As It Was http://ijpr.org en Camas Plant Plays Tribal Food and Cultural Role http://ijpr.org/post/camas-plant-plays-tribal-food-and-cultural-role <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>The native Pacific Northwest camas plant has long been associated with Indian tribes from Northern California to British Columbia, with its most diverse and abundant concentration in Southern Oregon.</div><div> Mon, 28 Jul 2014 18:32:47 +0000 Dmitri Shockey 14707 at http://ijpr.org Mighty Wurlitzer Awakens at Egyptian Theater in Coos Bay, Ore. http://ijpr.org/post/mighty-wurlitzer-awakens-egyptian-theater-coos-bay-ore <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>The Mighty Wurlitzer awakened at the grand reopening of the 89-year-old Egyptian Theater, which had been closed since 2005.</div><div> Mon, 28 Jul 2014 18:31:55 +0000 Kernan Turner 14706 at http://ijpr.org Suicidal Behavior Affects Some Early Southern Oregon Settlers http://ijpr.org/post/suicidal-behavior-affects-some-early-southern-oregon-settlers <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>History writer Barbara Hegne describes some early cases of strange diseases and suicidal behavior in her book titled Settling The Rogue Valley: The Tough Times—The Forgotten People.</div><div> Mon, 28 Jul 2014 18:30:38 +0000 Maryann Mason 14705 at http://ijpr.org Plane Crashes in Red Butte Wilderness, Killing All Four Aboard http://ijpr.org/post/plane-crashes-red-butte-wilderness-killing-all-four-aboard <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;It was mid-afternoon, July 28, 1945, when Rob Armstrong took off in his Stinson airplane from Red Butte, Calif. His three passengers were Sylvan Gosliner, a San Francisco businessman, his wife, Ruby, and her sister, Alma Pratt.</span></p><div> Mon, 28 Jul 2014 18:28:08 +0000 Kirsten Shockey 14704 at http://ijpr.org Giant Airship Lands in Medford, Ore., in 2010 http://ijpr.org/post/giant-airship-lands-medford-ore-2010 <p></p><p></p><p>Residents in the Rogue Valley had a rare opportunity to view the Zeppelin airship Eureka in August of 2010 when it was on a five-city tour of the Pacific Northwest. Its first touchdown in Oregon was at the Rogue Valley International Airport.<br /> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 18:48:33 +0000 Luana (Loffer) Corbin 14703 at http://ijpr.org Stars Escape from Little Shasta Girl's Bag http://ijpr.org/post/stars-escape-little-shasta-girls-bag <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Northern California’s Shasta Tribe has shared many early tales of the region. &nbsp;One relates how a little girl accidentally scattered stars across the sky.</div><div> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 18:48:10 +0000 Gail Fiorini-Jenner 14702 at http://ijpr.org Theodore Stern Becomes Leading Scholar on Klamath Indians http://ijpr.org/post/theodore-stern-becomes-leading-scholar-klamath-indians <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Ten years ago the Umatilla Indian Tribe of Eastern Oregon declared July 29 “Dr. Theodore Stern Day” in honor of the leading scholar on the linguistics and anthropology of the Klamath and Nez Perce people. &nbsp;</div><div> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 18:47:46 +0000 Kernan Turner 14701 at http://ijpr.org Grants Pass Boatnik Festival Raises Money for Community Programs http://ijpr.org/post/grants-pass-boatnik-festival-raises-money-community-programs <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Since 1959, the Grants Pass Active Club has held its annual, five-day Boatnik festival along the Rogue River on Memorial Day weekend.&nbsp;</div><div> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 18:45:27 +0000 Dennis M. Powers 14700 at http://ijpr.org Douglas County Delays Pacific Highway Decision http://ijpr.org/post/douglas-county-delays-pacific-highway-decision <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Highway planners had settled before 1914 on regional routes for the Pacific Highway, later known as U.S. Highway 99, from Portland to Eugene, Ore., and north from the California border through Jackson County. But Douglas County officials had refused to allocate the $15,000 it would take to survey the best route through their county.</div><div> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 18:43:27 +0000 Alice Mullaly 14696 at http://ijpr.org Jaston Hartman and Sons Build Jackson County Bridges http://ijpr.org/post/jaston-hartman-and-sons-build-jackson-county-bridges <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>&nbsp;</div><div>An oil derrick builder, Jaston Hartman, left Ohio and moved to Jacksonville in 1900, where he used his skills to build Oregon barns. &nbsp;He soon became Jackson County’s bridge superintendent.</div><div> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 17:55:25 +0000 Maryann Mason 14694 at http://ijpr.org