As It Was http://ijpr.org en SOU Herbarium Rediscovers Donated Plant Collection http://ijpr.org/post/sou-herbarium-rediscovers-donated-plant-collection <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>The Southern Oregon University Herbarium was long neglected when botanist Frank Callahan offered in 2012 to clean and organize its collection of nearly 24,000 specimens.</div><p> Wed, 23 Apr 2014 16:46:00 +0000 Kernan Turner 9746 at http://ijpr.org Railroad Baron Throws Axe at Medford Mayor http://ijpr.org/post/railroad-baron-throws-axe-medford-mayor <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>By 1908 W.S. Barnum, president of the Rogue River Valley Railroad, had made a fortune providing public transportation in the valley. &nbsp;</div><p> Tue, 22 Apr 2014 16:44:00 +0000 Dmitri Shockey 9745 at http://ijpr.org Barns and Watering Troughs Serve as 1880s Billboards http://ijpr.org/post/barns-and-watering-troughs-serve-1880s-billboards <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Barns and watering troughs served as billboards in the 1880s, proof that advertising was as much a part of life in those days as railroading and road building.</div><p> Mon, 21 Apr 2014 16:33:00 +0000 Gail Fiorini-Jenner 9743 at http://ijpr.org Dam Removal Creates New Gold Rush http://ijpr.org/post/dam-removal-creates-new-gold-rush <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Researchers predicted benefits from removing the 106-year-old Gold Ray Dam in 2010. &nbsp;Among them were more salmon and steelhead swimming upriver to spawn and more rafters enjoying the scenery along 57 miles of newly opened water. But who anticipated gold fever!</span></p><p> Fri, 18 Apr 2014 16:29:00 +0000 Dennis M. Powers 9742 at http://ijpr.org Southern Oregonians Participate in U.S. Foreign Policy Debate http://ijpr.org/post/southern-oregonians-participate-us-foreign-policy-debate <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>From 1958 until 1963, nine Central Point, Ore., friends ranging in age from 16 to 75 met eight times a year in a Great Decision Discussion group, studying and discussing America’s foreign policy. They were ordinary people who believed individuals could make a difference in the world. At the end of a meeting, each person would cast a ballot that was tallied with thousands of others from across the country and the results sent to the U.S. State Department.</div><p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 16:22:00 +0000 Alice Mullaly 9735 at http://ijpr.org Gold-and-Whiskey-Thirsty Outlaws Randomly Kill 17 Townspeople http://ijpr.org/post/gold-and-whiskey-thirsty-outlaws-randomly-kill-17-townspeople <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>The lust for gold in Oregon attracted not only miners, but also thieves.</div><p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 16:16:00 +0000 Luana (Loffer) Corbin 9734 at http://ijpr.org Baby Survives Fall from Father's Ashland Flour Mill http://ijpr.org/post/baby-survives-fall-fathers-ashland-flour-mill <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Pioneer Abel Helman built Ashland, Oregon’s Flouring Mill in 1854, the same year his wife, Martha, gave birth to their son, John. &nbsp;One day after lunch, Helman took the 15-month-old boy to work with him. &nbsp;The mother planned to meet them later at the flour mill.</div><p> Tue, 15 Apr 2014 16:09:00 +0000 Amy Couture 9733 at http://ijpr.org Ashland Golfer Surprises Fans at Northern Trust Open http://ijpr.org/post/ashland-golfer-surprises-fans-northern-trust-open <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">An Ashland High School graduate who was the 1996 Oregon High School golf champion, Jason Allred, went on to play on the Professional Golfers’ Association Tour. &nbsp;Before that, he competed in collegiate golf at Pepperdine University in Malibu, Calif., where he graduated in 2002.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 16:00:00 +0000 Dennis M. Powers 9732 at http://ijpr.org Fire Destroys Grange Co-op in Central Point, Ore. http://ijpr.org/post/fire-destroys-grange-co-op-central-point-ore <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Since 1947, the Grange Co-op grain elevator had been a beacon for miles around Central Point, Ore, but on the night of Oct. 12, 1961, it became a terrifying pillar of flame.</span></p><p> Fri, 11 Apr 2014 15:55:00 +0000 Alice Mullaly 9731 at http://ijpr.org Popular Priest Shares Whiskey with Waldo, Ore., Miners http://ijpr.org/post/popular-priest-shares-whiskey-waldo-ore-miners <p></p><p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>French-Canadian Priest X.F. Blanchard, may have been about the only man of God that the hard-drinking miners of Waldo were happy to see.&nbsp;</div><p> Thu, 10 Apr 2014 15:50:00 +0000 Dmitri Shockey 9730 at http://ijpr.org