Gail Fiorini-Jenner http://ijpr.org en Plane Crashes on Montague's First Airfield http://ijpr.org/post/plane-crashes-montagues-first-airfield <p></p><p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>The first landing strip at Montague, Calif., was an open field south of Little Shasta Road. It had a large board with a white-canvass cross that guided pilots to safe landings.&nbsp;</div><div> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 17:53:50 +0000 Gail Fiorini-Jenner 14689 at http://ijpr.org Redding's Sundial Bridge Celebrates Tenth Anniversary http://ijpr.org/post/reddings-sundial-bridge-celebrates-tenth-anniversary <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>This summer marks the tenth anniversary of the Sundial Bridge in Redding, Calif. The celebration will culminate on July 4th, the actual anniversary of the stunning architectural superstructure.</div><div> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 17:34:56 +0000 Gail Fiorini-Jenner 14679 at http://ijpr.org Lewiston's Historic District Includes Hotel Rebuilt in 1875 http://ijpr.org/post/lewistons-historic-district-includes-hotel-rebuilt-1875 <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>The historic mining town of Lewiston, Calif., with a population today of about 1,500, is located along Hwy 299 and the Trinity River. &nbsp;The highway connects Redding to Weaverville and ultimately, the Coast.&nbsp;</div><p> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 17:39:26 +0000 Gail Fiorini-Jenner 13150 at http://ijpr.org Charles Kappler of France Brews Beer in Etna, Calif. http://ijpr.org/post/charles-kappler-france-brews-beer-etna-calif <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Born in Alsace, France, in 1834, Charles Kappler emigrated to Yreka, Calif., in 1860, where he worked in a brewery. &nbsp;</div><div> Tue, 03 Jun 2014 15:08:00 +0000 Gail Fiorini-Jenner 13143 at http://ijpr.org Crossing Scott Mountain Requires Grit in early 1860s http://ijpr.org/post/crossing-scott-mountain-requires-grit-early-1860s <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>The toughest mountain to cross for the California-Oregon Stage Company was Scott Mountain.</div><div> Fri, 23 May 2014 17:29:00 +0000 Gail Fiorini-Jenner 11240 at http://ijpr.org French-born Packer Delivers Supplies to Siskiyou County http://ijpr.org/post/french-born-packer-delivers-supplies-siskiyou-county <p></p><p></p><p>Gus Meamber spent most of his life in Siskiyou County as a packer.&nbsp; With no roads along the Klamath or Scott River, pack trains were essential for getting supplies to miners, merchants, and farmers.</p><p> Mon, 12 May 2014 16:37:00 +0000 Gail Fiorini-Jenner 11228 at http://ijpr.org Chinese Operate Successful Gold Mines in Siskiyou County http://ijpr.org/post/chinese-operate-successful-gold-mines-siskiyou-county <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Chinese mining companies were rare and their workers often persecuted during the California gold rush, but a number of operations were successful in Siskiyou County. During the late 1800s along the Klamath River, Chinese worked for white miners or ran their own mining companies.&nbsp;</div><p> Thu, 01 May 2014 15:18:00 +0000 Gail Fiorini-Jenner 11216 at http://ijpr.org Barns and Watering Troughs Serve as 1880s Billboards http://ijpr.org/post/barns-and-watering-troughs-serve-1880s-billboards <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Barns and watering troughs served as billboards in the 1880s, proof that advertising was as much a part of life in those days as railroading and road building.</div><p> Mon, 21 Apr 2014 16:33:00 +0000 Gail Fiorini-Jenner 9743 at http://ijpr.org John Daggett Develops Black Bear Gold Mine http://ijpr.org/post/john-daggett-develops-black-bear-gold-mine <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Discovered in 1860, the Black Bear Mine was one of the most important quartz gold mines in Siskiyou County, Calif. &nbsp;It was located along the Salmon River in the Liberty Mining District, nine miles south of Sawyer’s Bar.&nbsp;</div><p> Thu, 03 Apr 2014 15:17:00 +0000 Gail Fiorini-Jenner 9722 at http://ijpr.org Drunken Hired Hand Falls Off Horse, Sleeps in Ditch http://ijpr.org/post/drunken-hired-hand-falls-horse-sleeps-ditch <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Sam Cherry was a hired man who worked for a number of ranches in the Shasta Valley east of Yreka, Calif. &nbsp;Originally from the Ozarks, he moved to Siskiyou County from Oregon in 1930.</span></p><div> Tue, 18 Mar 2014 16:51:00 +0000 Gail Fiorini-Jenner 8298 at http://ijpr.org