Tom Banse http://ijpr.org en Banner Summer On Tap For Ocean Salmon Fishing http://ijpr.org/post/banner-summer-tap-ocean-salmon-fishing <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/040914TB_Salmon_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>A federal fisheries management panel has approved what some charter captains are calling the best ocean fishing season in 20 years.<p> Thu, 10 Apr 2014 05:09:00 +0000 Tom Banse 10540 at http://ijpr.org Banner Summer On Tap For Ocean Salmon Fishing Northwest Researchers Document Whales Which Set New Breath-Hold Record http://ijpr.org/post/northwest-researchers-document-whales-which-set-new-breath-hold-record <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/040214TB_Breath_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Think about how long you can hold your breath and then let this discovery blow your mind.<p> Wed, 02 Apr 2014 23:13:59 +0000 Tom Banse 10169 at http://ijpr.org Northwest Researchers Document Whales Which Set New Breath-Hold Record At The Landslide Front Line, Comparisons To Mount St. Helens Devastation http://ijpr.org/post/landslide-front-line-comparisons-mount-st-helens-devastation <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/032814TB_SlideTour_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A local fire chief is warning communities around the deadly landslide in northwest Washington to brace for a jump in the death toll Friday.</span><p> Fri, 28 Mar 2014 19:31:19 +0000 Tom Banse 9889 at http://ijpr.org At The Landslide Front Line, Comparisons To Mount St. Helens Devastation Dogs Most Effective Search Tool As Landslide Death Toll Mounts http://ijpr.org/post/dogs-most-effective-search-tool-landslide-death-toll-mounts <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/032614TB_SlideDogs_webin.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The official death toll from Saturday’s massive landslide near </span>Oso<span style="line-height: 1.5;">, Washington rose from 14 to 16 Tuesday night.</span><p> Wed, 26 Mar 2014 20:31:02 +0000 Tom Banse 9766 at http://ijpr.org Dogs Most Effective Search Tool As Landslide Death Toll Mounts High Tech Tools And Tricks Aid Search For Landslide Victims http://ijpr.org/post/high-tech-tools-and-tricks-aid-search-landslide-victims <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/032514TB_SlideTech_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Rescuers are employing high technology tools and tricks to help locate victims buried deep under the muck and debris of Saturday’s landslide in Northwest Washington.</span><p> Wed, 26 Mar 2014 13:50:51 +0000 Tom Banse 9715 at http://ijpr.org High Tech Tools And Tricks Aid Search For Landslide Victims Ongoing Slide Movement Hampers Search For Victims In Snohomish County http://ijpr.org/post/ongoing-slide-movement-hampers-search-victims-snohomish-county <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/032414TB_Landslide_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Ongoing movement of the huge landslide that crashed down on a rural Northwest Washington neighborhood on Saturday is hampering the search for more victims.<p> Tue, 25 Mar 2014 22:17:59 +0000 Tom Banse 9691 at http://ijpr.org Ongoing Slide Movement Hampers Search For Victims In Snohomish County Study: Cigarette Tax Evasion Sky-High In Washington, Idaho A Big Supplier http://ijpr.org/post/study-cigarette-tax-evasion-sky-high-washington-idaho-big-supplier <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/032114TB_IllegalCigs_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Nearly half of the cigarettes smoked in Washington went untaxed by the state according to an estimate from a new study by two think tanks.<p> Mon, 24 Mar 2014 22:01:00 +0000 Tom Banse 9633 at http://ijpr.org Study: Cigarette Tax Evasion Sky-High In Washington, Idaho A Big Supplier Spring Outlook Looks Warm For Coastal Northwest, 'Normal' Spring Inland http://ijpr.org/post/spring-outlook-looks-warm-coastal-northwest-normal-spring-inland <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/032014TB_Spring_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The </span><a href="http://www.noaanews.noaa.gov/stories2014/20140320_springoutlook.html" style="line-height: 1.5;">spring seasonal outlook from the National Weather Service</a><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> calls for a warmer-than-average spring west of the Cascades and normal temperatures and rainfall across the inland Northwest.</span><p> Fri, 21 Mar 2014 05:26:56 +0000 Tom Banse 9453 at http://ijpr.org Spring Outlook Looks Warm For Coastal Northwest, 'Normal' Spring Inland Unemployment Rate Holds Steady In Washington, Dips In Oregon http://ijpr.org/post/unemployment-rate-holds-steady-washington-dips-oregon <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/031914TB_Turek_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Washington state's unemployment rate <a href="https://fortress.wa.gov/esd/employmentdata/reports-publications/economic-reports/monthly-employment-report">held steady in February at 6.4 percent</a> according to fresh numbers from the state Employment Security Department.<p> Wed, 19 Mar 2014 22:53:55 +0000 Tom Banse 9380 at http://ijpr.org Unemployment Rate Holds Steady In Washington, Dips In Oregon Tribes Push To Restore Salmon To Upper Columbia River http://ijpr.org/post/tribes-push-restore-salmon-upper-columbia-river <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/031814TB_GrandCoulee_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Once upon a time, salmon and steelhead swam over a thousand miles upriver to the headwaters of the mighty Columbia River, at the foot of the Rockies in British Columbia.<p> Wed, 19 Mar 2014 22:52:24 +0000 Tom Banse 9379 at http://ijpr.org Tribes Push To Restore Salmon To Upper Columbia River