As It Was http://ijpr.org en Exhausted Pioneer Asks Applegate for Tobacco http://ijpr.org/post/exhausted-pioneer-asks-applegate-tobacco <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>In the spring of 1861, Missouri farmer Floyd Farrar and his wife, Wilmoth (Banta) Farrar, headed West with their infant children, Martha Octavia and John Henry.</div><div> Wed, 20 Aug 2014 22:10:40 +0000 Kernan Turner 16767 at http://ijpr.org Sutherlin, Ore., Preserves 1921 Steam Locomotive http://ijpr.org/post/sutherlin-ore-preserves-1921-steam-locomotive <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>&nbsp;Central Park in Sutherlin, Ore., displays one of 59 surviving steam locomotives in Oregon. It has a wheel arrangement called a “prairie” with two leading wheels, six coupled driving wheels and two trailing wheels.</div><div> Wed, 20 Aug 2014 22:10:00 +0000 Emily Blakely 16766 at http://ijpr.org Old Trail Connects Wagner Butte to Ashland Watershed http://ijpr.org/post/old-trail-connects-wagner-butte-ashland-watershed <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Using modern technology, the Ashland Woodlands and Trails Association has uncovered one of the oldest trails in the Ashland Watershed.</span></p><div> Wed, 20 Aug 2014 22:09:25 +0000 Amy Couture 16765 at http://ijpr.org Railroad Town Serves Lumber Industry http://ijpr.org/post/railroad-town-serves-lumber-industry <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Gold rush miners settled many towns in Siskiyou County, Calif., but not the little town of Tailholt, born in 1888 to serve the lumber industry. It was positioned at the end of the railroad in Shasta Valley, on the east side of today’s Interstate 5. At least a dozen lumber mills existed where present-day Ball Mountain Road is located.&nbsp;</div><div> Wed, 20 Aug 2014 22:06:19 +0000 Gail Fiorini-Jenner 16763 at http://ijpr.org Jackson County Pays Predator Bounties http://ijpr.org/post/jackson-county-pays-predator-bounties <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;Jackson County, Ore., began paying bounties to predator hunters in April 1910, responding to complaints from farmers that the “varmints” were eating their livestock.</span></p><div> Wed, 20 Aug 2014 22:05:45 +0000 Dmitri Shockey 16762 at http://ijpr.org Strawberry Valley Joins School District http://ijpr.org/post/strawberry-valley-joins-school-district <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>The history of Strawberry Valley schools in Siskiyou County, Calif., began with official district recognition in 1870.</div><div> Fri, 15 Aug 2014 22:47:55 +0000 Gail Fiorini-Jenner 16761 at http://ijpr.org Umpqua Valley Flower Fights for Survival http://ijpr.org/post/umpqua-valley-flower-fights-survival <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Rough Popcorn flower loves the Umpqua Valley, the only place in the world where it grows. Discovered near Sutherlin, Ore., in 1887, the small, yellow-centered white flower that resembles buttery popcorn is fighting for survival today.</span></p><div> Fri, 15 Aug 2014 22:47:26 +0000 Jim Long 16760 at http://ijpr.org Divorce Provides Public Entertainment in 1927 http://ijpr.org/post/divorce-provides-public-entertainment-1927 <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>&nbsp;In today’s society, divorces are seldom news unless celebrities are involved. &nbsp;In 1927, any divorce was a potential news story.&nbsp;</div><p> Fri, 15 Aug 2014 22:46:50 +0000 Pat Harper 16759 at http://ijpr.org Order of the Antelope Protects Pronghorns http://ijpr.org/post/order-antelope-protects-pronghorns <p></p> Fri, 15 Aug 2014 22:46:24 +0000 Alice Mullaly 16758 at http://ijpr.org Alcohol-Fueled Fights Rage over Civil War http://ijpr.org/post/alcohol-fueled-fights-rage-over-civil-war <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Like other recently arrived pioneers, Martha and Garrett Maupin looked to Oregon as the Promised Land. But in the 1850s paradise had flaws.&nbsp;</div><p> Fri, 15 Aug 2014 22:45:44 +0000 Betsy Byers 16757 at http://ijpr.org Road to Oregon Caves Expands Southern Oregon Tourism http://ijpr.org/post/road-oregon-caves-expands-southern-oregon-tourism <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>In 1916, Josephine County received federal money to build an automobile highway between Grants Pass and the Josephine County Caves, known today as the Oregon Caves.