Gail Fiorini-Jenner http://ijpr.org en John Daggett Develops Black Bear Gold Mine http://ijpr.org/post/john-daggett-develops-black-bear-gold-mine <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Discovered in 1860, the Black Bear Mine was one of the most important quartz gold mines in Siskiyou County, Calif. &nbsp;It was located along the Salmon River in the Liberty Mining District, nine miles south of Sawyer’s Bar.&nbsp;</div><p> Thu, 03 Apr 2014 15:17:00 +0000 Gail Fiorini-Jenner 9722 at http://ijpr.org Drunken Hired Hand Falls Off Horse, Sleeps in Ditch http://ijpr.org/post/drunken-hired-hand-falls-horse-sleeps-ditch <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Sam Cherry was a hired man who worked for a number of ranches in the Shasta Valley east of Yreka, Calif. &nbsp;Originally from the Ozarks, he moved to Siskiyou County from Oregon in 1930.</span></p><div> Tue, 18 Mar 2014 16:51:00 +0000 Gail Fiorini-Jenner 8298 at http://ijpr.org Siskiyou Valley Mines Yield Cinnabar, the Primary Ore of Mercury http://ijpr.org/post/siskiyou-valley-mines-yield-cinnabar-primary-ore-mercury <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>The Barton and Lange Mine operated on the Klamath River in Siskiyou Valley, some four miles west of Oak Bar in the Oak Bar Mining District. &nbsp;Discovered in 1890 by owners J.A. Barton and company, the mine covered 60 acres at an elevation of 1,855 feet.&nbsp;</div><div> Thu, 06 Mar 2014 16:45:00 +0000 Gail Fiorini-Jenner 8289 at http://ijpr.org The Snowden School Survives Almost Forty Years http://ijpr.org/post/snowden-school-survives-almost-forty-years <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>The Snowden School District was established in 1898 along the Montague-Ager Road, 5 ½ miles north of Montague, Calif., in Siskiyou County. The school’s name derived from the nearby Snowden Southern Pacific Railroad Station.</div><p> Fri, 21 Feb 2014 22:11:22 +0000 Gail Fiorini-Jenner 6543 at http://ijpr.org Trappers and Settlers Encounter Five Shasta County Tribes http://ijpr.org/post/trappers-and-settlers-encounter-five-shasta-county-tribes <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>The first white men to come into contact with the Indigenous of Shasta County in Northern California may have been Russian fur trappers who moved through the mountains in 1815. &nbsp;The region was home to five tribes, the Achomawi, Atsugewi, Okwanuchu, Wintu , and Yana.&nbsp;</div><p> Wed, 19 Feb 2014 22:11:56 +0000 Gail Fiorini-Jenner 6540 at http://ijpr.org Farmer Ignores Brother; Gets Himself a Wife http://ijpr.org/post/farmer-ignores-brother-gets-himself-wife <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Finding a wife in the early days of settlement in Scott Valley, Calif., was not easy. The remote region only had a few eligible young women in the 1850s. &nbsp;Leroy Kidder’s journal told how the Glendenning brothers, Tom and Bill, dealt with the situation. &nbsp;The tale goes like this:</div><p> Wed, 12 Feb 2014 22:23:11 +0000 Gail Fiorini-Jenner 6533 at http://ijpr.org Siskiyou County's Oldest Church Stands on Rich Mining Land http://ijpr.org/post/siskiyou-countys-oldest-church-stands-rich-mining-land <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>One important stopping point along the North Fork of the Salmon River, Sawyers Bar, was established a mile above Bestville during the gold rush. It served as a hub for other settlers who could visit its first blacksmith, Dan Davis, who sharpened picks for $1 a point on a big rock he also used as an anvil.</div><p> Fri, 10 Jan 2014 17:51:00 +0000 Gail Fiorini-Jenner 4902 at http://ijpr.org Randolph Collier of Etna Becomes California's Freeway "Father" http://ijpr.org/post/randolph-collier-etna-becomes-californias-freeway-father <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>The silver-haired and voiced Senator who became known as the “father of the California freeways,” Randolph Collier, was born in Etna in 1902. &nbsp;During his life, he went from being a Yreka police judge to serving in the state legislature from 1938-1976.&nbsp;</div><p> Thu, 02 Jan 2014 16:40:00 +0000 Gail Fiorini-Jenner 4892 at http://ijpr.org Chinese Celebrate New Year in Yreka Calif. in 1931 http://ijpr.org/post/chinese-celebrate-new-year-yreka-calif-1931 <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Memoir writer Frank Herzog described how in 1931 the Chinese of Northern California celebrated their New Year in grand style. &nbsp;It was the Year of the Sheep and New Year’s Day for the Chinese fell on&nbsp;</div><div>Feb. 17.</div><p> Wed, 01 Jan 2014 16:31:00 +0000 Gail Fiorini-Jenner 4891 at http://ijpr.org The Seiad School Has Humble Beginnings http://ijpr.org/post/seiad-school-has-humble-beginnings-0 <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Seiad, Calif., once had a school at Schoolhouse Gulch, where if it existed today Hwy 96 would cross its front porch.</span></p><p> Sat, 28 Dec 2013 01:23:15 +0000 Gail Fiorini-Jenner 3508 at http://ijpr.org