Jessica Robinson http://ijpr.org en The Landslide Statistic Everyone's Using Is From 1985 http://ijpr.org/post/landslide-statistic-everyones-using-1985 <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/032814JR_OutdatedData_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The massive landslide in Oso, Wash., has shined a national spotlight on the damage this kind of natural disaster can cause.<p> Sat, 29 Mar 2014 16:45:00 +0000 Jessica Robinson 9937 at http://ijpr.org The Landslide Statistic Everyone's Using Is From 1985 How More People Buying Guns Equals More Money For Wildlife http://ijpr.org/post/how-more-people-buying-guns-equals-more-money-wildlife <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/032614JR_GunWindfall_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The run on firearms last year is turning into a windfall for conservation programs in the Northwest.<p> Wed, 26 Mar 2014 23:17:49 +0000 Jessica Robinson 9787 at http://ijpr.org How More People Buying Guns Equals More Money For Wildlife Study: Sage Grouse Habitat Slow To Rebound After Fire http://ijpr.org/post/study-sage-grouse-habitat-slow-rebound-after-fire <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/032414JR_SageGrouse_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>A <a href="http://www.esajournals.org/doi/abs/10.1890/ES13-00278.1">new study</a> suggests creating livable habitat for the dwindling sage grouse may be trickier than originally thought.<p> Tue, 25 Mar 2014 22:21:07 +0000 Jessica Robinson 9693 at http://ijpr.org Study: Sage Grouse Habitat Slow To Rebound After Fire Death Penalty Costs In Idaho Difficult To Pin Down http://ijpr.org/post/death-penalty-costs-idaho-difficult-pin-down <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/031914JR_IdahoDeathPenalty_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Death penalty cases take longer to work through Idaho's court system, but it's hard to put a dollar figure on the extra expense, according to a new report.<p> Wed, 19 Mar 2014 22:57:34 +0000 Jessica Robinson 9382 at http://ijpr.org Death Penalty Costs In Idaho Difficult To Pin Down Protests And Arrests, But Is Idaho Any Closer To Gay Rights Law? http://ijpr.org/post/protests-and-arrests-idaho-any-closer-gay-rights-law <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/031714JR_NoWords_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>This winter, protests hit the Idaho Capitol at a level rarely seen in Boise. Gay rights activists blocked entrances and were marched away in handcuffs.<p>They want Idaho's Republican-controlled legislature to pass an anti-discrimination law similar to those in Oregon and Washington. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 22:43:00 +0000 Jessica Robinson 9323 at http://ijpr.org Protests And Arrests, But Is Idaho Any Closer To Gay Rights Law? Idaho Students Make Last-Ditch Effort To Kill Guns-On-Campus Bill http://ijpr.org/post/idaho-students-make-last-ditch-effort-kill-guns-campus-bill <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/031014JR_GunsOnCampus_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Idaho university students are making a last-minute attempt to stop a measure that would allow people to carry concealed weapons on campus.<p> Tue, 11 Mar 2014 04:28:28 +0000 Jessica Robinson 8884 at http://ijpr.org Idaho Students Make Last-Ditch Effort To Kill Guns-On-Campus Bill Passengers Wait Hours For Empire Builder, America's Least Reliable Train http://ijpr.org/post/passengers-wait-hours-empire-builder-americas-least-reliable-train <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/030614JR_WorstTrain_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The worst train in America is right here in the Northwest: the famed Empire Builder.<p> Sat, 08 Mar 2014 02:21:56 +0000 Jessica Robinson 8777 at http://ijpr.org Passengers Wait Hours For Empire Builder, America's Least Reliable Train National Parks Report: Nearby Towns Lost Nearly $500M In October Shutdown http://ijpr.org/post/national-parks-report-nearby-towns-lost-nearly-500m-october-shutdown <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/030314JR_NationalParks_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>According to a National Park Service report, <a href="http://www.nature.nps.gov/socialscience/docs/Economic2013ShutdownReport_Final_nrss_VSE.pdf">towns around national parks lost an estimated $414 million</a> during the partial government shutdown last October.<p> Tue, 04 Mar 2014 00:14:47 +0000 Jessica Robinson 8544 at http://ijpr.org National Parks Report: Nearby Towns Lost Nearly $500M In October Shutdown Idaho Colleges Ask Lawmakers To Consider Fiscal Side Of Guns On Campus http://ijpr.org/post/idaho-colleges-ask-lawmakers-consider-fiscal-side-guns-campus <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/02/022714JR_GunsOnCampus_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">State colleges and universities across Idaho are appealing to state lawmakers' fiscally conservative side in an attempt to sideline a proposal to allow guns on campuses.</span><p> Fri, 28 Feb 2014 15:20:03 +0000 Jessica Robinson 8421 at http://ijpr.org Idaho Colleges Ask Lawmakers To Consider Fiscal Side Of Guns On Campus Death Of Northwest Family Shows Hazards Of Carbon Monoxide http://ijpr.org/post/death-northwest-family-shows-hazards-carbon-monoxide <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/02/022514JR_CODetectors_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Local officials say the deaths of a Pocatello, Idaho, couple and their teenage sons is one of the worst tragedies in recent memory in the southeast Idaho community.<p> Thu, 27 Feb 2014 01:10:09 +0000 Jessica Robinson 8344 at http://ijpr.org Death Of Northwest Family Shows Hazards Of Carbon Monoxide