Alice Mullaly http://ijpr.org en Southern Oregonians Participate in U.S. Foreign Policy Debate http://ijpr.org/post/southern-oregonians-participate-us-foreign-policy-debate <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>From 1958 until 1963, nine Central Point, Ore., friends ranging in age from 16 to 75 met eight times a year in a Great Decision Discussion group, studying and discussing America’s foreign policy. They were ordinary people who believed individuals could make a difference in the world. At the end of a meeting, each person would cast a ballot that was tallied with thousands of others from across the country and the results sent to the U.S. State Department.</div><p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 16:22:00 +0000 Alice Mullaly 9735 at http://ijpr.org Fire Destroys Grange Co-op in Central Point, Ore. http://ijpr.org/post/fire-destroys-grange-co-op-central-point-ore <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Since 1947, the Grange Co-op grain elevator had been a beacon for miles around Central Point, Ore, but on the night of Oct. 12, 1961, it became a terrifying pillar of flame.</span></p><p> Fri, 11 Apr 2014 15:55:00 +0000 Alice Mullaly 9731 at http://ijpr.org Newspaper Publisher Suggests Dog Shelter Savings http://ijpr.org/post/newspaper-publisher-suggests-dog-shelter-savings <p></p><p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>The animal shelter in Jackson County, Ore., was handling up to 250 dogs a month in 1961 and running out of space. &nbsp;The proposed budget contained $7,000 for building a new cement-block, heated structure to house dogs that were being kept only five days. Maxwell Thayer, owner and editor of the Rogue River Times had a better idea.</div><p> Tue, 01 Apr 2014 14:53:00 +0000 Alice Mullaly 9719 at http://ijpr.org Speed Phillips Tells Tall Tales about His Prospecting Days http://ijpr.org/post/speed-phillips-tells-tall-tales-about-his-prospecting-days <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Speed Phillips never made much money, but prospected for gold all his life. Both his grandfathers were “forty-niners” in California, one seeking his fortune as a dairy farmer and the other as a builder.</span></p><div> Wed, 26 Mar 2014 17:21:00 +0000 Alice Mullaly 8304 at http://ijpr.org Mountain Community of Dudley, Ore., Becomes a Memory http://ijpr.org/post/mountain-community-dudley-ore-becomes-memory <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Four Spencer brothers moved their families from Pennsylvania to Oregon in 1905 to take advantage of the Homestead Act. The Spencers and other families staked their claims in deep woods atop a 4,000-foot ridge six miles north of Butte Falls, Ore.</div><div> Tue, 11 Mar 2014 16:09:00 +0000 Alice Mullaly 8292 at http://ijpr.org Bureau of Reclamation Rescues Bear Creek Irrigation Crisis http://ijpr.org/post/bureau-reclamation-rescues-bear-creek-irrigation-crisis <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Three irrigation districts in Southern Oregon first realized in the 1930s that their infrastructure was deteriorating. &nbsp;Founded years earlier as private companies, they also realized they couldn’t afford the expense of preserving the orchards and fields of the Rogue Basin.</div><div> Wed, 05 Mar 2014 16:37:00 +0000 Alice Mullaly 8288 at http://ijpr.org Polio Rushes through Southern Oregon in 1935 http://ijpr.org/post/polio-rushes-through-southern-oregon-1935 <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>The dreaded disease of poliomyelitis, rushed through Southern Oregon in November 1935. &nbsp;Also known as infantile paralysis, polio first hit Klamath County with isolated cases in October that led to school closures.&nbsp;</div><p> Thu, 20 Feb 2014 22:11:39 +0000 Alice Mullaly 6541 at http://ijpr.org Herbert Hoover Gives Lincoln Birthday Radio Address http://ijpr.org/post/herbert-hoover-gives-lincoln-birthday-radio-address <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>On Feb. 12, 1936, former President Herbert Hoover gave a radio address from Portland, Ore., to honor Abraham Lincoln’s birthday. The Lincoln Club of Jackson County urged all members to arrive in time at its banquet in the Medford Hotel to hear the 7 p.m. radio broadcast.</div><p> Fri, 14 Feb 2014 22:21:18 +0000 Alice Mullaly 6537 at http://ijpr.org Medford Girls Partner with Hollywood Dancer http://ijpr.org/post/medford-girls-partner-hollywood-dancer <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">During the Great Depression, movie theaters offered special entertainment in addition to movies. The week of Sept. 8, 1935, featured an opportunity for local girls to compete in a “Dance to the Stars” contest cosponsored by the Medford Mail Tribune at the Craterian Theater in Medford.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Thu, 06 Feb 2014 22:30:50 +0000 Alice Mullaly 6529 at http://ijpr.org Coal Keeps CCC Boys Warm at Camp Prescott http://ijpr.org/post/coal-keeps-ccc-boys-warm-camp-prescott <p></p><p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>One of the successful Depression Era Civilian Conservation Corps camps in Southern Oregon was on Roxy Anne Butte in Medford, Ore. &nbsp;In November 1935 new recruits who had nearly frozen in their tents in Vancouver, Wash., arrived at Roxy Anne’s Camp Prescott.</div><p> Thu, 30 Jan 2014 22:47:22 +0000 Alice Mullaly 4924 at http://ijpr.org