Amy Couture http://ijpr.org en Baby Survives Fall from Father's Ashland Flour Mill http://ijpr.org/post/baby-survives-fall-fathers-ashland-flour-mill <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Pioneer Abel Helman built Ashland, Oregon’s Flouring Mill in 1854, the same year his wife, Martha, gave birth to their son, John. &nbsp;One day after lunch, Helman took the 15-month-old boy to work with him. &nbsp;The mother planned to meet them later at the flour mill.</div><p> Tue, 15 Apr 2014 16:09:00 +0000 Amy Couture 9733 at http://ijpr.org Alert Pacific Highway Motorist Assists Police in Capturing Mail Thieves http://ijpr.org/post/alert-pacific-highway-motorist-assists-police-capturing-mail-thieves <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>George Barnum stopped for coffee in the wee hours of March 7, 1922, in Dunsmuir, Calif., on his way home to Medford, Ore., from San Francisco. &nbsp;At the restaurant, a police officer told Barnum that robbers had stolen a mail pouch up the road at Weed, and the government was offering a $5,000 reward for their capture. &nbsp;Barnum hadn’t passed any southbound cars that morning as he drove north on the Pacific Highway that followed the old Siskiyou Trail.</div><p> Fri, 14 Mar 2014 16:41:00 +0000 Amy Couture 8294 at http://ijpr.org Old Millrace Leaves Traces in Lithia Park http://ijpr.org/post/old-millrace-leaves-traces-lithia-park <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>In Ashland’s Lithia Park, a ditch leaves Ashland Creek just above the playground and runs straight to the hill above the Lower Duck Pond. &nbsp;A crude dirt path parallels the ditch, which is now partly buried by erosion, leaves, and pine needles. &nbsp;But the ditch was once a millrace, flowing with water that entered a wooden flume and turned the grindstone at the Ashland Flouring Mill. &nbsp;</div><p> Tue, 25 Feb 2014 21:53:59 +0000 Amy Couture 6551 at http://ijpr.org Anderson Creek Takes Name from Early Phoenix (Ore.) Settlers http://ijpr.org/post/anderson-creek-takes-name-early-phoenix-ore-settlers <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Anderson Creek, which enters Bear Creek at the south end of today’s Phoenix, Ore., was named for Eli Knighton Anderson and his brother, two of the first settlers in the Rogue Valley. &nbsp;</div><p> Wed, 05 Feb 2014 22:26:03 +0000 Amy Couture 6525 at http://ijpr.org Lindsay Applegate's Grandson Witnesses Mexican Revolution in 1913 http://ijpr.org/post/lindsay-applegates-grandson-witnesses-mexican-revolution-1913 <p></p><p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>The Klamath Falls Evening Herald’s coverage of the Mexican Revolution reported in 1913 that Pancho Villa’s army was seizing foreign-owned farms and industries in Northern Mexico. &nbsp;</div><p> Wed, 15 Jan 2014 18:33:00 +0000 Amy Couture 4906 at http://ijpr.org Santa Delivers Despite December 1964 Flood http://ijpr.org/post/santa-delivers-despite-december-1964-flood-0 <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Seven-year-old Trudy Meadows of Yreka was living in rural Siskiyou County during the December 1964 flood, one of the worst in California’s recorded history. Meadows’ father, a miner, had recently moved the family from Utah to a rough-hewn, historic bunkhouse in the tiny community of Forks of Salmon.</span></p><p> Mon, 23 Dec 2013 19:36:00 +0000 Amy Couture 3501 at http://ijpr.org Two Men Build Lonely Ranch south of Klamath Lake http://ijpr.org/post/two-men-build-lonely-ranch-south-klamath-lake <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>As a boy in 1853, Orsen Stearns was one of the first pioneers to settle near today’s Phoenix, Ore. &nbsp; Thirteen years later he started his own ranch south of Klamath Lake, in an area he had explored as a soldier at Fort Klamath.</div><p> Wed, 18 Dec 2013 19:23:00 +0000 Amy Couture 3497 at http://ijpr.org Powell Family Leaves Ashland for Alaska Gold Rush http://ijpr.org/post/powell-family-leaves-ashland-alaska-gold-rush <p></p><div>In 1898, Ashland resident Thaddeus Powell, 28 years old, married and with a new baby at home, was feeling restless. &nbsp;He told his wife, Laura, that he was either going to fight in the Spanish-American War over Cuba, The Philippines, Guam and Puerto Rico or join the gold rush in Alaska. &nbsp;Laura replied, “Well, you’re not going to war!”</div><p> Wed, 20 Nov 2013 18:01:00 +0000 Amy Couture 1824 at http://ijpr.org Original Farmhouse Still Stands on Ashland's North Mountain Avenue http://ijpr.org/post/original-farmhouse-still-stands-ashlands-north-mountain-avenue <p></p><div>A family farm on the hill above Ashland’s North Mountain Park has changed a lot in the last century.</div><p> Wed, 13 Nov 2013 17:36:00 +0000 Amy Couture 1811 at http://ijpr.org Family Moves Farmhouse to North Mountain Park Location http://ijpr.org/post/family-moves-farmhouse-north-mountain-park-location <p></p><p>As It Was - Episode 2265</p><p></p> Mon, 28 Oct 2013 18:14:00 +0000 Amy Couture 420 at http://ijpr.org