As It Was http://ijpr.org en Gold-and-Whiskey-Thirsty Outlaws Randomly Kill 17 Townspeople http://ijpr.org/post/gold-and-whiskey-thirsty-outlaws-randomly-kill-17-townspeople <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>The lust for gold in Oregon attracted not only miners, but also thieves.</div><p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 16:16:00 +0000 Laurel Corbin 9734 at http://ijpr.org Baby Survives Fall from Father's Ashland Flour Mill http://ijpr.org/post/baby-survives-fall-fathers-ashland-flour-mill <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Pioneer Abel Helman built Ashland, Oregon’s Flouring Mill in 1854, the same year his wife, Martha, gave birth to their son, John. &nbsp;One day after lunch, Helman took the 15-month-old boy to work with him. &nbsp;The mother planned to meet them later at the flour mill.</div><p> Tue, 15 Apr 2014 16:09:00 +0000 Amy Couture 9733 at http://ijpr.org Ashland Golfer Surprises Fans at Northern Trust Open http://ijpr.org/post/ashland-golfer-surprises-fans-northern-trust-open <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">An Ashland High School graduate who was the 1996 Oregon High School golf champion, Jason Allred, went on to play on the Professional Golfers’ Association Tour. &nbsp;Before that, he competed in collegiate golf at Pepperdine University in Malibu, Calif., where he graduated in 2002.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 16:00:00 +0000 Dennis M. Powers 9732 at http://ijpr.org Fire Destroys Grange Co-op in Central Point, Ore. http://ijpr.org/post/fire-destroys-grange-co-op-central-point-ore <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Since 1947, the Grange Co-op grain elevator had been a beacon for miles around Central Point, Ore, but on the night of Oct. 12, 1961, it became a terrifying pillar of flame.</span></p><p> Fri, 11 Apr 2014 15:55:00 +0000 Alice Mullaly 9731 at http://ijpr.org Popular Priest Shares Whiskey with Waldo, Ore., Miners http://ijpr.org/post/popular-priest-shares-whiskey-waldo-ore-miners <p></p><p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>French-Canadian Priest X.F. Blanchard, may have been about the only man of God that the hard-drinking miners of Waldo were happy to see.&nbsp;</div><p> Thu, 10 Apr 2014 15:50:00 +0000 Dmitri Shockey 9730 at http://ijpr.org Electrified Railways Link Medford and Jacksonville http://ijpr.org/post/electrified-railways-link-medford-and-jacksonville <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>There was a time when electrified railways ran through downtown Medford and connected Medford with Jacksonville.&nbsp; Those tracks are long gone today.</p><p> Wed, 09 Apr 2014 15:47:00 +0000 Kernan Turner 9729 at http://ijpr.org Medford Prepares for 61st Annual Pear Blossom Festival http://ijpr.org/post/medford-prepares-61st-annual-pear-blossom-festival <p></p><div><span style="line-height: 1.5;">For 60 years thousands of Southern </span>Oregonians<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> have celebrated the arrival of spring at the annual Pear Blossom Festival in Medford, Ore.</span><br /><br /><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The festival began in 1954 with a 10-float children’s parade featuring a 5-year-old Miss Blossom.</span><br /><br /><span style="line-height: 1.5;">This year’s </span>61st<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Pear Blossom Parade will have 150 entries and 4,000 participants. &nbsp;Organizers anticipate 25,000 to 30,000 spectators will line the parade route on April 12. &nbsp;Parade marshals have included Sen. John F. Kennedy in 1960 and runner Frank Shorter in 1977. &nbsp;Shorter, marathon gold medal winner at the 1972 Summer Olympics, led the festival’s first annual mini-marathon.</span><br /><br /><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Other activities will include a baby contest, junior and senior royal pageants, 5-K and 10-mile runs, a street fair and a stamp show.</span><br /><br /><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The street fair will be held Friday and Saturday, April 11 and 12, and the runs will be on Saturday. &nbsp;This year’s fair will be located in the new Commons Park Blocks in the center of Medford’s downtown business district.</span></div><div> Tue, 08 Apr 2014 15:42:00 +0000 Betsy Byers 9725 at http://ijpr.org Tiller Gardens Showcase Camellias in April http://ijpr.org/post/tiller-gardens-showcase-camellias-april <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">On five acres along Elk Creek near Tiller, Ore., a sharp eye can spot more than 50 varieties of camellias, a plant native to Japan, Korea, and China that became popular in the U.S. South in the late 1700s. &nbsp;French botanist Andre Michaux presented the first imported camellia to South Carolina Gov. Henry Middleton in 1786. That parent plant is still used to propagate others. As the new plant made its way across the United States, Alabama chose the camellia as its state flower.&nbsp;</span></p><div> Mon, 07 Apr 2014 15:37:00 +0000 Jim Long 9724 at http://ijpr.org Regional Botanical Diversity Includes Canyon Live Oak http://ijpr.org/post/regional-botanical-diversity-includes-canyon-live-oak <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Southern Oregon and Northern California’s botanical diversity includes the Canyon Live Oak, one of the earliest known oak species to evolve in North America. &nbsp;Fossil records suggest the resilient and adaptable tree migrated to the region from Mexico.&nbsp;</div><p> Fri, 04 Apr 2014 15:34:00 +0000 Kirsten Shockey 9723 at http://ijpr.org John Daggett Develops Black Bear Gold Mine http://ijpr.org/post/john-daggett-develops-black-bear-gold-mine <p></p><div>&nbsp;</div><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Discovered in 1860, the Black Bear Mine was one of the most important quartz gold mines in Siskiyou County, Calif. &nbsp;It was located along the Salmon River in the Liberty Mining District, nine miles south of Sawyer’s Bar.&nbsp;</div><p> Thu, 03 Apr 2014 15:17:00 +0000 Gail Fiorini-Jenner 9722 at http://ijpr.org