Anna King http://ijpr.org en Pneumonia Outbreaks Hitting Northwest’s Wild Bighorn Sheep http://ijpr.org/post/pneumonia-outbreaks-hitting-northwest-s-wild-bighorn-sheep <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/05/052714AK_Bighorn_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Bighorn sheep in the Northwest have their lambs in early spring. About now, those babies start playing together in the mountains – a sort of lamb daycare.<p> Wed, 28 May 2014 22:21:58 +0000 Anna King 13202 at http://ijpr.org Pneumonia Outbreaks Hitting Northwest’s Wild Bighorn Sheep New Organic Fertilizer Less Smelly, More Popular With Farm Workers http://ijpr.org/post/new-organic-fertilizer-less-smelly-more-popular-farm-workers <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/05/051614AK_Fishyfix_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>When you think organic, you probably visualize fresh, sweet-smelling fruits and vegetables. But what makes that delicious organic produce grow?<p> Sat, 17 May 2014 06:01:41 +0000 Anna King 12546 at http://ijpr.org New Organic Fertilizer Less Smelly, More Popular With Farm Workers Washington's Third-Largest Cherry Crop Queued-Up This Season http://ijpr.org/post/washingtons-third-largest-cherry-crop-queued-season <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/05/051214AK_Cherry_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Northwest sweet cherry growers say this season they'll likely pick their third-largest haul ever -- 20 million boxes.<p> Mon, 12 May 2014 22:31:08 +0000 Anna King 12281 at http://ijpr.org Washington's Third-Largest Cherry Crop Queued-Up This Season High Milk, Beef Prices Spur A Northwest Cattle Rush http://ijpr.org/post/high-milk-beef-prices-spur-northwest-cattle-rush <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/05/042914AK_Calfrush_MASTER_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>We’ve all heard of the Western Gold Rush. But how about the Northwest cattle rush?<p> Wed, 30 Apr 2014 22:18:52 +0000 Anna King 11665 at http://ijpr.org High Milk, Beef Prices Spur A Northwest Cattle Rush Endangered Salmon Migrate Via Trucks Around Cracked Dam http://ijpr.org/post/endangered-salmon-migrate-trucks-around-cracked-dam <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/041514AK_Wanapum_salmonfix_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The Columbia River will remain drawn down at least until June because of the cracked Wanapum Dam in southeast Washington.<p> Tue, 15 Apr 2014 23:58:27 +0000 Anna King 10832 at http://ijpr.org Endangered Salmon Migrate Via Trucks Around Cracked Dam Alfalfa Growers Hope To Rake In More Green This Year http://ijpr.org/post/alfalfa-growers-hope-rake-more-green-year <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/041414AK_Alfalfa_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Many Northwest alfalfa growers had a rough year with bad weather last summer.<p> Tue, 15 Apr 2014 04:39:13 +0000 Anna King 10777 at http://ijpr.org Alfalfa Growers Hope To Rake In More Green This Year Low Prices Prompt Northwest Asparagus Growers To Try To Delay Harvest http://ijpr.org/post/low-prices-prompt-northwest-asparagus-growers-try-delay-harvest <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/040414AK_Asparagus_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Northwest asparagus growers are just starting to harvest spears in the warmer sites around Pasco, Wash.<p> Mon, 07 Apr 2014 23:03:35 +0000 Anna King 10412 at http://ijpr.org Low Prices Prompt Northwest Asparagus Growers To Try To Delay Harvest Washington State Orders Hanford Managers To Empty Leaking Tank http://ijpr.org/post/washington-state-orders-hanford-managers-empty-leaking-tank <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/032114AK_Hanford_tanks_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The state of Washington has ordered the federal government to start pumping out a leaking double-shell tank of waste at&#160;Hanford&#160;by September 1.<p> Fri, 21 Mar 2014 23:52:30 +0000 Anna King 9510 at http://ijpr.org Washington State Orders Hanford Managers To Empty Leaking Tank Wanapum Dam River Drawdown Churns Up More Old Bones http://ijpr.org/post/wanapum-dam-river-drawdown-churns-more-old-bones <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/031314AK_Wanapum_Bonesfeature_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">State officials are reporting the discovery of a second set of human remains near the cracked </span>Wanapum<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Dam on the Columbia River in Eastern Washington state.</span><p> Mon, 17 Mar 2014 16:35:17 +0000 Anna King 9226 at http://ijpr.org Wanapum Dam River Drawdown Churns Up More Old Bones Outside Experts Weigh In On Columbia River's Damaged Wanapum Dam http://ijpr.org/post/outside-experts-weigh-columbia-rivers-damaged-wanapum-dam <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/030514AK_Wanapum_feature_web_0.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>In central Washington state, teams of engineers are scrambling to figure out what’s gone wrong with part of the&#160;Wanapum&#160;Dam’s spillway structure.<p> Wed, 05 Mar 2014 23:48:07 +0000 Anna King 8663 at http://ijpr.org Outside Experts Weigh In On Columbia River's Damaged Wanapum Dam