Tom Banse http://ijpr.org en Endangered Species Listing For Wolverine Looking Doubtful http://ijpr.org/post/endangered-species-listing-wolverine-looking-doubtful <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/071614TB_Wolverine_web2.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A federal threatened species listing for the wolverine is looking increasingly unlikely.</span><p> Tue, 29 Jul 2014 00:28:08 +0000 Tom Banse 16100 at http://ijpr.org Endangered Species Listing For Wolverine Looking Doubtful Alaska Air Says It's Holding Its Own Against Delta Onslaught http://ijpr.org/post/alaska-air-says-its-holding-its-own-against-delta-onslaught <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/20140724airlines.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The intensifying competition between Alaska Airlines and rival Delta Air Lines in the Western skies does not seem to be hurting the bottom line of either company.</span><p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 22:27:50 +0000 Tom Banse 16530 at http://ijpr.org Alaska Air Says It's Holding Its Own Against Delta Onslaught Donors Pay To Test Seawater For Traces Of Fukushima Radiation http://ijpr.org/post/donors-pay-test-seawater-traces-fukushima-radiation <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/072314TB_SeaTest_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>It's been more than three years since the Fukushima nuclear plant accident resulted in a spill of millions of gallons of radioactive cooling water into the Pacific. Oceanographers projected that it could take until this year for highly diluted traces of that spill in Japan to reach the West Coast of North America.<p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 22:00:00 +0000 Tom Banse 16469 at http://ijpr.org Donors Pay To Test Seawater For Traces Of Fukushima Radiation Feds To Remove Fewer Wild Horses From Western Rangelands This Year http://ijpr.org/post/feds-remove-fewer-wild-horses-western-rangelands-year <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/071414TB_WildHorses_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The federal Bureau of Land Management plans to capture and remove fewer wild horses from Western rangelands this summer. An agency statement blames budget constraints and already-full holding pens.<p> Tue, 15 Jul 2014 22:02:58 +0000 Tom Banse 15960 at http://ijpr.org Feds To Remove Fewer Wild Horses From Western Rangelands This Year Want More World Cup? 2015 Women's Final In Vancouver, BC http://ijpr.org/post/want-more-world-cup-2015-womens-final-vancouver-bc <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/071114TB_WorldCup_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Organizers of the next <a href="http://www.fifa.com/womensworldcup/index.html">FIFA Women's World Cup</a> hope to leverage the unusually high interest in this year's men's tournament in Brazil to their benefit. Group play and the 2015 World Cup final will take place just across the border in Vancouver, Canada.<p> Fri, 11 Jul 2014 22:31:58 +0000 Tom Banse 15779 at http://ijpr.org Want More World Cup? 2015 Women's Final In Vancouver, BC Feds Warn States Of Possible Highway Cash Holdback http://ijpr.org/post/feds-warn-states-possible-highway-cash-holdback <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/070314TB_DOTfund_web_3.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The Idaho Transportation Department has suspended advertising for bids for future highway projects. Oregon and Washington may soon do the same.<p> Mon, 07 Jul 2014 22:57:13 +0000 Tom Banse 15495 at http://ijpr.org Feds Warn States Of Possible Highway Cash Holdback Proposed Tribal Recognition Changes Hold Promise, Pitfalls http://ijpr.org/post/proposed-tribal-recognition-changes-hold-promise-pitfalls <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/070114TB_NewTribe_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The U.S. Bureau of Indian Affairs wants to rewrite the rules for when a native tribe is officially a tribe in the eyes of the federal government. This again raises hopes for status and federal benefits among some unrecognized tribes in the West, but they still face a bumpy road.<p> Wed, 02 Jul 2014 22:59:46 +0000 Tom Banse 15226 at http://ijpr.org State Task Force Starts Work On New Drone Regulations In Washington http://ijpr.org/post/state-task-force-starts-work-new-drone-regulations-washington <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/06/063014TB_DroneLaw_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Imagine looking out your window to see a drone hovering outside. That happened in June to a partially-dressed Seattle woman who was startled and outraged.<p> Tue, 01 Jul 2014 00:08:36 +0000 Tom Banse 14997 at http://ijpr.org State Task Force Starts Work On New Drone Regulations In Washington Delta's New Seattle Hub Could Lead To Lower Airfares http://ijpr.org/post/deltas-new-seattle-hub-could-lead-lower-airfares <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/06/061614TB_DeltaHub_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Can two airlines be partners and rivals at the same time? Seattle-based Alaska Airlines and Delta Air Lines are <a href="http://news.delta.com/index.php?s=20295&item=122465">long-term contractual allies</a>. But now the relationship is being tested.<p> Tue, 17 Jun 2014 22:18:58 +0000 Tom Banse 14265 at http://ijpr.org Delta's New Seattle Hub Could Lead To Lower Airfares The Blob: Not The Horror Movie, The Summer Weather Influencer http://ijpr.org/post/blob-not-horror-movie-summer-weather-influencer <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/06/060614TB_WarmBlob_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>"The Blob" was the title of <a href="http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0051418/">a 1958 sci-fi horror movie</a>. It's also the nickname Washington State Climatologist Nick Bond has given to a large patch of warmer-than-normal seawater off the Pacific Northwest coast.<p> Mon, 09 Jun 2014 23:06:42 +0000 Tom Banse 13824 at http://ijpr.org The Blob: Not The Horror Movie, The Summer Weather Influencer