Amy Couture http://ijpr.org en Early Rogue Valley Maps Show Towns That No Longer Exist http://ijpr.org/post/early-rogue-valley-maps-show-towns-no-longer-exist <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>On the wall of the 1912 Sunset Schoolhouse in Fort Rock, Ore., is an Oregon map from the 1920s. &nbsp;It shows the major towns of Ashland and Medford along the Oregon and California Railroad line through the Rogue Valley, and smaller communities that no longer exist. &nbsp;</div><div> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 17:54:50 +0000 Amy Couture 14693 at http://ijpr.org Dollarhide Bridge REaches 100th Anniversary http://ijpr.org/post/dollarhide-bridge-reaches-100th-anniversary <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Built 100 years ago, the Dollarhide Bridge on the Old Siskiyou Highway was one of the first two bridges constructed in 1914 by the new Oregon Department of Transportation. The bridge is named after the Dollarhide family that moved to the Rogue Valley in 1869. &nbsp;</span></p><div> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 17:15:29 +0000 Amy Couture 14677 at http://ijpr.org Richmaid Ice Cream Shop Offers Drive-Through Service in Ashland http://ijpr.org/post/richmaid-ice-cream-shop-offers-drive-through-service-ashland <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;In order to reduce fuel consumption and pollution caused by idling vehicles, the City of Ashland in 1982 discouraged businesses from using drive-up windows. Two years later, a city ordinance prohibited the construction of new drive-up windows and placed a limit on the number that could exist in the city. &nbsp;A grandfather clause allowed businesses that already had drive-up windows to continue using them.</span></p><p> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 17:44:11 +0000 Amy Couture 13156 at http://ijpr.org Rodney Glisan's Book Collection Becomes Medical Library http://ijpr.org/post/rodney-glisans-book-collection-becomes-medical-library <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Rodney Glisan has a major street named after him in Portland, Ore., and his personal book collection generated the first library at the Oregon Health and Science University. &nbsp;Before he became a leading citizen in Portland, Glisan was a young army medical officer stationed at Port Orford on the Southern Oregon Coast.</div><p> Fri, 30 May 2014 17:48:00 +0000 Amy Couture 11250 at http://ijpr.org Justice of the Peace Sues Military Officer for Jailing a Civilian http://ijpr.org/post/justice-peace-sues-military-officer-jailing-civilian <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">There was trouble in Port Orford in 1855.&nbsp; Lt. August Kautz, a German-born officer in the U. S. Army, had arrested a civilian for harassing Indians on the nearby federal reserve.&nbsp; Kautz jailed the man in the guardhouse for six days. &nbsp;In response, the local justice of the peace was suing Kautz, accusing him of false imprisonment of a civilian.</span></p><p> Wed, 07 May 2014 16:05:00 +0000 Amy Couture 11222 at http://ijpr.org Ashland Protects Watershed Despite Early Opposition http://ijpr.org/post/ashland-protects-watershed-despite-early-opposition <p></p><div><div>&nbsp;</div><div>For more than 120 years, the Ashland, Ore., City Council has protected the city’s water supply in the 14,000-acre Ashland Creek watershed despite early opposition from private and commercial interests. &nbsp;</div><div> Tue, 29 Apr 2014 17:10:00 +0000 Amy Couture 9750 at http://ijpr.org Baby Survives Fall from Father's Ashland Flour Mill http://ijpr.org/post/baby-survives-fall-fathers-ashland-flour-mill <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Pioneer Abel Helman built Ashland, Oregon’s Flouring Mill in 1854, the same year his wife, Martha, gave birth to their son, John. &nbsp;One day after lunch, Helman took the 15-month-old boy to work with him. &nbsp;The mother planned to meet them later at the flour mill.</div><p> Tue, 15 Apr 2014 16:09:00 +0000 Amy Couture 9733 at http://ijpr.org Alert Pacific Highway Motorist Assists Police in Capturing Mail Thieves http://ijpr.org/post/alert-pacific-highway-motorist-assists-police-capturing-mail-thieves <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>George Barnum stopped for coffee in the wee hours of March 7, 1922, in Dunsmuir, Calif., on his way home to Medford, Ore., from San Francisco. &nbsp;At the restaurant, a police officer told Barnum that robbers had stolen a mail pouch up the road at Weed, and the government was offering a $5,000 reward for their capture. &nbsp;Barnum hadn’t passed any southbound cars that morning as he drove north on the Pacific Highway that followed the old Siskiyou Trail.</div><p> Fri, 14 Mar 2014 16:41:00 +0000 Amy Couture 8294 at http://ijpr.org Old Millrace Leaves Traces in Lithia Park http://ijpr.org/post/old-millrace-leaves-traces-lithia-park <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>In Ashland’s Lithia Park, a ditch leaves Ashland Creek just above the playground and runs straight to the hill above the Lower Duck Pond. &nbsp;A crude dirt path parallels the ditch, which is now partly buried by erosion, leaves, and pine needles. &nbsp;But the ditch was once a millrace, flowing with water that entered a wooden flume and turned the grindstone at the Ashland Flouring Mill. &nbsp;</div><p> Tue, 25 Feb 2014 21:53:59 +0000 Amy Couture 6551 at http://ijpr.org Anderson Creek Takes Name from Early Phoenix (Ore.) Settlers http://ijpr.org/post/anderson-creek-takes-name-early-phoenix-ore-settlers <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Anderson Creek, which enters Bear Creek at the south end of today’s Phoenix, Ore., was named for Eli Knighton Anderson and his brother, two of the first settlers in the Rogue Valley. &nbsp;</div><p> Wed, 05 Feb 2014 22:26:03 +0000 Amy Couture 6525 at http://ijpr.org