Alice Mullaly http://ijpr.org en Douglas County Delays Pacific Highway Decision http://ijpr.org/post/douglas-county-delays-pacific-highway-decision <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Highway planners had settled before 1914 on regional routes for the Pacific Highway, later known as U.S. Highway 99, from Portland to Eugene, Ore., and north from the California border through Jackson County. But Douglas County officials had refused to allocate the $15,000 it would take to survey the best route through their county.</div><div> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 18:43:27 +0000 Alice Mullaly 14696 at http://ijpr.org Magazine Editor Observes Wartime Fruit Operation http://ijpr.org/post/magazine-editor-observes-wartime-fruit-operation <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">During World War II, the editor of the Southern Oregon Fruit Growers League magazine called the Pear-O-Scope, Jeunesse Butler, observed a fruit auction and how fruit was handled on the piers in New York City.</span></p><div> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 17:48:34 +0000 Alice Mullaly 14685 at http://ijpr.org Woman Flies Solo in Male-Dominated, Early Aviation http://ijpr.org/post/woman-flies-solo-male-dominated-early-aviation <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>It was a long, lonely drive from Medford, Ore., to the Grand Central Air Terminal in Los Angeles in the early 1930s, but Dorothy Carless didn’t mind. She was going to take flying lessons there! &nbsp;She told an interviewer, “I think I was born wanting to fly. … I had my first flight as a passenger at the old Medford airfield. I just kept on thinking and thinking about flying.”</div><div> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 17:40:45 +0000 Alice Mullaly 14683 at http://ijpr.org Morning Swell Throws Schooner Osprey onto Coos Bay's North Jetty http://ijpr.org/post/morning-swell-throws-schooner-osprey-coos-bays-north-jetty <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>&nbsp;The seas were peaceful when the gas-powered Osprey schooner left Gold Beach, Ore., on Oct. 31, 1912, under Capt. Gus Johnson of Wedderburn.&nbsp;</div><div> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 18:27:59 +0000 Alice Mullaly 13169 at http://ijpr.org Comapny Prefers Long sheep Drive to Expensive Railway Shipping http://ijpr.org/post/comapny-prefers-long-sheep-drive-expensive-railway-shipping <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>The Western Meat Company had spent nearly $100,000 in 1914 for 19,000 fat sheep and gathered them in Lakeview, Ore., for shipment to California. &nbsp;But its plans were stymied by forestry officials’ refusal to let the company drive the sheep through the corridor they had been using for years across the Klamath/Modoc Reservation to the railhead at Klamath Falls.&nbsp;</div><p> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 17:49:40 +0000 Alice Mullaly 13163 at http://ijpr.org Last Entry in Ashland Fourth of July Parade Features Live Rattlesnakes http://ijpr.org/post/last-entry-ashland-fourth-july-parade-features-live-rattlesnakes <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>As the last entry in the Fourth of July parade in Ashland, Ore., pulled to a stop in the plaza, children would begin shouting, “There he comes, there he comes!” And, sure enough, there would be Bill Johnson in his sawed-off jeep with the bed filled with cages of writhing rattlesnakes. &nbsp;From the 1940s into the 1970s, Johnson’s snakes marked the end of the parade.</div><div> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 17:40:26 +0000 Alice Mullaly 13154 at http://ijpr.org Women Mine Gold in Southern Oregon 100 Years Ago http://ijpr.org/post/women-mine-gold-southern-oregon-100-years-ago <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Before she was a miner, Mrs. Wisenbacker played the role of Miss Pipes in the Anna Held Company’s theatrical performance titled “The Little Duchess.” &nbsp;But in 1903 she decided to join her father and brother at their Forest Queen Hydraulic Mine near Grants Pass, Ore.&nbsp;</span></p><div> Wed, 28 May 2014 17:39:00 +0000 Alice Mullaly 11244 at http://ijpr.org Foots Creek Provides Crushed Rock for Interstate 5 http://ijpr.org/post/foots-creek-provides-crushed-rock-interstate-5 <p></p><p></p><p>It was a dangerous drive up Foots Creek between the towns of Rogue River and Gold Hill, Ore., in 1961. A continuous stream of huge dump trucks carried crushed creek rock at the rate of 500 tons an hour, 16 hours a day for construction of Interstate 5.&nbsp; One accident seriously injured a driver without damage to the truck.</p><p> Wed, 21 May 2014 17:17:00 +0000 Alice Mullaly 11238 at http://ijpr.org Stallion Chooses between Wild Herd and the Halter http://ijpr.org/post/stallion-chooses-between-wild-herd-and-halter <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Small herds of wild horses formed in the Southern Oregon mountains when pioneers let their stock loose to graze. &nbsp;In 1930, Jim and Ada Bell coveted a small black colt in a wild herd near their Siskiyou Mountain ranch. When he was a two-year-old, they caught him.</div><p> Wed, 14 May 2014 16:43:00 +0000 Alice Mullaly 11230 at http://ijpr.org Southern Oregonians Participate in U.S. Foreign Policy Debate http://ijpr.org/post/southern-oregonians-participate-us-foreign-policy-debate <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>From 1958 until 1963, nine Central Point, Ore., friends ranging in age from 16 to 75 met eight times a year in a Great Decision Discussion group, studying and discussing America’s foreign policy. They were ordinary people who believed individuals could make a difference in the world. At the end of a meeting, each person would cast a ballot that was tallied with thousands of others from across the country and the results sent to the U.S. State Department.</div><p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 16:22:00 +0000 Alice Mullaly 9735 at http://ijpr.org