</div><div> Fri, 08 Aug 2014 17:57:53 +0000 Dmitri Shockey 16756 at http://ijpr.org Most Klamath Residents Welcome Railroad Underpass http://ijpr.org/post/most-klamath-residents-welcome-railroad-underpass <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Many Klamath Falls residents were overjoyed to learn in 1937 that the state would build a railroad underpass to eliminate long waits at the busy Main Street crossing.</div><div> Fri, 08 Aug 2014 17:57:01 +0000 Todd Kepple 16755 at http://ijpr.org Rogue Valley Women Form Colony Club in 1911 http://ijpr.org/post/rogue-valley-women-form-colony-club-1911 <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The orchardists of Southern Oregon’s Rogue Valley had their men’s club in Medford. The women gathered at the Nash Hotel until they formed their own Colony Club in 1911. &nbsp;After meeting in several locations the first few years, they purchased a home on Geneva Street in 1928 where some 50 club members still congregate.</span></p><div> Fri, 08 Aug 2014 17:56:21 +0000 Alice Mullaly 16754 at http://ijpr.org Ina Stocker Teaches for 40 Years in the Upper Applegate http://ijpr.org/post/ina-stocker-teaches-40-years-upper-applegate <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>In 1906 Ina Stocker and her mother came to Jackson County from Iowa where Stocker had taught school. &nbsp;</div><div> Fri, 08 Aug 2014 17:55:42 +0000 Luana (Loffer) Corbin 16753 at http://ijpr.org Happy Camp Builds California's First Log High School http://ijpr.org/post/happy-camp-builds-californias-first-log-high-school <p></p> Fri, 08 Aug 2014 17:55:08 +0000 Gail Fiorini-Jenner 16752 at http://ijpr.org Linkville, Ore., Fights to Retain County Seat Status http://ijpr.org/post/linkville-ore-fights-retain-county-seat-status <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>There was a time when people in Linkville, the precursor to Klamath Falls, had to journey more than 100 miles over the Cascades to reach the county seat in Jacksonville, Ore. &nbsp;The town of Linkville, population 250, was in Jackson County until Feb. 1, 1875, when the eastern portion of the county became Lake County. &nbsp;</div><p> Mon, 04 Aug 2014 14:55:00 +0000 Kernan Turner 16751 at http://ijpr.org Mount Ashland Draws 200 Runners from Around the Country http://ijpr.org/post/mount-ashland-draws-200-runners-around-country <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Every August, about 200 runners from across the country scramble up 13 miles of watershed trails from Lithia Park to the top of Southern Oregon’s 7,500-foot Mount Ashland. &nbsp;It takes only two or three hours, compared with two days by mule and horseback in the early days.</div><div> Mon, 04 Aug 2014 14:54:19 +0000 Amy Couture 16749 at http://ijpr.org Roseburg, Ore., Cancer Center Focuses on Hope http://ijpr.org/post/roseburg-ore-cancer-center-focuses-hope <p></p> Mon, 04 Aug 2014 14:53:47 +0000 Jim Long 16748 at http://ijpr.org Teacher in Bloomers Shocks Supervisor http://ijpr.org/post/teacher-bloomers-shocks-supervisor <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>&nbsp;</div><div>The school at Climax, Ore., on Antelope Creek north of Grizzly Peak had been unable to keep a teacher for a full term for several years. One woman reported the sticky mud was so bad on the trail to school that it weighed down the hem of her skirt and crept up her back to her neck. &nbsp;</div><div> Mon, 04 Aug 2014 14:53:02 +0000 Alice Mullaly 16747 at http://ijpr.org Boat Builder Chooses Aluminum over Wood http://ijpr.org/post/boat-builder-chooses-aluminum-over-wood <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">As a fishing guide on the Rogue River, Willie Illingworth knew firsthand that a 20-foot, heavy cedar or plywood boat was tortuous to row and handle and required constant maintenance. &nbsp;He figured an aluminum driftboat would make more sense.</span></p><div> Mon, 04 Aug 2014 14:52:16 +0000 Dennis M. Powers 16746 at http://ijpr.org