As It Was http://ijpr.org en Giant Airship Lands in Medford, Ore., in 2010 http://ijpr.org/post/giant-airship-lands-medford-ore-2010 <p></p><p></p><p>Residents in the Rogue Valley had a rare opportunity to view the Zeppelin airship Eureka in August of 2010 when it was on a five-city tour of the Pacific Northwest. Its first touchdown in Oregon was at the Rogue Valley International Airport.<br /> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 18:48:33 +0000 Luana Corson 14703 at http://ijpr.org Stars Escape from Little Shasta Girl's Bag http://ijpr.org/post/stars-escape-little-shasta-girls-bag <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Northern California’s Shasta Tribe has shared many early tales of the region. &nbsp;One relates how a little girl accidentally scattered stars across the sky.</div><div> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 18:48:10 +0000 Gail Fiorini-Jenner 14702 at http://ijpr.org Theodore Stern Becomes Leading Scholar on Klamath Indians http://ijpr.org/post/theodore-stern-becomes-leading-scholar-klamath-indians <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Ten years ago the Umatilla Indian Tribe of Eastern Oregon declared July 29 “Dr. Theodore Stern Day” in honor of the leading scholar on the linguistics and anthropology of the Klamath and Nez Perce people. &nbsp;</div><div> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 18:47:46 +0000 Kernan Turner 14701 at http://ijpr.org Grants Pass Boatnik Festival Raises Money for Community Programs http://ijpr.org/post/grants-pass-boatnik-festival-raises-money-community-programs <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Since 1959, the Grants Pass Active Club has held its annual, five-day Boatnik festival along the Rogue River on Memorial Day weekend.&nbsp;</div><div> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 18:45:27 +0000 Dennis M. Powers 14700 at http://ijpr.org Douglas County Delays Pacific Highway Decision http://ijpr.org/post/douglas-county-delays-pacific-highway-decision <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Highway planners had settled before 1914 on regional routes for the Pacific Highway, later known as U.S. Highway 99, from Portland to Eugene, Ore., and north from the California border through Jackson County. But Douglas County officials had refused to allocate the $15,000 it would take to survey the best route through their county.</div><div> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 18:43:27 +0000 Alice Mullaly 14696 at http://ijpr.org Jaston Hartman and Sons Build Jackson County Bridges http://ijpr.org/post/jaston-hartman-and-sons-build-jackson-county-bridges <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>&nbsp;</div><div>An oil derrick builder, Jaston Hartman, left Ohio and moved to Jacksonville in 1900, where he used his skills to build Oregon barns. &nbsp;He soon became Jackson County’s bridge superintendent.</div><div> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 17:55:25 +0000 Maryann Mason 14694 at http://ijpr.org Early Rogue Valley Maps Show Towns That No Longer Exist http://ijpr.org/post/early-rogue-valley-maps-show-towns-no-longer-exist <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>On the wall of the 1912 Sunset Schoolhouse in Fort Rock, Ore., is an Oregon map from the 1920s. &nbsp;It shows the major towns of Ashland and Medford along the Oregon and California Railroad line through the Rogue Valley, and smaller communities that no longer exist. &nbsp;</div><div> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 17:54:50 +0000 Amy Couture 14693 at http://ijpr.org Plane Crashes on Montague's First Airfield http://ijpr.org/post/plane-crashes-montagues-first-airfield <p></p><p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>The first landing strip at Montague, Calif., was an open field south of Little Shasta Road. It had a large board with a white-canvass cross that guided pilots to safe landings.&nbsp;</div><div> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 17:53:50 +0000 Gail Fiorini-Jenner 14689 at http://ijpr.org Hisotrian Kay Atwood Leaves Legacy of Books and Stories http://ijpr.org/post/hisotrian-kay-atwood-leaves-legacy-books-and-stories <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>One of Southern Oregon’s most respected historians, Kay Atwood, who died recently at her home in Ashland, left a legacy of many published books and stories. &nbsp;Among them are titles such as Mill Creek Journal: Ashland, Oregon 1850-1860 and Chaining Oregon--Surveying the Public Lands of the Pacific Northwest, 1851-1855.</div><div> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 17:52:58 +0000 Betsy Byers 14688 at http://ijpr.org River Guide Makes Zane Grey's Rogue Famous http://ijpr.org/post/river-guide-makes-zane-greys-rogue-famous <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Zane Grey made the Rogue River famous for its fishing in the 1920s and 30s, but he couldn’t have done it without the river guide and boat builder Glenn Wooldridge.</div><div> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 17:50:51 +0000 Maryann Mason 14687 at http://ijpr.org