All Things Considered http://ijpr.org en A Knuckleball No More: World Cup Soccer Ball Gets A Redesign http://ijpr.org/post/knuckleball-no-more-world-cup-soccer-ball-gets-redesign John Eric Goff, the chair of the physics department at Lynchburg College, explains the science of the 2014 World Cup soccer ball. The Adidas Brazuca is expected to perform better than the version used in South Africa in 2010. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 20:50:00 +0000 NPR Staff 11184 at http://ijpr.org Album Review: 'Abracaco' http://ijpr.org/post/album-review-abracaco Caetano Veloso has been making music for over 40 years, and he's among the best known singers in his native Brazil. Banning Eyre says that Veloso's new album, <em>Abracaco</em>, is one of the most engaging in his epic career. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 20:35:00 +0000 editor 11185 at http://ijpr.org Online Sales Taxes Shift Consumer Behavior, Study Shows http://ijpr.org/post/online-sales-taxes-shift-consumer-behavior-study-shows Technically, consumers are supposed to pay taxes on things they buy online. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 20:16:00 +0000 Yuki Noguchi 11168 at http://ijpr.org Online Sales Taxes Shift Consumer Behavior, Study Shows Who's Getting Preschool Right? Researchers Point To Tulsa http://ijpr.org/post/whos-getting-preschool-right-researchers-point-tulsa Many educators say quality early childhood education programs give young children a strong foundation for kindergarten and beyond.<p>But what does a high-quality preschool program look like? Early childhood education researchers point to Tulsa, Okla., as a school system that gets it right. NPR's education team went to Tulsa to find out what help sets the city's preschool program apart. <a href="http://www.npr.org/2014/04/22/304563233/what-exactly-is-high-quality-preschool">You can read more about what they found — and visit a Tulsa preschool classroom, here</a>. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 20:16:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 11169 at http://ijpr.org Who's Getting Preschool Right? Researchers Point To Tulsa Ex-Ranger Recalls The Friendly Fire That Killed Pat Tillman http://ijpr.org/post/ex-ranger-recalls-friendly-fire-killed-pat-tillman Ten years ago Tuesday, former NFL star Pat Tillman was killed by friendly fire in Afghanistan. Steven Elliott was one of the Army Rangers who fired on Tillman, and <a href="http://espn.go.com/espn/feature/story/_/id/10816260/pat-tillman-enduring-guilt">he told his story recently on ESPN's <em>Outside the Lines</em>.</a> <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 20:16:00 +0000 NPR Staff 11178 at http://ijpr.org Searching The Planet To Find Power For The Cloud http://ijpr.org/post/searching-planet-find-power-cloud <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_FJ6_kEEKJg</p> Mon, 21 Apr 2014 22:03:00 +0000 editor 11127 at http://ijpr.org Searching The Planet To Find Power For The Cloud The Tawdry Ballad Of A Man, A Casino And A Game Of Chance http://ijpr.org/post/tawdry-ballad-man-casino-and-game-chance Millionaire Chinese gamblers, high-class Mongolian escorts, drunken Englishmen — these are the kind of characters who populate Lawrence Osborne's hypnotic new novel, <em>The Ballad of a Small Player</em>. Set in the hotels and casinos of Macau, a former Portuguese colony where ostentatious 21st century glamour meets the faded charms of old Asia, the novel traces the trajectory of a compulsive gambler, the self-styled "Lord" Doyle, a man who seems addicted to failure. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 22:02:00 +0000 Tash Aw 11126 at http://ijpr.org The Tawdry Ballad Of A Man, A Casino And A Game Of Chance To Keep Business Growing, Vendors Rebrand Pot's Stoner Image http://ijpr.org/post/keep-business-growing-vendors-rebrand-pots-stoner-image From the outside, Jan Cole's recreational marijuana store in Boulder, Colo., just feels welcoming. Big glass windows let in natural light, and the walls are painted in soothing earth tones. Cole used her background in spa management to build a "warm and inviting" pot shop that puts customers at ease.<p>In fact, the store's name, The Farm, is so inconspicuous, "we have a lot of people who come in think that we might be an organic food grocer or something," she says.<p>And that's exactly who Cole is trying to attract: the tote-bag carrying, socially conscious, natural-food crowd. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 21:16:00 +0000 editor 11122 at http://ijpr.org To Keep Business Growing, Vendors Rebrand Pot's Stoner Image Robotic Exoskeleton Helps Get Vets Back On Their Feet http://ijpr.org/post/robotic-exoskeleton-helps-get-vets-back-their-feet Several bio-tech companies are developing exoskeletons that give people superhuman abilities. These robotic suits are also doing something simpler: They're helping people who are paralyzed, including many veterans, stand up and walk. As Erin Toner of WUWM reports, the technology helps improve patients' mental and physical health, but it's far from changing their lives entirely. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 Milwaukee Public Radio. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 20:39:00 +0000 editor 11117 at http://ijpr.org 'Boondocks' Returns After Four Years To An Altered Comedy Landscape http://ijpr.org/post/after-four-years-away-boondocks-returns-tv When celebrity chef Paula Deen got in trouble for <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/codeswitch/2013/06/20/193913397/stuff-you-might-have-missed-in-the-paula-deen-brouhaha">maybe being racist</a> last year, I couldn't help but think about <em>The Boondocks</em>. The Deen controversy, and all of the comedic potential it provided, seemed to be perfect fodder for an episode of the Peabody Award-winning show that airs on Cartoon Network's Adult Swim.<p>But the show has been on hiatus for four years. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 20:36:00 +0000 editor 11118 at http://ijpr.org 'Boondocks' Returns After Four Years To An Altered Comedy Landscape