbsp;Herbert and some partners operated the portable sawmill for a few years, and in 1948 he headed to Northern California to search for cheaper timber. &nbsp;</div><p> Thu, 20 Mar 2014 17:00:00 +0000 Jim Long 8300 at http://ijpr.org Company Follows Founder's Advice to Change with the Times http://ijpr.org/post/company-follows-founders-advice-change-times <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>The Gerretsen Building Supply in Roseburg, Ore. celebrated 90 years in business in 2013.</div><p> Mon, 17 Feb 2014 22:17:09 +0000 Jim Long 6538 at http://ijpr.org Pitchford boys Ranch Offers alternative Delinquency Treatment http://ijpr.org/post/pitchford-boys-ranch-offers-alternative-delinquency-treatment <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>The Pitchford Boys Ranch opened in 1963 near Roseburg as the first public residential treatment</div><div>program for delinquent boys in Oregon. &nbsp;It was named after Agnes Pitchford, Douglas County’s first Juvenile Department director. &nbsp;The ranch was located at what is now Amacher&nbsp; Park along the North Umpqua River before moving with state support in 1965 to Twin Forks Park.</div><p> Mon, 13 Jan 2014 17:54:00 +0000 Jim Long 4903 at http://ijpr.org Umpqua Bank Celebrates 60th Anniversary http://ijpr.org/post/umpqua-bank-celebrates-60th-anniversary <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Newspaper advertisements throughout the West Coast trumpeted this year, “Mighty oaks from little acorns grow.” &nbsp;It was Umpqua Bank’s way of celebrating its 60th anniversary.</div><p> Fri, 20 Dec 2013 19:32:00 +0000 Jim Long 3499 at http://ijpr.org Dam Eases Passage of Salmon Headed Up the North Umpqua River http://ijpr.org/post/dam-eases-passage-salmon-headed-north-umpqua-river <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Salmon and steelhead are finding it easier to reach habitat above the Soda Springs Dam in the North Umpqua River following federal approval of the dam’s operating license.</span></p><p> Tue, 17 Dec 2013 19:19:00 +0000 Jim Long 3496 at http://ijpr.org Yoncalla's "Johnny Appleseed" contributes to Applegate Apple Festival http://ijpr.org/post/yoncallas-johnny-appleseed-contributes-applegate-apple-festival <p></p><p>In the mid-1800s, brothers Jesse and Charles Applegate and their families settled land claims near “Yoncalla,” an area named after an Indian tribe north of Roseburg, Ore. Today, a seven-acre parcel of their property is dedicated to conserving more than 3,000 varieties of apples.</p><p> Wed, 04 Sep 2013 18:16:35 +0000 Jim Long 205 at http://ijpr.org